Wander logo

Take a Hike!

Finding comfort in nature.

By MR. ERIQPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

With everything going on in the world, it's very easy to stay home and become a couch potato. As most of us work and learn from home, we find ourselves ordering more takeout, mindlessly snacking, and snuggling at home with a good movie and a glass or two of wine. While this all sounds like a relaxing day, we are more than likely depriving ourselves of vitamin D from being out in the sun. Because of this, we’re probably feeling sluggish, bloated, and depressed. I know I have. Now more than ever, it’s important to stay active. One of my favorite ways to focus on feeling good, energized, and helps me release all those endorphins to get my day started on the right foot is hiking. Even with a hike related injury, I find a way to get out of my head and lose myself in the breeze. This is something that everyone, at any fitness level, could benefit from.

Nothing feels better than trekking up a rocky trail and finding a beautiful view. Studies even show that being out in nature comes with tons of health benefits. Being connected with nature brings some amazing changes in your brain function that calms you and soothes your nerves. Your body picks up these signals to trigger your immune system and help you heal both physically and emotionally. Our lives often become so hectic that we overuse the part of our brain that deals with logic and decision making. Because of this, it’s easy for us to become overwhelmed. Being surrounded by nature gives our brain some well-deserved rest. We get a chance to focus on our breathing and check in on ourselves. The endless banter in our head gets a chance to distract itself with birds’ chatter and the wind rustling in the tall grass and leaves.

This is the reason I proudly wear the tree hugger badge. I loved spending time pretending to be in the Jungle Book as I reach a summit or climb up a new obstacle. As much as I love hiking, I had to learn to modify this after an injury from a fall while hiking a mountain. Several years ago, I was exploring a new hiking trail with a friend. This trail peaked at an almost 3000-foot elevation with a beautiful waterfall. Filled with excitement, we climbed up the steep, rocky path. My friend, being a dancer, gracefully lept through the patch of boulders as we heard the waterfall and knew we were close. Following his lead, I gave my Super Mario Bros. effort and lost my footing. It all felt like slow motion, but I fell and landed in a pile of rocks at the foot of the incline.

Bloody and hurt, I was determined to finish the trail. Although I should have listened to TLC and not gone chasing waterfalls (lol). Even with gashes and a hairline fracture, I never felt more accomplished at the end of the day. Since then, I still hike but I look for smoother routes on my favorite site. Even with an easier trail, I still get the same excitement in finding an incredible skyline or sunset. It seems like a beautiful view and introspective thought go hand in hand. As the adrenaline leaves, the body relaxes and whatever we may be worried about seems to melt away, at least for that moment. This is why everyone should try to spend time in nature.

As cabin fever and the helpless feeling of isolation sets in, many people turn to alcohol and drugs to feel better. Some resort to self-medication and expensive therapies to relax. More often than not, all we need is to rest our minds and reflect. Hiking helps us reconnect with nature and reset our brain. All we have to do is find a trail or a park and spend some time with ourselves breathing with nature.

nature
Like

About the Creator

MR. ERIQ

I wanted this to be a fountain of knowledge but let face it, its a junk drawer of word vomit with morsels you can use.

But for those who want to know:

I'm a singer, writer, and queer teaching artist who enjoys talking out loud to himself

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.