Wander logo

Summer Unwritten

A Chapter release Novel about a college dropout who runs away to big college town. Bartending to make ends meet, Marissa cut off all her old ties, the people around her wonder when she'll stop hiding from the truth.

By Maria SanchezPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 8 min read
1
Summer Unwritten
Photo by Luca Bravo on Unsplash

Chapter One

As I walked the downtown streets of Raleigh, taking in the sweet, fragrant summer air. The warm breeze gently kicked up and swayed the cherry blossom that tinted the city streets and windows pink. It was the season of sensational love, of romance, and here I found myself alone for the first time. I think this was the first time I understood the gravity of my situation. The unsettling feeling that begins to overcome your body. Tightening and rising from your gut, The queasiness from all the decisions that lead you to here. A dropout, who turns away from family and community. A woman who walked away. I guessed that was okay, if not I’d have to learn to be. Luckily for me, I had no issue confronting who I was at that moment. Someone who needs a fresh start. Someone who needs to find a place to sleep by tonight and someone who needs a job because currently, I was down to my last 300 dollars.

“Hardly enough for a deposit somewhere, and the hotels are all booked for the weekend.” This was starting to become real and I didn’t know what to do from here but I knew I'd solve nothing on an empty stomach. Raleigh was a gorgeous city and the night lights and neon lights blared and illuminated the city's architecture. As the rose and peach clouds begged the sun to stay out. The breathtaking sunset lasted well into the evening hours. I stopped at the door of Raleigh Multiply Bar, it’s bright bulb lights lit up the golden words “Best Old Fashioned in Town!”. I strolled inside. “I’ll be the judge of that.”

I walked in and found a seat towards the middle of the fairly empty but buzzing bar, evidence of a busy night expected. I felt the bar out and wondered to myself if I could see myself pouring my drink. Ice wells over there, taps by the back wall and a beautifully lit wall of ryes and bourbons. The place seems like the real deal. “Hey there, do you need a menu?” “Please, I’m starving, and an Old Fashioned, please.” Both arrived promptly. I asked the bartender. A woman who has to be around my age, 23, but was still in college. I need a place to stay and I’d be down to crash a dorm room for a night. At least till I could figure something else out. When the bartender came and took my order I quickly took my chance to learn as much as possible including that Multiply bar was indeed hiring, that her name was Alli, she was an art student at UNC, and that she was gonna have some friends showing up shortly. My luck felt like it was turning. I took a sip of my drink. “Damn, that is good,” I exclaimed and was met with an approving wink and smile from Alli. This town might be exactly what I need.

As the sun finally said goodbye to the clouds, the night quickly overtook the sky, the moon looked particularly bright, illuminated the cobblestone walkways that outlined the city streets. Raleigh seemed to be written out of a fairytale. It was the city that rained cherry blossoms and made you believe in love again. Even though I currently didn’t know what I believed in. I continued to sip on my drink and ordered their BBQ flatbread. While I waited for my dinner the quiet bar started quickly filling up with people from various walks, conversation flowed just as easily as the drinks and it was easy to see why this spot was a town favorite. I reminded myself to fill out the application that Alli had left me.

After a few minutes, the bar was packed. To my left sat a gentleman, a 26-year-old music graduate student, and a master violin player. He’s been playing since he was four years old. Impressive. His name was Tobias and was rocking a leather jacket, silk scarf, and Doc Martens. To my right sat 2 more guys, Eric and Sean. Engineering and English respectively, both in their final year. Both were clean and well-shaven, long-haired. Eric’s blonde locks and golden brown eyes were welcoming and his smile could light the room. Sean's dark chocolate curls draped just slightly over his icy blue eyes. His strong jawline made his sweet smile much more devilish. They had to be the kind of friends that do everything together from living in the same dorm to studying to going to the gym. They seemed inseparable, which later in the night they cleared up that they’re fraternal brothers, twins but they didn't look alike. Promise, you wouldn’t have guessed they were related.

After a few rounds and passing travelers. As well as shared glances with Sean, Tobias offered to come over to his studio loft. He said it was right up the road, and they were holding a get-together. Just some music and art people coming over to hang out and network. It didn’t take much convincing before everyone was wrapping up their tabs. As we paid Alli, I handed her a 20 dollar bill on top of my 30 dollar check. I thought If I plan on working here, I need her to like me. She is my ticket to not screwing this up. “Keep the change!” I smiled warmly. She took the cash without even looking and dropped it in a pile by her register, she didn’t even look at what I left, dammit.

As Alli closed the guys out she handed Eric his card and gave him a big kiss on the lips. “I’ll let you know when I get out honey, love you” and she turned around and kept the drinks flowing. I wondered if Sean was single when Tobias tapped me on the shoulder and asked if I was ready and the four of us headed to the downtown loft. The city seemed to come alive. A dreamy slow-paced morning fueling a vibrant and eccentric nightlife. Street dancers, food trucks, bar after bar filled with Art and live music from pop to rock to country. There was a bar for anyone in any mood. It felt like home. After about 15 minutes of walking we came up to a tall building, it almost looked like a hotel, The Winslet, We piled into the elevator which opened on the 9th floor to expose a massive studio apartment. It could comfortably hold well over 100 people and had a 10-foot ceiling with a floating bedroom over the living space. Multiple couches and chairs, musical instruments hung on the wall, a grand piano in the dining room instead of a table. This place was beautiful. Brick wall, black iron detailing with creamy almond-colored walls. Tobias has great taste in art. His plain apartment was loud with the chaos of the paintings that hung on the tall walls. A statue of a woman with rolls and curves, a large bosom with perky nipples, her face beautiful, her hair wrapped in a bun. Holding a platter. She was a stunning piece. Tobias placed his keys and jacket on the platter.

Beholding my stare, Tobias explained how she was a piece by Salvatore Rimerieaz Qutarez, a Venuelezan bronze worker who cast the piece. He was able to take coppers and metals and release a softness in them, unlike any other artist. To release the feminine within the metal. He went on to tell us that her imperfections were Qutarez showing off that he could so closely capture the beauty of a woman down to the dimples on her sides, and the stretch scars on her hips. Beauty immortalized. “She Gorgeous” Sean said. Our eyes met in agreement. He’s handsome I thought.

We made our way around the apartment and before we knew it there were about 20 other people there. Tobias played a soft tune that filtered through the place. People began picking up instruments and practicing. Others pulled out books, and the others pulled out joints. And soon I realized this is the best I'd felt in a long time. We spark up, sharing stories of our life paths and how we all ended up in Raleigh. Tobias has been making music professionally since he was 9 years old. He not only owned this apartment and the Audi in the parking lot, but he also had some of the best weed I’ve smoked. He retired from his parents but his mother died of breast cancer when he was 17. He doesn’t speak with his father but says he feels happier alone that he has us to keep him company.

A few others were kids of military spouses who traveled around the globe, a few writers, some had passion projects and before we knew it, it was midnight. More people started to come over and what was initially a get-together turned into a full-on house party, with drinks, music, and groups of people dancing and sharing conversation. I stayed off to the side with Sean and Eric when suddenly a girl in skin-tight jeans and a halter top that left just enough covered to provoke imagination, long red hair, and killer black ankle booties plopped on the couch next to me. It was Alli! Whoa! I didn't recognize you.” I said warmly, “you look hot.”

She thanked me, showing off how cute her shoes were. I had to agree they were nice, “a gift from Eric, they’re my favorite pair.” She leaned over kissing him before helping herself to the rolling tray on the table. She got to work and started talking about her day, how busy the bar got and how the Manager is totally off the rails when it comes to high pressure. “Rookie.” I shrugged it off, reminding myself that I currently don’t have the luxury of being particular.

Alli finished rolling a blunt and handed it to me, “Thanks for the tip, your hit.”

I lit it up and was happy that after leaving such a miserable situation, I was finally able to relax.

literature
1

About the Creator

Maria Sanchez

A fan of literature and art. Collector of tea cups that have gone cold, stained paintbrushes, and memories of this precious life.

If you wanna change the word, change yourself.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.