Wander logo

Summer Lovin'

Where to Step Out & Have a #Moyetmoment

By Jezlan MoyetPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
C'est La Vie Café in Laguna Beach

As the world slowly spins again and we reemerge in the sun, it almost feels like a dream, a flash back, or a future filled with Summer Lovin'.

In the midst of recent chaos, I've found calm. Magic in the still of the March madness. A hope for peace in the face of Spring panic and pandemics. Days turned to weeks and the weeks turned to months. And while we were safer at home, the soul and the season changed. My plans were cancelled, agenda cleared, no red carpets, close ups or champagne daze.

So I’m embracing my new normal, longer days, and later nights. It’s time to get creative, deal with the pretty haute mess, and Marie Kondo my life. I’ll admit it, there were days when I was afraid to speak my truth and moments when the world seemed so dark, that the light was barely visible, it was like an episode of Game of Thrones and “the winter was coming.” I realized that seasons and years had slipped by overcome with stress and distracted by sequins and step and repeats.

Now that the summer is here, and it looks and feels differently than any other season of my life… And I love that! While some things are still locked down, I’ve never felt so free. So I decided to reorganize, reprioritize, and remember to focus on love, not fear. Because love, it defies all odds. It makes sense of the confusion and heartache. Love gives your soul a voice, and the universe is calling us all to speak out, step up, and shine.

So I thought I would share a list of the places where I am planning to step out, feel the sun shine, indulge in a little California Summer Lovin’ and have a #Moyetmoment (safely social distanced and outdoors, of course)

Back to the Beach Cafe (Santa Monica) One of the only places you can actually sit on the beach these days. What I love: Yogurt sundays, mini scones, and BYOB options

Beverly Hills Hotel (Beverly Hills) Step back in time and sip in Old Hollywood. What I love: a dirty martini at The Polo Lounge, and the McCarthy Salad poolside.

Craig’s (West Hollywood) Enjoy a night under the stars on Melrose, Craig hosts an unforgettable experience, anyway of the week. Chef Chef Kursten Kizer serves up classic American fare, from upscale comfort food to vegan specialities. What I love: Tuna Tartar, Kale Salad, and the Mushroom Truffle Pizza with a bottle of Moyet Rosé

Laguna Beach Cue MTV's anthem song, open the sunroof, and head to Orange County. What I love: streets filled with seashell shops, art galleries, and seaside dining.

Mulholland Drive Sometimes I just want to cruise. What I love: Endless city views, winding roads, and look out points.

Nicolas (Malibu) Where California cool meets true French cuisine, owned an operated by award winning chef and restaurateur, Nicolas Fanucci. What I love: the bread, butter, burrata, escargot, lava cake and Moyet by the glass.

Nobu (Malibu) Sushi and the sea, enough said. What I love: Rock Shrimp and rosé

Ojai Stroll the sidewalks of this sleepy gem. What I love: Hikes, hidden waterfalls, and ice cream cones

Rosenthal Wines (Malibu) This Pacific Coast Highway stop is one that is well worth it. What I love: corn hole, live music, and cabernet.

The Steps of Los Feliz Loose yourself in the views and sidewalks of East LA. What I love: hidden staircases overgrown with bougainville.

Tis the season to live in love. Soak in the sun, float in the sea, and revel in the sand. Be open to opportunity, and expect the unexpected. And in the meantime appreciate all of the little things... rosé in paper cups, the ocean breeze, and a french cafe. C'est la vie.

america
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.