Wander logo

Student Visa Questions and Answers Based on Your Study Plans

TIPS TO ANSWER QUESTIONS

By tanyaPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

Dear readers, so far, you’ve known most of the common questions and some tips to frame your answers to questions you would come across while going through the most important phase of getting your student visa approved.

In this article, we have compiled a list of questions and the best possible answers ensuring to make a great impression on the visa interviewer.

The universities across the globe accept GMAT/GRE/SAT to admit students from different parts of the world let us look at the best possible answers for a student who has been shortlisted to study at one of the universities in the United States of America.

These questions may fall in random order during your interview; however, to prepare for all the questions is always in your best interest.

IMPORTANT TIPS TO ANSWER QUESTIONS

1. Why do you choose the United States and why not countries like Canada, Australia, the UK, or New Zealand?

Tip: In an era of globalization, most of the countries have a great education system; however out here you would want to specify the US Education System and try to keep this short. For example:

I have been shortlisted at one of the institutions in the United States for my MBA program and to my knowledge; the US educational system is a great combination of theory and practical knowledge attracting students from across the globe.

2. What are your aspirations from the course that you’ve enrolled for?4

I have enrolled in a Full MBA Program for 2 years. This course gives me global learning and implementation exposure among students from different cultures.

3. What subject would you choose to pursue your major/specialization in?

My specialization would “Entrepreneurship”.

4. How does this course benefit you in terms of your career?

My long run goals are to set up my own startup and hence the global exposure from this course certainly helps me grasp and implement more towards my business.

5. What university has been admitted to? Why choose this university versus others? Did you enroll in other universities?

Tip: You need to sound confident but not overconfident. For example:

I’ve been admitted to the University Of Chicago Booth School Of Business, which is top-ranked not just in US, but at a global level, which has great faculty consisting of Scholars, teachers and mentors.

I did apply for other universities too (name a couple if you’ve researched a little, or) while, the Booth School of Business was my top preference.

6. Do you know any specific people, like professors or alumni from this university?

Tip: A little research about the university and few famous faculty members, alumni and naming them here would add to your advantage. For example:

Yes, Richard H. Thales, 2017 Nobel Prize Winners in Economic Sciences. He has been known for his contributions to behavioral economics, which is a field that bridges the gap between economics and psychology. He’s amongst the 9 others to have won the Nobel Prize from the Booth School of Business.

Melissa Thomas, who will assume the role of CFO, Group on, which is a Chicago-based discount marketplace.

7. Why do you want to leave your country to pursue this course at this university?

Tip: Be assertive

The Indian Business Schools have been shaping the future of many management professionals with a great exposure too, while I certainly had one of the B schools as a part of the choice, Booth School of Business takes a leap with over 100 years of experience to have management professionals emerged as global leaders shaping the future of business across the globe.

8. Do you work currently? Why do you want to leave your job?

Tip: Be Honest

Yes, I’ve been working after my bachelor's and carry about __ years of experience which is also relevant as per the course I’ve enrolled for. As I aspire to be studying further in order to enhance my skills and knowledge, this course would be an added advantage towards my career.

9. Have you been to the US before?

Tip: If you have then, yes with when, the purpose of visit and the duration of travel stated works to your advantage.

10. How will you manage the cultural differences in the US?

I’ve been working with an MNC for over a couple of years and have majorly dealt with my clients based out of the United States of America, which gives me the advantage to have understood their customs, systems, etc. and being an Indian I’m a part of diverse culture, and hence adjusting in US should not be a task.

11. What makes you different and eligible to be selected out of the other candidates who enrolled for the same course?

My determination towards my goals and a passion to innovate new business ideas gets me an outstanding candidate, supported by my scores from GMAT/GRE etc.

12. Why we should be granting you a visa?

Tip: Confidence and facts is the key to nail this.

Starting with an I-20 letter indicating my admission at the university in US. I have adequate funds to sponsor my education and manage my expenses throughout which is signified from my bank statements attached. Following the norms of the US consulate, I have undergone a successful medical examination with good results. I have got an unblemished visa history to have not been denied a visa by any country.

These have been some of the best examples to make an impression on your Visa Interviewer assuring yourself that it was a nice warm-up session, be prepared for some more rounds of questions around your academics, financial and family backgrounds, your plans upon the completion of the course which we are covering in detail in our upcoming articles. All the Best!

student travel
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.