Wander logo

Solo In Sedona

Day 1 of 2

By Mary MollusoPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Like
View from Sedona Airport Overlook

In September 2021, I went on my first ever cross country solo trip. I flew from Baltimore to Phoenix, then, over the span of 10 days, drove from Arizona to California. It was one of the best experiences of my life, and it's about time I shared my adventures in detail.

The first stop on my trip was the beautiful Sedona, Arizona. With its towering red rocks, quirky downtown, and breathtaking views, Sedona has been on the top of my travel bucket list for years. So when I was planning this trip, I knew I had to spend a few days there.

My hotel was in Flagstaff, which is about 45 minutes north of Sedona. If you're traveling on a budget like I was, I recommend staying there. You won't have much luck finding a hotel room under $300 if you stay right in Sedona. That being said, it's a bit of a hike to drive from Flagstaff to Sedona. But trust me, it is so worth it. The drive into Sedona completely exceeded my expectations. Coming from Flagstaff, it's a drive down State Route 89A through the Coconino National Forest. At first, it's trees. Lots and lots of trees. Nothing but mountains and pine trees for miles. But then come the red rocks, almost out of nowhere. You go around a curve and BAM! That first towering, gorgeous structure looming over your head. I was speechless. A word of advice: I know it's hard, but be sure to keep your eyes on the road. It is pretty windy and there are lots of hills, obviously. But don't worry, there are plenty of spots to pull over and take pictures. I did, of course. I sent a few to my brother, to which he responded, "you have to get out of the car at some point." Don't worry, I did. But more on that later.

The first picture I got of the red rocks. Not great quality, but you get it.

State Route 89A is one of many scenic drives available for you to do in Sedona, and I was so glad that just happened to be my drive into the actual city. But little did I know that was just the beginning of everything I was about to experience.

Stop One: Tlaquepaque

Tlaquepaque Arts and Crafts Village North Entrance

My first stop in Sedona was Tlaquepaque Arts and Crafts Village - a unique (at least to me) little shopping center with stores, restaurants, and art galleries. All local businesses too! It was nothing like I've ever seen before. Completely open air, trees growing out of the center, secret hallways and staircases, lots of fountains, plants, and bronze statues. The architecture was incredible! They don't make anything like this on the east coast. I felt like I was strolling through some beautiful old villa.

I went a total of three times that day. Once to explore, again to eat, and then to explore some more! I could not get enough of it. This was, without a doubt, my favorite place I visited while in Sedona, and it was only my first stop! But little did I know it was just the beginning of what I would see of Sedona's beauty.

Stop Two: Sedona Airport Overlook

After spending a little too much time at Tlaquepaque, I headed to the second stop on my itinerary for the day, which was the Sedona Airport Scenic Overlook. I'm a sucker for these kinds of things, so I couldn't not stop here. It's pretty much... like it sounds. Right down the road from the Sedona Airport is a cliff with an absolutely breathtaking view of Sedona. You can drive there yourself, or hop on a bus or rent a pink Jeep for a tour. If you take your own car, you will have to pay for parking. It's only $3, and the parking pass is good for the whole day! So you can leave and come back if you want to, especially for the sunset. But get there early, because everyone and their mother comes for that, which I learned pretty quickly.

However, I was there while the day was still young. Not too many people were around, so I had the opportunity to get a pretty good view. Let me tell you though, pictures do not do this view justice. You can see the entire city of Sedona, and so much more. All those red rocks all in one place. I sat there and just stared at the view for two hours. I didn't even notice how much time had passed. There was a woman sitting near me with her dog, doing the exact same thing. And she stayed longer than I did. I took in the view and said to myself, "This. This is why I came to Sedona. Where am I ever going to see anything like this again?"

I did come back for sunset, along with everybody else. So I didn't stay for very long. Instead I caught the sunset from the forest while driving back to my hotel, and it was still just as amazing. But 10/10 highly recommend at least stopping by if you're ever in Sedona. You don't have to stay as long as I did, or go for the sunset. Just, at least see the view. Please.

Stop Three: Downtown Sedona

Outside eating area

After the overlook, I headed back into Sedona and explored the downtown area. That consists of, you know, all the shopping, dining, etc. Still totally worth checking out! I will say though, parking is a little rough. If you want to park on the street, you'll have to pay. There are a number of public parking lots, but you'll have to walk a bit to get to downtown. I was lucky to snag a spot in the parking lot of another shopping center where I spent way too much time.

I walked down both sides of the street, exploring as much as I could. I'd say most of the businesses are all local, which I think is pretty cool. Everybody was out and about. Lots of people were eating ice cream, and I kind of regret not doing that. The views were also, of course, incredible. Everywhere you turn, there's more red rocks. There is no escaping them. However, one thing I do recommend is drinking water. Whether you bring your own or stop in somewhere to buy some. Don't be like me and walk around anywhere in Arizona without water. I was so thirsty by the time I got back to my car.

I apologize for the lack of pictures on this one. I was too busy living in the moment.

Stop Four: State Route 179 Red Rock Scenic Drive

Not really a stop, I know, but it was still on my itinerary for the day. When you're planning a trip to Sedona, I can guarantee you the first thing that will come up is a scenic drive down State Route 89A. Don't get me wrong, that one is incredible. But the Route 179 drive is just as cool. That one goes from downtown Sedona, all the way to Interstate 17. You see red rocks, red rocks, and more red rocks. So if you don't like red rocks, don't do this drive, or go anywhere near Sedona. But if you do like red rocks, and want to see more, then definitely do the drive! The drive itself takes about an hour there and back. But there are so many places to pull off and take pictures. Also, if you're into hiking, you can walk a few trails too. So then it might take you a bit longer. Please, I'm begging you, don't just drive straight through. Pull over. Get out of the car. Take pictures. Walk around. Really experience it. I did the drive twice in a row just to make sure I saw it all.

Day one was a huge success! After finishing the scenic drive for the second time, I headed back to Flagstaff to settle in my hotel for the rest of the night. The sun was starting to go down, and I did not want to drive on those windy mountain roads in the dark. I was hoping to explore Flagstaff and see what it had to offer, but I was way too tired to do so. With good reason. Besides, I had already done a lot that day, and seen SO MUCH! I also had to rest up for day two, because I'd be doing much more walking. But more to come on that...

That's it for day one! If you enjoyed reading, give it a like so I can feel some of that validation I crave so much. Also if you want to see more pictures from this trip, you can stalk me on Instagram @wonder.thestreets . This is only just the beginning, and I'm so excited to share more of my adventures! Day two is coming soon!!!

female travel
Like

About the Creator

Mary Molluso

just here writing whatever thoughts come into my brain and giving them a place to go

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.