Wander logo

Shared Resources

The Treasures in the Mysteries

By Devine WritezPublished about a year ago 7 min read
2
Shared Resources
Photo by Liviu C. on Unsplash

It would be strange to act as if the people passing by, weren't looking up at the sky wide-eyed with their mouths wide open, and the driver swerving to avoid wiping my trash can out. Somewhere deep down inside me, I hoped it was not a UFO hovering just above me with the Rays descending down toward me, to beam me up to the mothership. I could hear the propellers as they approached from my rear just above my head to the right. I was so thrown off by the looks on the faces of the teens along with the buzzing sound that I just stood there a moment before turning to see what caused the teen's reaction. Here it was, the moment I would get to see a real live UFO, and I was frozen in place looking awkwardly at a car full of teens about to spread the contents of my trashcan around to my neighbors. Just as I turned to see what had the attention of these teens so strong, a drone went buzzing over my head. I ducked just in time to avoid a fresh haircut. When I stood back up the car full of teens was turning the corner and the drone was circling back. For a moment I wanted to take off running, dive into the bushes, and peep out every so often until the coast was clear.

By Tânia Mousinho on Unsplash

I remained calm at the moment staring that thing straight in the eyes. Must have been square because I was blinded by the flash as the darn thing snapped a picture. The flash from the camera on the drone reflected off the car window as it flew overhead. I grabbed the trashcan from the street and made my way toward the house. I walked up the driveway, and there was a box on my doorstep. I had just walked out that door to the curb to bring the trashcan back up and there was no box there. No one walked up or pulled into the driveway in those moments to drop the box off. I looked around and there was no movement except for the little old lady that lives across from me. She was standing at her mailbox the entire time with the mail in her hand. I waived to her like I always do whenever I see her outside. She smiled and waved back but she was still standing there at the mailbox.

By Brian Patrick Tagalog on Unsplash

Strange began to seem like an understatement at this point. As I approached the box, my stomach began to flutter. The box was covered in carvings or etching of some sort. The closer I got I could see how intricate the details were. The box was all black and the designs were in gold.  Upon closer inspection I noticed a leather tag hanging on the side. As soon as I turned it over the key nestled in the corner of the tag cast a glow that was almost as blinding as the flash from the drone. The window of the tag revealed a message, there were only two words on the label, SHARED RESOURCES, in all capital letters. I picked the box up and carried it to the garage. I sat the box on an old lawn table we used to have on the patio. I walked around the box examining the designs, they were hand carved, probably a very long time ago. I have never seen these designs before so I took my phone out and recorded it as I walked around the box, I lifted it up a put my phone underneath to capture all surfaces.

By Zach Ramelan on Unsplash

This mysterious drone flew overhead, and a mysterious box appears, the teens, the neighbor. I got it, the drone dropped the box off and must have been taking a picture to verify delivery. I was just overreacting inside, no one was after me, and no war was breaking out.

By Allef Vinicius on Unsplash

Just in case there is some funny business going on there was no way I was going to open it inside. I went inside to get a pair of gloves the old box was a bit dusty. I found an old pair of gardening gloves; and made my way back outside to the garage.  I stood above the box going through several ideas in my mind on what could be inside. Finally, enough was enough, I was never gonna find out if I didn't open the box. By this time the little old lady that lives across the street was approaching in the distance. I couldn't make out what she was saying so I didn't bother to reply. She entered the garage and began to go towards the box. "What's in the box?", she said. No clue outside this tag here that says shared resources. There's a gold key inside the tag too.  I slide my finger inside the opening a pulled the key out. There was a little secret door covering the lock I swung it back, inserted the key, turned it and the box popped open revealing another box.

By Michael Dziedzic on Unsplash

I reached in grabbing the smaller box which was leather with a magnetic latch. I carefully opened it and there was a stack of papers wrapped in a silk cloth with a ribbon tied around it. What do we have here? She lowered her glasses to the rim of her nose, looked up at me then back down at the box. We both stood frozen at the moment preparing for the next big reveal. As I flipped the box upside down to release the contents one final package lay there neatly covered and secured by a string. I untied the string, and the cover fell away gently. The stack of papers, 300 to be exact, was a unique quality of paper, and the text was handwritten. The first page was a cover page outlining the contents of the papers. There was a fancy embossed letterhead that adorned the entire top section of the page. The letters were in a really fancy font legible only up close. One inch too far away and it would be unclear what it read. I read off the title and table of contents in an announcer's voice. It added the perfect dramatic effect that caused us to simultaneously chuckle. As amazing as my presentation was nothing could have prepared us for the next thirty days of our life.

By Brooke Lark on Unsplash

The little old lady showed up daily at the same time four o'clock on the dot. We would sit on the porch swing and I'd read five pages and she'd read five. The first ten pages revealed some very shocking information that provided a deep understanding of why things felt like they did inside me. I began to look at things differently after the first week. It often took us both over into the night searching for the meanings of the words we did not know. We had to start making a list of these words in these little spiral flip pads the old lady brought with her on day two along with two really nice, high-quality pens. I almost felt like the pens were too fancy to waste the ink jotting down a list of words. We even practiced writing in that fancy font on the cover page. I was really beginning to enjoy the time we spent together and looked forward to it each day.

By Point3D Commercial Imaging Ltd. on Unsplash

At the two-hundred-page marker, we decided that upon completion we would do everything we could to share the information with as many people as we could before our transition into the afterlife. The information within these pages was the missing pieces that brought things into perspective about god, life, myself, and others. There is a particular joy that is experienced when one knows something, knowing is great, but only half the battle. This information is so powerful that it evens out the battlefield. You get a precise view of life that can't be obtained with these physical eyes. I can clearly see how things have been misinterpreted due to direct or indirect deception by people in all areas of life. 

By Kelvin Zhang on Unsplash

The final hundred pages were the best, all of the real deep stuff, the jewels were here. These are precocious resources that are necessary to be able to operate properly in life. This is exactly what I needed and what the rest of the world needs too. Still no author's name nor return address. No one to thank for this information that is life-changing and life-saving. My phone rang and the images popped up. The last image I had taken was of the bottom of the box. There was a small inscription in the corner that read "GOD". Wow, this is stranger than fiction. Had I continued my life without these connections there is no telling where I might be. 

By Shaouraav Shreshtha on Unsplash

The real joy is in the fact that not only was it shared resources, but it also allows me and my neighbor to connect on a deep level. Once this information is shared among the general population, it will no longer be a mystery it will be my story. This set of papers was one of the greatest gifts I have ever received in my entire life. 

By Greg Rakozy on Unsplash

                                                                          

                                                                Thank you, Universe

humanity
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.