Wander logo

Shakusonji Temple: Hidden Crannies of Japan #1

Hidden Crannies of Japan #1

By Eli SookerPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
Mt Asama in the background

I decided to start a separate series of blog posts for those surprisingly not-so-rare moments where I randomly stumble across something epic in the middle of nowhere in Japan. Let's talk about going off the beaten path.

The posts will be mostly photo-based with a brief paragraph or two about how and where I find the spots. So here goes number one.

I was actually on a completely different mission to capture some photos of cherry blossoms on this day. I'd seen someone post that blossoms were blooming in Ueda City, but I knew a closer spot I might see them was Komoro Castle and Park. So I headed there first, only to be disappointed that the trees were only just beginning their bloom and not as beautiful as they would be in full bloom. Still, I enjoyed the walk.

As I was short on time, I decided not to continue to leg it to Ueda and instead thought I'd check out my backup spot, also in Komoro. I'd randomly googled "outdoor things to do in Komoro" and Shakusonji was one of the things that came up.

The Chikuma River and beautiful rocky landscape seen on the way. Reminded me of central North Island NZ

I didn't exactly have high expectations, having admittedly gotten a bit over the temple scene after visiting countless ones throughout the country. Some people never seem to tire of visiting temples--I, however, am not one of those people.

But it looked like a decent spot to see a sunset and not wanting to go home just yet I set out for it anyway.

The closer I got towards the supposed temple location indicated on "trusty" Google Maps, the more I started to think "now this is more like it"....all was thick of forest and the only houses were what appeared to be 別荘 べっそう a.k.a. holiday homes uninhabited outside holiday seasons.

The only other car belonged to the resident Buddhist/s...though lights were on they did not make any appearance while I was there

As beautiful as temples can be, one reason they are not my biggest thing is that I'm not a fan of crowded places--and a lot of temples you find online tend to be. So you can imagine how overjoyed I was when I arrived to a near deserted parking lot (above) and empty gravel road (below).

The rock formations, steep valleys and surrounding forest are what make this temple built into the cliff face so remarkable. That and of course, the deserted, almost haunted-feeling atmosphere...

A tunnel bored through the rock leads you to the red building on the cliff.

I even decided to do a little bouldering for a better view.

I later investigated the temple's history a little more, and to my surprise found out it is a sister temple to Nagano City's famous Zenko-ji. Above is a statue of a cow which supposedly stole a precious cloth. The woman who owned this cloth chased the cow all the way from here to Zenko-ji, where it transformed into a Kannon (goddess of mercy).

Getting to Shakusonji Temple:

Shakusonji is located in the town of Komoro, Nagano. Unless you are keen on a 3h return walk from Komoro Station along roads designed for cars rather than people, you will need either a rental car or a taxi. By vehicle it is just 15min from Komoro Station.

Getting to Komoro Station

By Train

From Tokyo: Just 1h 45m from Tokyo. Take the Shinkansen to Karuizawa Station, then change to the local Shinano Railway for Komoro Station.

From Nagano City: About 50min. Your cheapest option is the Shinonoi Line which goes directly to Komoro Station, or you can take a combination of Shinkansen and local line here as well.

Closest Airport: Matsumoto (a possible option for those coming from other parts of Japan)

Stay tuned! Sign up for the mailing list here, and follow on social media:

Website: elisooker.wordpress.com

Facebook—https://www.facebook.com/elisookerphotography/

Instagram—https://instagram.com/elisooker

Please send a tip to support my writing. Tips till June 2020 will be donated to the bear conservation organisation I work for due to financial challenges during the corona crisis.

Every read helps! Every share of these articles also helps spread the word!

asia
1

About the Creator

Eli Sooker

Read my articles or tip to support!

Blogger, Writer ✍️・Wildlife photographer, Bear Conservationist 💚・Adamant traveler ✈️・ Hiking, Camping・Getting amongst this crazy world 🌍elisooker.wordpress.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.