Wander logo

Seven reverse culture shocks I experienced going from Colombia to the United States

I spent almost all of July and August in the US this summer. Before that, I have been living abroad in Colombia. To say that they are vastly different would be an understatement.

By sara burdickPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Like
US flag in Rio Negro, Colombia

I remember my first few days back in the US, and I was in awe about how much I had forgotten. The last time I was in the US was the summer prior, and the states were still in lockdown, so I did not leave my family’s houses.

I would say this was the first time in 2 years I was in public, and it was semi-normal-ish, or I reckon the new normal, you could say.

I am going to share a few things that I forgot about that gave me reverse culture shock.

Everything is massive, huge, gigantic.

Especially the freeways; for example, in LA, we have four-lane highways in one direction and four lanes in the other; that is an eight-lane highway!

LA Freeway!

Here in Colombia, we have a couple of four-lane streets, but it is not the norm, as it is in the states.

Medellin ¨freeway¨a few areas have multiple roads, but not like the US

Supermarkets have everything that you need and are huge, with endless possibilities.

I went to Costco with my sister and was instantly overwhelmed. I wandered around the store, saying this is insanity, and you only need to stop at one store for everything from books to medicine, to fruits, to alcohol.

Here in Colombia, I should preface, in the countryside. These big superstores exist in the big cities, but my sister is in a small town similar to where I live, and she still has a Costco within 20 minutes of her house.

In Colombia if I want to buy medication, I need to go to the pharmacy; if I need tools, I go to the ferretería.

Ferretería Colombia´s Home Depot

If I want to buy a different type of cereal, I must go to an Éxito in Medellin.

Here we have four types of cereal, granola, fruit loops, some chocolate kind, and maybe a version of Cheerios. All knock-off brands. The only one we buy is granola.

In the US, I can get any variety in almost any store, and I think there are over 200 types of different cereals. I told my boyfriend one day, and he said why.

US cereal aisle.

Eating out.

In the US, someone seats you and takes your order within seconds, and if you are not ready, they look annoyed. I always get overwhelmed and take forever to decide because the choices are endless.

It seems like a theme, right? Secondly, it looks like the server is always at the table; after being in Latin America for so long, I want to say, leave me alone. I will flag you down if I need something, which is a no-no in the US. I know I used to be a waitress.

Here you sit at a restaurant and flag down a server; when you are ready to order, you flag them down again. I feel no pressure to decide, and only a few options exist.

We go to a restaurant with burgers and wings, even the restaurant’s name is Burger Wings; I decide on a burger or wings and then the type. Simple, hassle-free.

A local fried chicken joint, they only have fried chicken, breast or leg!

So eating out in the US gives me severe anxiety as in the past it was enjoyable is now something I will avoid at all costs.

Everyone speaks English; yes, this was a culture shock.

Sans the Miami airport! It was so nice to be understood all the time and not have to explain myself over and over. Such a pleasant culture shock!

The lunch culture does not exist.

Here in Colombia, lunch is the biggest meal of the day. Typically families eat together. It includes rice, protein, veggies, a salad, soup and a drink.

Drink not pictured, this day was potatoes instead of rice.

I have gotten used to having the biggest meal of the day for lunch. In the US, it is not the case; I snacked so much more throughout the day when I had a smaller lunch.

In the states, we eat a more significant dinner earlier because I realize we are starving by six. After all, our lunch was inadequate.

In Colombia, we eat dinner around eight, the smallest meal of the day. We typically have a Merienda, a snack with coffee or tea, between 5–6. Also, Colombians eat at specific times and three full meals, plus Merienda.

In the US, I found myself eating all day, ok I eat all day here in Colombia also, but being in the US made me realize it is a habit from the US that I have not broken. Even though I snack more here in Colombia than my boyfriend, I find myself snacking on Papaya, or fresh fruits, because they are much sweeter than in the states.

Homegrown piña,

I gained at least 5lbs in the US because of all the snacking and unhealthy food that surrounded me all the time and the lack of walking; unless you live in a big city, public transport is non-existent.

Lack of public transportation.

I relied on my family for rides everywhere. I have no problem walking as walking is my mode of transport, but I could walk for miles in the US before I even get to a store or place to eat.

Here I can walk down the hill to a tienda where someone runs out of their house to buy snacks or to the main road to a local restaurant for lunch. Not only is there a lack of public transportation if you live in the US, but there is also nothing around.

No mom-and-pop stores operate out of someone’s front window. I know, I know, it’s illegal. It’s also annoying that big corporations have taken over everything.

I love to walk and get soda water down the hill and do not have to rely on someone to drive me 30 to a grocery store. I love supporting local businesses; I prefer to walk to town and get a moto-taxi when I want — not having to worry about having a car to get around.

Here I have moto taxi, tuk tuk, bus, walking or hitchhiking. So much easier. One more thing, if you tell someone you are going to walk to get a snack, they will ask you why? Why would you walk when I can drive you? Yes, I have heard that so many times.

Everyone is stressed out and complaining all the time.

This one was huge for me. Anytime I talked to someone I did not know, I regretted it, as I was told what was wrong with everything. Yes, annoying.

And if you tell someone you live in Colombia; then I have to hear about how dangerous it is. I always ask oh; you know the country; how exciting. No, never; they probably don’t even have a passport.

Here people are too busy living and enjoying life to complain all of the time. It is not uncommon to see Colombians enjoying coffee or a beer at a cafe in town at any time of day.

In the US, I feel that no one sits around relaxing; there is always busy work or complaints that need to be aired. I am still getting used to my boyfriend telling me that it is ok to relax, as I know I am guilty of working all the time, and then there are days I do nothing. I call that balance.

I have a list of about 100; maybe I will make parts 2, 3, and 100.

If you live abroad, what is the biggest reverse culture shock you have experienced?

XOXO

S

Originally published here.

south america
Like

About the Creator

sara burdick

I quit the rat race after working as a nurse for 16 years. I now write online and live abroad, currently Nomading, as I search for my forever home. Personal Stories, Travel and History

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.