Wander logo

Season's Beauty

Finding peace in an unsettling world

By Scott SlausonPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2
Winter sunset under old stone bridge in Mountain View, Arkansas

It was a cold Winter evening when I discovered the sun setting under an old stone bridge in Mountain View, Arkansas. Not only did the timing of the evening play a role, but the celestial timing set the sun's placement just right. To get the shot, I needed to get into the water. Yes, it was cold, very cold, but I couldn't resist. I had visited this bridge several times during the summer but its placement in a gully makes for seeing the sun set in the evening impossible. However, with the Winter trees shedding their leaves, this rare shot came to fruition. Over the course of the remaining Winter months, I found this photo inspiring. In what normally was a cold and dreary day, the timing of the sun's setting under the bridge was a warm reminder that beauty can be found anywhere as long as your heart is willing to look for it.

Summer hillside sunset

As the seasons progressed into Summer, the hills of Mountain View, Arkansas blossomed with rich foliage and a peaceful charm. The day was hot and humid but ended with a cool breeze. It was an opportunity to breath and enjoy a moment of tranquility. With the hectic pace of a digital world, we are all tuned into a constant flow of news and information. Dealing with a constant deluge of uncertainties and unsettling times, finding tranquil moments have become rare. Yet, on this hillside, the quiet simplicity of nature provided a calming and peaceful break from the hustle and bustle of normal everyday life.

Sunset at scenic overlook

The old saying "take time to smell the roses" really is true and resonates an even stronger meaning as life becomes more and more complicated. We all have the desire to push the envelope and to progress forward. However, our objectives and priorities often supersede the importance of health and well being. It becomes very easy to lose sight of this as we are all pushing forward in a fast-paced life.

Summer thunderhead

Wrapping up an evening, I stopped for a moment to watch a large Thunderhead forming across the horizon. The day was coming to an end and with nightfall approaching, clouds were building and a refreshing rain was forming off in the distance. With the passage of time, we too need an occasional refreshing rain to clear our hearts and minds. Stepping aside for a moment from our busy schedules and taking a deep breath can do wonders and help us find peace in an unsettling world.

Keiko Slauson

In closing, I hope that you found this story inspiring. My brief excursions were with my great companion, Keiko. Keiko is a Shiba Inu and she will be celebrating her 10th birthday this December. She and I have been through a lot together. While I can honestly say that nothing in my life has gone according to plan, I do however cherish some of the unexpected "pleasant" surprises that life has thrown my way.

I am looking forward to many more adventures to come and if you like my writing and photography, please consider supporting my efforts. I greatly appreciate your patronage and support. My goal is to offer inspiring, optimistic and up-lifting stories that breathes a breath of fresh air and like a cool summer rain, refreshes and clears our hearts and minds.

I truly believe in positive energy. In a world full of negative energy, it has become more important than ever to embrace and admire positive things. Capturing moments of time in my photography has become a source of freedom and passion in my life and I encourage everyone to explore what sets you free.

nature
2

About the Creator

Scott Slauson

Beauty is everywhere if your heart is willing to look for it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.