Wander logo

Sat There By Your Lonesome

An introspection

By CynicalPepperPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1

A Samurai with long yet messy black hair and a faded beard is sat quietly next to the ocean, waves colliding against the rockface just below him as he smoked intermittently on a cigarette. His arm frequently rested on his swords, a katana, and a wakizashi, as if to be a habit. His clothes were embroidered with flower pattering as his pants were a contrasting black. As he kissed the end of his cigarette, his eyelids hung low. He clicked his tongue before taking a long drag, throwing it into the ocean below as it continued to relentlessly crash against the rockface below, stubbornly smacking against an unbreakable wall. The Samurai chuckled at the thought, scratching at the side of his head. The pitter-patter of one's bare feet could be heard behind the Samurai, so he turned to look.

A young child with short black hair, around thirteen years old. "Yo, Oji-san. What are you doin' out here?"

The Samurai cackled, "I'm not old enough for you to be calling me that boy!" The Samurai continued to laugh, "Plus, you should know better, to talk to someone like me casually like that."

"I'm not afraid, can't scare me unless you can kill with your fists." The boy smacked his knuckle against his open palm and then puffed his cheeks out.

"Oh? But I can."

The boy pursed his lips in doubt, "Prove it!"

"I ain't killin' a kid. I ain't really a full-blown Samurai anyway."

"What are you then?"

"I'm worse than a Samurai," He smirked and then jolted up, hand gnarled like a monster, "I'm a Yakuza!"

The boy reeled back some but was overall unimpressed, "What? Then why are your weapons so out in the open?"

The young man chuckled, smacking against the sheathes of his swords, "Everyone with a sword does it, it ain't illegal."

"But..."

The Yakuza chuckled, "What's your name kid?"

"Masato."

The Yakuza stood up and then kneeled next to the young boy, hands-on his knees with a massive grin on his face, "Kaito... Kaito Fujisawa."

"N-nice to meet you."

"Nice to meet you too, Masato."

"Hey, why are you so nice? Anyone I'd known who'd mess with a Yakuza or Samurai were cut down... why... I..." The kid's hands were shaking. The Yakuza pressed his lips together and grabbed both of the child's hands, a smile on his face.

"You were afraid after all. Was what you called me an accident?"

"I didn't realize you..."

"It's fine, calm down." The boy nodded attentively. The man let go of the boy's hands and sat back down on the rock, legs dangling over the edge as he watched the ocean crash against rocks, once again. "My name... reflects on this ocean, though, my last name is something else entirely but, depending on the field, it could look like an ocean, a green one at that, maybe one of white."

"What are you doing here Fujiwara-sama?"

"You can just call me Oji-san, I don't mind. Better than being called a title I do not deserve because," Kaito turned to Masato, pressing both of his fingers onto his face, forming a smile, "I think I'm more of an uncle than an authority figure myself." Kaito dropped his hands limply to the ground before laying upon the cold hard floor below.

"Oji-san... what are you doing here?"

"Lamenting, I guess."

"What do you mean?"

"I don't know... I want to... prove something but I went here to think of a better way of going about it," Kaito paused, "I want to change... a lot of things, but I just don't have the right people backing me to do it, so now... I might just take everything down myself."

"Umm..."

"Sorry, I'm just rambling."

"Oji-san."

"Hm?"

Masato suddenly became excited, "Do you have those tattoos that everyone talks about, the one that Yakuza have?" He pointed to his back as he said this.

"Yeah, I do."

"Can I see it?"

Kaito chuckled to himself, "Sure, fuck it!" He pulled off the top of his kimono, showing his tattoo. It ran from his back all the way to his shoulders, a myriad of designs and drawings scrawled across his body. A picture of the god of war himself, Hachiman, death surrounding him until blossoming into what could only be seen as a contradiction. Flowers, not wisterias, flowers bloomed around the skulls and corpses represented in the tattoo, Hachiman surrounded by these flowers, sword in hand pressed against his chest.

"What is this...?"

"I requested it... I think it's perfect." Kaito threw the top half of the kimono back on, a smirk on his face.

"What does it mean?"

"That's for me to know."

"I see..."

Footsteps, "Kaito-chan~!" Kaito turned around to see a man wearing gold-embroidered clothing and short black hair. "What are you doing here?"

Kaito waved the kid away and Masato ran, "What are you doing here Kaneko?"

"I'm just checking if my favorite Kaito-chan was doing what he was told by the o' so wonderful patriarch."

"Hey... Kaneko."

"Hm?"

"How do you feel about the ocean?"

Kaneko made an uncomfortable expression, "It's cool, I guess."

"Yeah... the ocean is pretty cool." Kaito quickly got up from the ground, walking past Kaneko. Kaito turned around, "Bye."

"Hm?" Kaneko pressed his lips together as he felt an uncomfortable pain at his side, slowly getting worse and worse until he finally looked at his own body, finding a massive gash. Kaneko fell over, curling up into a ball as blood seeped through his clothing. "What the fuck... Kaito-chan~!?" Kaneko watched as Kaito sheathed his wakizashi.

"Sorry... I can't do this anymore."

humanity
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.