Wander logo

Rising

The not-so-little bird that could and the lesson he taught me.

By Sara Devine Published 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Achievement!

Rising.

I always wanted the window seat, whether on a van en route to our gig or the plane, flying to our next city. To me, the greatest fun of touring was seeing the people, the architecture, the landscapes. I love every concert I’ve been allowed to participate in, but when nature puts on a show, I find that that show is unmatched.

So, upon arriving to a new place, I always kept my phone charged up, with enough free memory space; ready to capture whatever inspired me. There’s never a lack of inspiration. I’ve seen strange looking clouds hanging over Vegas that resembled flying saucers, stacked and descending to a point towards the earth. I’ve captured brightly colored, orange hot air balloons against the most unrealistically perfect, sapphire evening sky. I have a multitude of curious trees full of personality, heavenly beaches and so many awe- inspiring sunsets I can’t count them. Sunsets are my favorites to capture.

I also love birds, colorful and rare, flocking together or just one bird being unusually brave on it’s own. Unfortunately, the quick and on the go lifestyle of the bird presents a bit more of a challenge to capture. You’ll need perfect timing, great lighting, an unobstructed view and a steady hand, especially if your equipment is certainly unprofessional, like mine is...the I-phone x.

Still, I love trying to get great shots with my phone, whether selfies, group photos, videos or anything else. But my limitations sometimes get the best of me. My hands are rarely steady and the more I focus on this, the less steady they become. Also, because I’m not used to switching back and forth between the other settings available to me, like portrait and panoramic, I often miss opportunities to make my shot that much more special. I’m still trying to figure out when and why my phone decides to go into HDR mode and to take all those bursts of photos?

I may never figure that out, but what I do know is that I love beautiful images, particularly of nature. When I’m in a place that I love, I’m not just seeing with my eyes, but rather, with all my senses. I’ll always remember El Junque in Puerto Rico as one of those places that engages every sense and completely pulls you into itself. Near the waterfalls, there is a symphony of sounds that include birds, frogs and other friends. Fresh foliage and flowering plants will make the air so sweet, you’ll swear it’s the freshest air on earth. The slippery rocks, the welcomed chill of the falls against warm skin and the splashing water that somehow always finds its way into your mouth; I clearly love the place. But how in the world can one capture all of that with a photo, especially one taken with a smartphone like my own?

Well, the first thing to do is never stop believing! That old adage, “where there’s a will, there’s a way,” fits nicely here. Sometimes a keen eye, a crazy amount of determination and a bit of creativity can do wonders.

So, I sat in the van on the way to our gig location from our hotel in Adelaide, South Austrailia. Watching the outside intensely with air pods in my ears; a moment like so many others. When this scene came into view, the bluest sky and the reflecting water against the greenest grass, I took time to appreciate it. It was beautiful. Then the unexpected, added gift was this lovely bird. He very naturally found his way into my shot and I did not complain. I watched him fight gravity from the very beginning, flapping his wings forcefully to leave the ground. I rejoiced with him when he lifted off. An automatic smile across my face, I cheered him on as he climbed higher and higher. He finally went his way and I went mine, but I thanked him for the inspiration. I was reminded from his example that no matter what, you must keep flapping. Eventually you will soar.

travel photography
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.