Wander logo

Reminiscing of the Times Before COVID-19

The Good 'Ol Times

By GracePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

Never in a million years did I expect to be going through a PANDEMIC, which I am sure many of us feel this way so let's take a moment to reflect on what we used to know as "normal" because the world will not be the same after this significant impact that COVID has had on all of us.

This is me, Pre-COVID Pandemic.

This is me sitting on the ocean for the very first time in my life at 23. My sister moved down to Florida and flew me down for this trip for my birthday. Since she paid for it and I was on break from nursing school between semester, I said yes (obviously lol!)

We were sitting on the sand all day when I took this photo. My sister was lying on the sheet next to me sleeping away under the sunset so I decided to snap this photo.

When I look at this photo it brings me a nostalgic feeling because it was the last selfie I have taken since the pandemic. When I got back from my mini vacation, the state was shut down just a week after. I miss Florida so much right now!

On the day of this photo, we ate at a quaint little diner shack. It was surrounded by flowers, palm trees (of course), and herbs being freshly grown for their food. They had this little hammock up and I went to sit in it and flipped out of it LOL! My sister and I were laughing so hard she could barley help me up! The picture below is me in the hammock swing :)

Pay NO attention to my outfit! LOL!

After the diner, we went to the Wander Garden Zoo and I was able to see my FIRST REAL LIFE FLAMINGO!!! I do have to say, when I was watching it walk up to me, it felt so surreal. We watched each other as it was slowly walking up to me watching my every move and me watching theirs. A little fact about me, I am terrified of birds, but this beautiful creature did not scare me in the slightest. I remember texting my mom and telling her I was going to bring back a flamingo and there was nothing she could do to stop me since I lived in my own house and she told me I better not, lol! I am giggling back at that time because it's crazy to think about how different things were only a few short months ago.

After the zoo, we went to eat dinner at some place overlooking the beach while the sun was setting. And let me tell you, if you are a sunset freak like me, a restaurant overlooking the sunset is a must have on the bucket list.

We spent the last day on the beach as well to get some last photos before I had to catching my 12pm flight back to O'hare Airport.

When I got back, I told my mom everything about Florida, or at least what I got to experience. She was so excited because I told her I would take her there on my Spring break, but I was never able to and now we can't go because my final semester of nursing school is about to start.

I was sooooo happy to be able to visit another state and Florida has got to be one of the most beautiful states! Once most of the after effects of the COVID die down, I will be taking her there. My mom is my best friend and she should be able to see it as well.

#floridabound #floridasunset

america
1

About the Creator

Grace

Small town freelance blogger. Bringing you relationship and family content.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.