Wander logo

Reasons to Leave Your Hometown

“The journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.” ― Lao Tzu

By B LeePublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

I'm sure everyone has heard this statement before, but from my personal experience these are some of the top reasons to adventure out of your comfort zone. I love how humans were created; two eyes to see more, two ears to listen & absorb knowledge; one mouth to get your point across and two legs to adventure wherever our hearts desire.

  • Job Opportunity: Until I left the comfort of my hometown I truly did not know what career path I wanted to embark on. Being around different people & being in a different atmosphere allowed me to choose the path that was right for me. It also opened new doors into a career I didn't even know existed.
  • Food Yes!! My top favorite thing about leaving where I was comfortable. Traveling allowed me to be adventurous with my taste buds. Depending on where you move, different foods can be available to you. If you're a food lover it is highly suggested!
  • New Friends Not only did I meet a bunch of people from all over the world, it allowed me to flourish long-term friendships with people from all walks of life. Leaving not only made me see who actually was my friend and tried to stay in contact with me but it helped me get out and open new doors for other healthy friendships.
  • Self Discovery I love my hometown for the most part (LOL) but leaving allowed me to reinvent myself, showing me a new perspective of what I like and dislike not just trying to please people I've known my entire life. Truly it helped grow who I am—sometimes that is difficult when you are always around people who know all the bad in your past. For me the "geographical cure" helped me get past who I was and to flourish into who I wanted and aspired to be.
  • Appreciation for Where I Grew Up If you are like me, your hometown is "nothing special" but leaving actually allowed me to see the beauty of where I grew up, to realize the good generally outweighs the bad and it's always kind of fun going back and visiting people who still live there.
  • New Fashion Sense Okay, sounds a tad tacky... but it shaped how I dress. Being somewhere no one knows you gives you freedom to try whatever the heck you want. Colored hair, different jewelry, tattoos—I even got accustomed to different styles from half way across the world. You never know what you like if you don't give it a try.
  • Love Now this one I say very lightly. For me it wasn't until I left my hometown and moved that I found a guy in my area that was exactly where I was from. Truly funny how it worked out and in my eyes if I wouldn't have moved me and him would not be together and happy... It was like a fairy tale with a twist (lol).
  • Scenery Until I left home I assumed people had seen everything I've seen when it came to animals, landscape, etc. Traveling allowed me to see nature's true beauty and even man made beauty all around; plus my pictures I got were pretty cool... of course.

Hopefully this list sparks some interest to travel and try new experiences. I do realize it isn't for everyone but my favorite saying is "you never know what you may find if you never venture out and look" & a little advice is to always trust your gut when you're in certain situations. There are many positives but like everything else, you may stumble across negatives as well.

Happy travelling everyone!

-Bee

humanity
Like

About the Creator

B Lee

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.