Wander logo

rain rain go away

/ thoughts / rambles / photography / rain /

By SpratPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
rain rain go away
Photo by Cristi Goia on Unsplash

It's going to rain for the next couple of days. The rain has been violent lately. Dark clouds, lightening, thunder.

Every time it rains the sky threatens to fall down and crush us all - I would not be surprised if that happened at this point.

It's been an interesting week. I've still had trouble sleeping, and trouble waking up. This is a horrible combination, but otherwise I've been okay - not that anyone is asking.

Everything is blending together still. Work, sleep, repeat in the morning. I have all the time in the world but I'm having trouble making time for myself, it sort of feels like time is running out. I'm running out of things to write about aside from this isolation - there's no inspiration.

I'm having trouble coming up with at least 600 words (darn you vocal! I don't always have so much to say) that somebody will enjoy reading. I feel like I'm writing an essay in college and struggling to make it past the first page. Writers block is a real thing, don't let anybody tell you that it isn't. Writers block makes my stomach hurt like after I drink too much milk.

On a cold afternoon in high school I took a walk during a rainstorm - I don't remember why I did. I think someone had upset me, said something to me that I didn't like. In high school I walked everywhere and observed everything. That day I took a video of the rain. I have seen rain hundreds of times but there was something so interesting about the way it bounced off the road. It was still light out, and light enough that you could see the reflection of the sky in the asphalt of the street. It may have been sometime right after the fall. I don't remember any leaves on the trees.

I wish I still had that video for reference. It's one of those things that is hard to describe, unless you are able to show the other person - which unfortunately I cannot do. Who thought I would have such a difficulty describing rain of all things?

As much as I find the rain calming, recently the thunder has been startling. The kind of loud that makes you jump - it comes without warning, no low grumbles from far away to warn you of what's to come. It sounds like it's right outside of the window.

It rains for hours at a time, and it does not let up to a level that makes it comfortable to drive in. I like to sit in my car when it rains and listen to the pitter-patter of rain against the windshield, some quiet song from the 70s' playing in the background. It's like I can disconnect from the world in a place where nobody can look for me - and sometimes I'm not too sure I want anybody to find me, but if they did I would invite them to sit with me so we can listen to the rain together.

While writing this and thinking about if it will ever stop raining, I remembered some old photography. By no means was I, or will I ever be, a professional. If for some reason you find these images astounding and wish to use them or reference them, the only credit I ask for is a link back to either this post, my vocal page, or one of my social media profiles (listed in my bio and below).

To me the images don't really evoke any emotion in me, but perhaps they might to somebody else.

_

Follow me on Twitter & Instagram

nature
Like

About the Creator

Sprat

Welcome to my journal. There's a bit of everything here. Trying to focus on the good.

Twitter @snaildust

Instagram @spratwrites

https://linktr.ee/sprat

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.