Wander logo

Pretty in Pink - Getting My Ruby Latte Fill at Elan Cafe, London

The first of many, maybe?

By Sarah KatherinePublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

Every now and then I see something online and decide I want to try it. Pink Lattes are one of those things.

Being a lover of all things Pink, London, Coffee & Cake dates, and the chance to try something a little different, I couldn't pass up the chance to try a Ruby Latte from recently opened Elan Cafe.

So, when I found myself in London this week, on a sunny afternoon, and wandering Park Lane aimlessly, it felt like fortune was smiling down upon me when I spotted the familiar pink awning. With the sun shining on the cafe front and a free seat outside, I knew now was my chance to try the newly famous pink drink.

Elan - Park Lane

On entering the cafe, and joining a small queue of other guests, I was overwhelmed by the gorgeous cake display, the eye-catching salads, the smell of fresh coffee and a wall covered with the prettiest pink flowers. It is easy to see why the whole place is an Instagrammer's dream. The marble counters, neon 'coffee themed' slogans, latte art and, well, all the pink... You can't miss the pink theme, between the outside signage, the flower wall, the vases on the tables and of course the signature Ruby Lattes everyone is enjoying its a visual feast of fuschia and blush.

Rose, Blush, Fuchsia, Ivory....#Beautiful!

So, without hesitation, when I got to the front of the queue I ordered my Ruby Latte. In talking to the very helpful and friendly waitstaff, it turns out it's not even their most popular drink! They specialize in a 'Spanish Coffee' which includes condensed milk, for those people who need a little extra sweetness in their lives.

After a short wait outside in the afternoon sun, my latte arrived and it was perfection. A gorgeous pink hue, the subtle smell of beetroot and ginger and so warm in my hands. The taste wasn't what I expected, it's certainly no rich full-bodied Arabica coffee, but it wasn't bad. Earthy like beetroot and gingery like, well, ginger. In fact, they're flavours that I would most often associate with a freshly squeezed detox juice. Just throw in some carrot! I think it took a couple sips to get used to the flavours in a warm context. That said, the next time I visit I plan to try some of their other exciting drinks from their extensive menu.

Ruby Latte!

As well as a jam-packed drinks menu that includes blossoming tea, coloured lattes (not just ruby, but turmeric and matcha as well!), hot chocolates and more, I couldn't help but feel a little jealous of those guests who were tucking into the mouthwatering cakes and meals in the cozy dining area below street level. Unfortunately for me, it's hard to justify the price of the gorgeous looking food. Mayfair and Knightsbridge are not exactly known for their budget-conscious establishments (have I got any monopoly fans in here?)!

So, would I recommend it?

Well, I loved the vibe of the Park Lane branch. In fact, it reminded me of the cafe scene in my hometown of Wellington, so if that is your scene, it might be worth a visit.

Otherwise, if you're after a real treat, you're a sucker for pink stuff or you're keen on some Insta-likes then this is the place to visit.

I'd not choose to make it my local, simply because my budget wouldn't allow it and well, Mayfair and Knightsbridge will never be my local no matter how hard I try. However, with beautiful decor, an extensive menu, fast and friendly service and a whole lot of pink, I'll be back for at least one more visit.

europe
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Katherine

I’m a digital native, building a content portfolio. I'm interested in writing digital content on a variety of topics.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.