Wander logo

Potential New Beginnings

London, UK

By Emmalee EdwardsPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

After moving half-way around the world to the small town in the UK for my master’s programme, I had convinced myself and thought that every second of it would be a new adventure without any sort of effort on my part.

…I should have known.

I have always been the new kid, and I kind of figured that I would be going to a school that had significantly more domestic students, but boy was I wrong. My class happens to be one of the very few on campus that have 100% international students.

With a degree in international business, and an absolute love for culture, honestly, I was super excited. But, I forgot that when you’re from another country in a new country, there is a lot to get used to.

However, I never thought that I would have to get used to being in a new country, with all of my friends and peers who are new to a country, who all have to get used to a new culture and life TOGETHER. Not to mention the schoolwork.

BUT, I digress.

Weeks went by studying and working and being with friends as we all settled into this new area and new schedule, and new shopping routines (which if I’m being honest, I had never walked to the grocery store… great at first, but then, it’s just a hassle).

Though, I felt there was something not quite right about the whole thing.

No matter how much fun I was having. Not to mention the workload and drinking of course, I blame a drinking culture for that one. I mean, maybe it was the weather (this whole cold thing, not my favourite, especially coming from California).

But in all honesty, I found myself struggling to find a place that made me comfortable, and more importantly, I needed somewhere that made me feel alive.

I had found life in many places this summer when I was in Bangkok, China, Hong Kong, and even Pasadena, but I had yet to find any of that in the UK.

Finally stepping off the train at the London Euston Train Station after an hour delay before even getting on the train, the hustle and bustle of the city and the life of the town was everything that I had been longing for. I felt refreshed and revived for the first time in almost two months. Few places in my life had made me feel like I was alive, but London brought me peace.

London had made me feel like a person in a crowd again, and in the best way I needed that. When I feel like I am in a crowd, I feel like I have every opportunity to make something of myself or let myself become just another person. That encouragement gave me the drive I needed to choose to become some one notable and someone worth listening too.

So, looking into the future I am hoping that I get to spend time in a city that makes me feel like I need to do something. I feel like I need that positivity from inside because sometimes I get complacent with where I am. So, after this weekend in London, I feel like I want to, not just do something but, BECOME someone.

But, until then, I'm on a mission to make my time here in the UK an adventure so when I have the opportunity to make something out of my life, I will have the knowledge and preparedness to do so. Though, I have to make sure I am creating and searching for this adventure moving forward.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Emmalee Edwards

Describing myself would be too difficult to fit in a bio... so I guess that's why I write about my life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.