Wander logo

Post Isolation Solitude

The Peace of Quiet

By Jacqueline StatonPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
3
Post Isolation Solitude
Photo by Elizeu Dias on Unsplash

Post Isolation Dream Day

My ideal post-isolation dream day would be like this.

I board a 2:00 am flight on Delta Airlines from Atlanta Hartsfield-Jackson Airport to Ian Fleming International Airport in Ocho Rios, Jamaica.

Upon an uneventful and peaceful flight to Ocho Rios, I check into my resort hotel, Beaches Ocho Rios Resort and Golf Club. I am so excited! Even though I have been up super early, I am ready to hit the beach just in time for the sunrise.

After I get to the resort and the concierge gets my things into my room, I change into my favorite yoga pants, a sports bra and tank and head down to the beach.

Once I am on the beach, I spend time smoking marijuana and listening to some of my favorite relaxing music while I prepare for a sunrise yoga and meditation session. My Spotify playlist is called Tokyo Atmospheres. It has tracks like Tokyo Sunrise, Fuji and Monsoon and it is one of my energy recharging favorites.

I spend a few hours on the beach in deep meditation until hunger gets the best of me. I head back to the resort to enjoy an incredible breakfast at Josephine’s Creperie. I spend way too much time there, relishing my Crepe Suzette. (It has Grand Marnier in it!)

The music, the people, and the energy of early morning Jamaica after the pandemic are contagious and I stifle the urge to sit and people watch all day.

People Watching. Nah.

After finishing breakfast, I head to my room and change into my breezy beach day outfit.

I decide that I want to enjoy a nap in the sun. Instead of heading down to the ocean again, I go poolside and find me a great cabana that has a perfect view of the ocean. I climb onto the comfortable chaise and pull out the current books that I am reading. I also have my variety puzzles. Before I can get any real reading or puzzle activity happening, a handsome waiter comes up to ask if I need anything. It is always a blessing to have nice men to look at while traveling. I order a tray of fruit and a mango mimosa—I mean, who would not? The breeze coming off the ocean is in perfect alignment with the blaze of the sun and I am grateful for my easy outfit and the shade of the cabana. Just as I am beginning to get drowsy, my waiter shows up with my drink and snacks—it looks fantastic!

I take a cool and refreshing sip and engage in a bit more of the herbal essence that I have with me. Before I know it, my book drops to the floor of the cabana—maybe I drifted off to sleep, maybe- and I realize that the sun has moved its position in the sky. I have no idea how long I have been napping, but it does not matter here. Time does not exist, and I am enjoying the fact that I have nothing to do but enjoy myself on my first day out of the house and back into the world.

Through my haze, I decide that it is time to enjoy a visit to the spa and that I will swim a bit later. As I gather my things, I think about the services that the spa offers, and I speed up my pace a little. It will be so nice to enjoy this treat in this beautiful place! I have booked a salt bath soak and a hot stone massage. I am even more eager to enjoy this experience while I am in a more relaxed state of mind!

When I enter the spa, the attendants are friendly and soothing. They offer me a glass of wine and a tray of fruit and move me unhurriedly to the salt bath soak. After disrobing and spending an exhilarating amount of time in the salt bath, my body tingles and feels more alive than ever. It feels like all my cells are breathing through my skin at once! I am taken to the massage room next and the hands and technique of the attendant performing the hot stone massage, combined with the ambient music and lovely views of the beach lull me into an almost trancelike state. Currently playing “Chilled Ambient Trance Lounge”.

After my spa services are over, I retreat to my room to enjoy some quiet time on my balcony overlooking the ocean. I had planned to go down to one of the incredible restaurants for dinner, but instead I choose to order my meal and have it delivered to my room. I decide to order from Neptunes, a Mediterranean Seafood place in the resort. The menu looks incredible!

I decide to go with the Seared Ahi Tuna Salad and Smoked Eggplant. I add some Grilled Corn on the Cob and an Almond Crème Brule for dessert. I am living!

I take a few moments to connect with friends and family on social media while I am relaxing and waiting for my food. After all the “why didn’t you invite me” and the “I wish I were with you”, I almost regret that I reached out to folks. I did not want the peace and solitude of this day to be broken in any way. But family and friends are family and friends. At least they are not here with me on this trip-maybe the next.

When the waiter delivers my dinner, he sets it up on the balcony table and lights the fire pit. It is not dark yet, but the temperature has dipped a little and the heat from the pit is a nice addition that I can keep going through the evening as I enjoy the ocean views and my solitude.

Instead of turning on my headphones again, I turn on the small speaker that I brought with me so that I could also hear the waves crashing as I enjoy my dinner. The meal is sumptuous, and I savor every bite. I have also made sure to have my drink of choice, bourbon, on hand to bring a complete sense of fulfillment to the close of my day.

As I watch the sun begin to dip into the horizon, I feel incredibly grateful to have spent a day doing absolutely nothing but enjoying my solitude and the easy pace of the day on the ocean. I plan to stay on the balcony drinking, smoking, reading, and listening to music if my eyes can stay open.

Tomorrow there will be a trip to climb up the famous Dunn’s River Falls. I am also going to go on a rum tour and enjoy the crap out of learning about rum and tasting it—also buying it!

caribbean
3

About the Creator

Jacqueline Staton

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.