Wander logo

Portal To Paradise

Returning To Hawaii My Spiritual Home

By Alex FPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
Portal To Paradise
Photo by Wei Pan on Unsplash

Back in 2016 I took an anniversary vacation trip to Oahu Hawaii. It was a mind shattering experience and I was awakened to the true beauty of nature for the first time. I had always wanted to go there so being in Hawaii was already dream come true. When we arrived at our hotel room I froze up and just stared out into the open ocean. I was mesmerized by colors of the world around us.

By AussieActive on Unsplash

Originally I'm from New York City so seeing such clean beaches or a clear blue ocean was something that felt so foreign. Sadly living in NY has conditioned me to have tunnel vision of the world so almost everything around me feels muted and colorless. But being in Hawaii altered that perspective. It was as if I had walked through a portal into a new realm and time had slowed. A place where it was always warm and I was surrounded by beautiful scenery and nice people. I felt welcomed and comfortable like I was at home and ever since that trip I have been dreaming of going back.

By Oliver Niblett on Unsplash

Just before this quarantine began in March, I actually had a week of vacation time set up and I was planning on taking a trip. Flights had been getting less and less expensive and I was intending to go back to Hawaii and get a room overlooking the beach again. However, on my very first day off I was let go from my job and the lock down had began.

By Luke McKeown on Unsplash

However, if I had the opportunity to go I would have flown back to Honolulu and stayed by Waikiki beach. On my first night I would grab dinner from Top Of Waikiki which is this gorgeous restaurant at the very top of one of the tallest buildings there. The restaurant sits on a rotating platform so you can see a 360 degree view of island as well as enjoy one of the most delicious meals you'll ever have. I would probably be in a celebratory mood so I would get a steak with potatoes and vegetables on the side with a citrus drink. Perhaps something with gin in it.

By Martin Zangerl on Unsplash

The next morning I would absolutely make sure that I get breakfast from Tiki's Bar and Grill. I would order red velvet waffles and a side of Hawaiian sausage and a mimosa. Being able to enjoy breakfast overlooking the beach is one of the most amazing experiences for me. I would purposely stay and order an extra coffee or something just to sit and enjoy the view longer. After that I would spend the rest of my time enjoying different spots around the area like the Honolulu zoo, the Aquarium, Kualoa Ranch, the Dole Plantation, and the Ala Moana shopping center. There is also a shop that sells all kinds of macadamia nuts in Oahu, and I would take a ride out there to pick up some Pineapple Snow macadamia nuts. Pineapple snow is a white chocolate and pineapple fusion flavor that is simply delicious. It's a must have and I highly recommend it if you are someone who enjoys macadamia nuts or white chocolate in general.

I would also be sure to take frequent walks by some of the hotels and pick up some fresh coconut water at the farmers markets on the strip of Kalakalua Ave. The fruits that are sold at these farmers markets are some of the freshest fruits I have ever eaten and it is such a treat to have them readily available throughout the week. Finally for my last day on Oahu, I would go to see the fireworks show they have for the public every Friday night. Its a perfect way to end a vacation with a beautiful night time walk and fireworks on the beach.

By Saurav Rastogi on Unsplash

To complete this trip I would also travel to the island of Kauai for few days and take the opportunity to see the black sand beaches there, as well as other coasts. I would also take a helicopter ride overlooking the island which I've never done before. Taking that trip would be absolutely incredible. It would be a chance break away from the daily grind of being in New York and the paranoia and stress of the corona virus and allow me to breathe more peacefully. Hawaii is my spiritual home and I cannot wait to return there and enjoy the warmth and love from the islands.

By Brannon Naito on Unsplash

america
1

About the Creator

Alex F

Gamer. Writer. Advice giver. Rising up out of poverty in all its forms and bringing everyone I can with me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.