Wander logo

Point Dume

Malibu, California

By Jacob PickettPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
Point Dume

I took this photo almost a month ago. It was taken at Point Dume in Malibu, California. This one spot is so meaningful to me for multiple reasons. On my day’s off from work I would come to this spot to sit and watch the sunset or if I was lucky enough to wake up early, I would watch the sunrise. Sitting at the rocky overlook I would mentally think of who I wanted to be and how I would get there. I met so many people doing the same thing I was. Those conversations consisted of question like, what makes you happy or what we wanted to be when we grew up. This point was more than just that, it’s where I found who I wanted to be. For a while I never really took pictures of this spot because it was always so familiar and a place I visited quite often. Once I left for college, I regretted not taking pictures at this spot. I missed it, and never really found another place so peaceful. From this rock, and in the picture you can see people. People with different stories, different scars, different dreams, and aspirations. One thing I dreamed of being while sitting at this point was a photographer. It was my goal to capture people’s emotions, feelings, and moments to remember. Since returning back to Point Dume I have been able to accomplish a glimpse of that dream. I have been able to travel and see other beautiful places all over the United States while taking photos for people. This spot is where it all started. I took at least 60 photos of Point Dume and this is the one I truly LOVE the most! The picture was taken right before one of my best friends proposed to his now, fiancé. Making the photo even more memorable. I took this photo on my Canon 1DX mark II with my Tamron 15-30mm f/2.8 lens. It captures everything I love and remember about this exact spot. I can see the people, the cars, the waves, the cliffs, the homes, the palm trees, and the rolling hills. I edited this photo for the feeling. It’s warm, like the sun on my skin. This is the one image, that I believe does this place a justice. Now, it’s printed and hanging on my wall as a constant reminder to chase your dreams and goals but never forget where it all started.

photography
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.