Wander logo

Please Pass the Salt

Our Visit to the Amazing Bonneville Salt Flats

By Michele JamesPublished 7 years ago 2 min read
Like
Rest area near Bonneville Salt Flats

On the state line between Nevada and Utah lies the Bonneville Salt Flats. Recently, Mike and I had the pleasure of visiting this amazing place. From things I have read, I could only fathom the expanse of this place but to feel it in person is unbelievable.

It ranged from dried up places to ankle deep water with hard salt on the bottom.

Bonneville is named after Benjamin Bonneville, who was an army officer that explored the Western United States back in the 1800s. The salt flats were first discovered to be drivable when a man by the name of Bill Rishel and two of his business partners drove a Pierce-Arrow across the salt in 1907.

Soon after this test drive, word began to spread that Bonneville was drivable and the first land speed record was set there in 1914 by American race car driver, Teddy Tetzlaff, who was well known for his Indy 500 racing fame. Tetzlaff would set this first record in a custom built 200HP car known as the Blitzen-Benz. To set this record, Tetzlaff was able to get the Benz up to 141.73 MPH on the flats.

I had visions of trying to find some of those patterns in the dried salt that you see photos of, but due to the copious amounts of rain that everyone seemed to have this year, there weren't any to be found! So I went to option B. Reflections. I had also seen great shots of reflections. Well, that would have panned out had there not been any wind on the water!

When we got to the dead end road where the racetrack was, there was a movie company there filming an electric vehicle in the water. I know. Sounds weird. Isn't that like throwing a plugged in toaster into the bathtub? I thought so but everyone made it out alive.

From this end of the salt flats, I was able to capture a few shots but none of those with the salt "patterns."

Bonneville Salt Flats

In doing my research, I had read that the west bound rest area was the place to photograph the salt flats. Since it butted up to the rest area, the crazies wouldn't drive out and ruin the flats. I thought to myself, "No way." Well, turns out it is the best place. I was kind of bummed when we got there because the wind was on the water. I was hoping for a mirror like finish so I could get some reflections. That didn't happen! What was cool though is the patterns in the water from the waves. With the salt underneath it created some neat patterns.

Beautiful Patterns

The patterns of the waves against the salt bottom was mesmerizing.

I even did something that I never do. I took a selfie.

Selfie

Now you didn't think I was going to take a selfie close-up did you?

So after photographing, we went back to Wendover and got a hotel room in Utah. Then we walked across the street to Nevada, ate dinner and did a little gambling. Mike didn't do so well but me on the other hand...

I pretty much carried us both!

It was an awesome place to visit and one that I will make another trip back for.

Directions

Just follow HWY 80 to Wendover, Utah. If you want to go to the start of the flats, take I-80, Exit 4. Drive north for 1.5 miles, then east for four miles. The road ends at the Salt Flats marker.

The rest area with access to the salt flats is about two miles east of Wendover on the westbound side.

america
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.