Wander logo

Pay It Forward...

the night a complete stranger restored my faith in human generosity

By Demitria RounisPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
1
Eiffel Tower, Paris

As a young university student with a love of travel, I decided to take a leap of faith, and move across the world to study in France. I was living about two hours south of Paris. One weekend, I decided to take a solo trip to Milan, Italy. The trip was amazing, and the people that I met there were some of the most genuine, but that weekend didn’t come without its downs...

On my way to Milan, I got into Paris late, causing me to miss the last shuttle out to the airport. With no other options I had to pay a significant amount of money for a driver to take me to where I needed to go. At the airport, there was an issue with my check-in, and once again for reasons I couldn’t control I was forced to pay another large sum of money. Before my trip had even started I was already running low on funds, and I would soon find out that my troubles were only just beginning...

Fast forward to the end of the trip. I find out that due to a system glitch, my credit card payment didn’t go through. With barely enough money to pay for the hostel, I board my flight back to Paris, believing all my bad luck was behind me. I was wrong...

My flight got delayed on the way back. Once again, I missed my bus. The only one left that could take me back home from Paris wasn’t until the next afternoon. It was the middle of the night, I was totally alone in a massive city with nowhere to go. I had no money. It was freezing outside. I was terrified. I called my mom back home, she told me to find the nearest hotel, and she’d pay for it. I found a hotel close that was somewhat reasonably priced. Upon my arrival, the man at the check-in had no sympathy for my situation, and told me that the price of the room would be almost triple what the website said, which I knew we couldn’t afford. He told me if I couldn’t pay, I’d have to leave. Full of fear and empty of hope, all I could think was to wander the streets until I found a 24-hour café. With tears in my eyes, I got ready to head out into the night...

Then, an angel appeared. A lovely woman staying in the hotel. She saw me crying, and asked why I was sad and all alone. I explained my story through muffled sobs. And without even a moment’s hesitation, she said she’d pay for a room for me. She told me to have a good night’s sleep, have a warm shower, and tell my mom that I was safe. I was stunned. This complete stranger was willing to help me when I thought I had no one. I promised I’d pay her back. I begged her to let me pay her back. But all she said to me was this: “Just pay it forward. Put positive energy out into the world, help someone else who needs it, and we will be even..."

I never got this woman’s name, but I’ll never forget her. She’s a part of my story now. A reminder that even when you’re at your lowest, someone will always be there to pick you up.

Pay it Forward.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.