Wander logo

Palm city

Look up

By Gold Leaf Published 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

I’ve cried. I’ve wailed. I’ve actually been tormented by this time of Covid 19. The lack of human touch, the ability to make plans and the devastating loss I’ve seen and experienced, couldn’t equate to much other than a deep sense of sadness within me at times. Then I look up.

Outside my window; the scene is set as if I am actually on a tropical Island. I am reminded of that feeling of privilege, encapsured by the colours of this Earth and their purpose: To ignite, to inspire to heal.

From the left dabs deep colours of green in small, fine blotches. Shimmers of light beam through, crystallising the edges of the leaves. The colours spread further to the right, softer dabs even, but the colour of green goes deeper. This tree would wonder and amaze the child that I can hear playing underneath it. If only they looked up at the great, protective canopy that stood above them.

Move your eyes to the right and there mounts a skinny, tall palm tree. So skinny is its trunk but the palms that flag at the top to the sky are wispy, majestic and blowing in the wind. Sweeping the sky, the drama of the movement only prompts me into remembering those stormy afternoons on a beach holiday. The kind where daylight has had its time and now you retreat with your lover to sleep, shower or whatever.

Next to it, two smaller twin palm trees stand. They are not less interesting by their size but whimsical and charactertistic in their own right. They seem to stand much more still than the taller palm. Their leaves much more of a rich, lime, green colour. And they are taller, pointing straighter to the sky. The brown bark underneath them probably could be described as that of the arms and body of a Ghost, although when they fall to the ground the bark warms up the floor and gives that Earthy texture that only Mother Nature can do.

Then to the far right of my eye; the tree that is closest to my eyes; I call it “Spike” stands Spritely in front of my window. Standing strong and tall, but seemingly like the older brother of the trees that present themselves beside it. His leaves are bright, beautiful and green, almost as though starting from the left of this sky line. Warm green captures your eyes, then as you scan the paradise across to the right, you would be slapped in the face by the bright light green colours at the end of it. So much greenery and health in one glance alone.

Appreciative, I remember that I am not in control of my time here during Covid or on Earth at all it would seem. But I am thankful for the little things in each and every moment. Otherwise we would never learn to be satisfied with any moments at all. I think that this is all the human experience may be, and what we truly crave. Feelings of love, truth and a sense of peace, clarity and grace. An admiration for visual beauty, the romance of nature and what it offers to us. Especially when we have taken it for granted for so long. I am grateful and amazed that in all my sadness and longing for the outside world, that the beauty of a place such as a tropical island could be seen right there in front of my window from my humble abode in the North of Sydney. I am grateful. I am humbled. Especially in times like these.

nature
Like

About the Creator

Gold Leaf

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.