Wander logo

Once Upon a Night at Downtown Toronto

Not every night is created equally…

By Nkeonye Judith IZUKAPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2
Once Upon a Night at Downtown Toronto
Photo by Anubhav Saxena on Unsplash

I can’t explain what happened to me that night. I had left my place of volunteer a bit later than usual. II made my way back to the bus stop. Weeks before this, I took the tube, and one time, I walked to and fro. I got to the bus stop and saw that the next bus would not be due for one hour so I left. I intended to take the tube but for some reason, could not locate the tube station. I had been walking for about 15 minutes. I remembered seeing streetcars so I decided I would board one of them. Why didn’t I want to walk home? It was for 30 minutes! The week before, those 30 minutes seemed significant as I walked back home. I had picked up a bug and ended up sick in bed for 2 days. On this night, I had exceeded my shift by thirty minutes. The days got darker quickly so I was not going to beat myself up about leaving later than usual.

I hopped up on the streetcar but noticed that the bus stops were unfamiliar. Then I realized I had boarded the wrong streetcar. After moving past two stops, I signaled for the car to stop and got down. I crossed to the other side of the road and walked over to what resembled a bus stop. After about ten minutes, the first streetcar approached but rode past me and my ‘stop’. Another did the same. At that point, I realized I wasn't at an actual stop. I needed to find the nearest 'actual' stop. I walked a couple of blocks ahead. It was dark, lonely, cold, and unfamiliar. I remembered all those strange stories on the news of people being attacked on their way home. I had no intention of being a news item! Eventually, I identified an official stop and then waited. Passengers congregated and they all appeared to be waiting for rides. I knew something must be right after all. After what felt like forever, a streetcar approached. We all got in.

I looked at my GPS for the second time on my lost journey and noted how many stops I had to my destination. Google map signaled that it was a 25-minute ride. Soon enough, the streetcar arrived at my destination. I signaled to stop again and got off. The GPS specified that I would home after 10 minutes walk. I shrugged my shoulder and embarked on this bit of the journey. This was familiar territory and hopefully the end of my night of horror. As I walked and passed street after street, I wondered why 10 minutes was beginning to feel like 25 minutes. I also noticed that these were not familiar streets I passed on my way home. I fumbled in my pocket for my phone to look at the GPS. It stated I was 22 minutes from home. How on earth did 10 minutes become 22 minutes?

I looked up at the stars and wondered who I had offended. Did someone curse me? I was speechless, sad, cold and my legs were killing me. Yes, I had layered up in readiness for the night but nothing beats real warmth. I clicked on the navigator and it spoke to me as I changed direction. From not wanting to walk 30 minutes home, I had spent roughly 2 hours wandering downtown Toronto. Catching a bug or covid-19 seemed a non-issue! I just wanted to get home and get warm.

Alas, the GPS signaled to me familiar street names. I looked around and I recognized landmarks. I could see my home in front of me. Oh, was I glad! I knew my housemates would ask questions. We were supposed to have popcorn night. I was due back hours ago. I hadn't mentioned multiple stops. I only stated I was going for volunteering. Heaven knew I was in no explanation mode. When would I finish the story of missed tube stations, wrong streetcars, and strange bus stops? I was completely exhausted. I’ll offer a simple explanation and that would be the end, [hopefully]. I walked in and yes, they were in the kitchen chilling with wine and popcorn. “Babe, what happened to you?” “I lost my way home, I need a warm bath.”

female travel
2

About the Creator

Nkeonye Judith IZUKA

love life & humor, simple, grounded, focused, tenacious, motivated, warm- hearted and a fan of nutrition

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.