Wander logo

NURTURING CULTURAL DIFFERENCES

A real-life cultural experience

By Grace Kusta NasrallaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

My first exposure to a different culture was when I first visited the Island of Cyprus back in the 1980s.

Cyprus is an island in the eastern Mediterranean that was divided into a Greek southern side and a Turkish northern side. This happened after a coup, instigated by the dictatorship ruling Greece in 1974, and a subsequent Turkish military aggression. The island is close to Turkey, Syria, and Egypt, but both Greek and Turkish Cypriots prefer to think of themselves as living close to Europe rather than Africa and the Middle East. Greek Cypriots are taught at schools standard modern Greek, and Turkish Cypriots, speak and write, standard modern Turkish. For informal oral exchanges, each community employs what could be called the Cypriot dialect. Cyprus has a high degree of literacy, and much of the population can communicate in English, especially the younger generation(1).

I landed in Larnaca, located in the Greek Southern side of Cyprus, and the weather was very warm then. I enjoyed the warm breeze as it brushed my face while I walked from the plane to the airport terminal. The airport customs there stamped my passport and with a smiling face welcomed me to the Island of Cyprus. That was my first encounter with a Cypriot and I was left under the impression that Cypriots are friendly and welcoming. I took a cab to the hotel, changed into my swimming attire, and rushed to the beach that was just across the street from the hotel. My plan for my vacation was just to enjoy the sunny weather and the beautiful beaches of Larnaca.

A part of the cultural traditions in Greek Cyprus is the afternoon "Siesta". I come from Lebanon where the workplace culture is relatively aggressive and fast-paced. And here I find myself in a country where if I need bread I have to make sure I either get it before noon time or after 3:00 o'clock in the afternoon. What a leisure! I guess that's why people find Cypriots friendly and hospitable! Another cultural tradition that struck me was the "Vespas", the mini motorcycles that were zooming beside, and in front of, the vehicles that were driving the roads of Larnaca.

Food in Greek Cyprus is everywhere. We can never run hungry walking the streets in Larnaca. The food kiosks were spread alongside the long street that lied across the beach I enjoyed most. After a long day in the sun, I would walk that street and enjoy a Souvlaki Sandwich with a drink. Another very common dish for the Cypriots is fish and chips. Every restaurant had it on their menu then, and they often recommended it as a tasty dish. "Kleftiko" was another dish that Cypriots proudly cooked and served with tzatziki yogurt dip. “Kleftiko” is the leg of lamb well cooked in a clay oven which preserves its flavour and juicy texture.

I noticed that the elderly are respected and revered in Greek Cyprus and the family is a sacred institution that is blessed by the church. Since its independence in 1974, the church has developed many diverse activities covering all aspects of life and society in Cyprus. It has built many schools and has set up cultural, philanthropic, and church foundations, as well as a radio-TV station. Many Scholarship programs for needy students were put in place by the Orthodox Church to ensure education within the community(2).

That trip to Cyprus was memorable. And since then, I had visited Cyprus a few other times. And each time I would leave with good memories about the people, the place and the culture. After my trips to Cyprus, I had the opportunity to visit Switzerland, Rome, Syria, Jordan, and the USA.

My place of residence now is Canada, and it had been the place my husband and I chose to dwell in for the past thirty-one years. My exposure to these cultures had taught me to appreciate diversity and it had also helped me to become a perpetual learner. There is always something to learn in each culture. I trained myself to embrace the positives in what I observe, and discard the negatives. My stereotyped perspective on nations and peoples has radically changed. I see differences now as something healthy that I nurture, process, and learn from. Some truths can always come out of differences and my exposure to different cultures has taught me to benefit from these truths and allow them to make a difference in my life.

(1)http://www.everyculture.com/Cr-Ga/Cyprus.html

(2) https://www.oikoumene.org/member-churches/church-of-cyprus

europe
Like

About the Creator

Grace Kusta Nasralla

❤️ my family | 🙏🏻 in awe of God | 🔎 observer of communication arts in different cultures | 🎭 an admirer of creative arts | 🥾 Hiking is my hobby | 📱 My Instagram: @gknasralla | ✍️ My business blog: bizreflections.ca.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.