Wander logo

New York Truths, Lies and Subways

Have you ever noticed your expectations rarely ever match with reality?

By Caroline Szellemes McCulloughPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like
Times Square, New York City

New York City. It's a place you feel like you know well even before you get on your first subway. The thing is, expectations rarely ever match reality and that was my experience all over when I visited New York City for the first time.

I was nervous about going to New York. I'd seen too many movies and TV shows featuring wild violence, muggings and mass destruction.

Nevertheless, I hungered to satisfy my curiosity, so when I had an opportunity to stop in New York City for a few days, I jumped at it.

The Subway

My brother and I taking cheesy photos on the New York Subway

My first adventure: figuring out how to use the Metrocard on the subway.

I'm standing in front of the turnstile wondering why nothing is happening.

I must have swiped my card three times before realising I had to push on the barrier to get through. Then I push my luggage through and get stuck. "Far.... out".

Massive dumb tourist moment. It has to get better from here.

There goes my first $20 thanks to an awful exchange rate. Every cent counts on this whirlwind trip.

I make it to Canal Street Station and haul my luggage up the stairs, thankful to see my brother Matt a few moments later.

I made it! It only took about 27 hours of flying time, running through LAX at top speed, and the good fortune to hop on the right Subway train.

Soho

No rest for the wicked! Dinner at Cafe Gitane NoLita in Soho

A short walk, a quick shower and then out into the humid night again. We walk through Soho and sit out front of a quaint French-inspired cafe, Cafe Gitane NoLita people watching and catching up on the last year.

The last time we'd seen each other was at our sister's funeral in Adelaide, just shy of a year before. While it was incredibly sad, her death brought my brothers and I closer together, for which I am grateful. Our sister would have been happy with that.

I reflect on how odd it is to meet up at two polar ends of the earth.

Manhattan

It's amazing how much adrenalin you have when you land in a new city. All the new smells, sounds, and sights hit you at once.

I notice a few unexpected things: garbage in garbage bags out on the kerb on every street and old cobbled roads throughout Soho and Little Italy.

My brother explains that New York City wasn't designed for alleyways and so there was often nowhere for dumpsters to go. It's funny the things you notice that vary from the narrative you create about a place. All those movies and shows with alleyway muggings aren't possible in this part of town.

Little Italy

I notice how safe I feel wandering the streets at night. It reminds me of London or Sydney--loads of people everywhere, no signs of gangs, few homeless or drug users... I expect it to be like San Francisco, where you practically trip over 20 down and out displaced people in one block. Instead there are hardly any people sleeping rough near our hotel in Tribeca.

World Trade Centre Memorial

I have an overwhelming urge to cry when we approach the World Trade Center Memorial.

All of a sudden I'm transported back in time. I'm watching live on TV as planes smash into each tower. With a baby on my hip, at our apartment near Heathrow I watch in horror as the second plane hits building two. I bawl my eyes out at the sight of people jumping to their deaths.  

Coming here is a bit of a pilgrimage. Despite the touristy guides and photo opps, we take the opportunity to ride to the top of the new World Trade Centre. From the observation deck you can view the entire city. I take in the sheer size of this place. I'm not in Brisbane anymore.

The Subway station near the World Trade Centre

Central Park

Nothing prepares you for Central Park's vastness. I recognise almost every nook and cranny we pass from movies and TV ... When Harry Met Sally, Suits, Doctor Who and many other shows.

Central Park views

My feet are hurting and we haven't even gotten to the halfway point. We catch a cab and head to Union Square down 5th Avenue, past all the flash flagship retail shops. New York is an ironic blend of poverty and extravagance.

The Met, in Central Park, houses many of the world's greatest treasures

The Grey Dog Cafe has been a New York institute for years. We line up, yell our order across the counter and hope we get what we asked for.

I order a latte and it is close to an Aussie coffee... close but not quite. Matt scolds me for not embracing the different coffee culture here in the US. I make a face.

My bro in the Grey Dog Cafe.

Hamilton

Later in the afternoon we head back out to see Hamilton. We had managed to score amazing seats. At the end I am so overcome with joy at having watched such an incredible performance I rush to stand up and clap before anyone else and promptly fall on my backside. The seats are really low!

Hamilton, the musical on Broadway (which is actually a bunch of streets around Broadway)

Sunset on the Rooftop

Later, I meander up to the hotel rooftop to open up my laptop and call the kids. The sunset is stunning against the menagerie of buildings that make up Midtown including the Empire State Building. I'm even starting to talk New York language-- Midtown, Uptown. I start to piece together where everything is.

The Empire State Building

We find a little Italian place in Tribeca for dinner and the next morning I farewell my brother who has to catch a flight back to Chicago. Short and sweet.

A Manhattan

It's Labour Day weekend so there are people everywhere. I continue to explore and spend a few solid hours scouring The Met.

Getting lost at The Met

The next morning I drag my bags down to Penn Station and jump on a train heading North to Boston. I vow to visit again but for much longer. I can see the appeal for Aussie expats. You could live here for 20 years and still find surprises in your own neighbourhood. This place is a labyrinth of wonder.

While much of it wasn't what I expected, I loved every minute. Thanks to having a brother who has visited New York frequently, we managed to stay away from the tourist traps and see a real slice of this amazing city.

Next trip is to an entirely different place. I wonder what treasures await me there. Find out in April when I return from Myanmar.

activities
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.