Wander logo

New York in 3 Days

If You're Going on a Short Trip

By Layla ElkassihPublished 5 years ago 4 min read
Like

I was in New York, New York for two nights and got to do A LOT. Here's what I did and recommend you do if your visit is short like mine was.

  1. Top of the Rock
  2. Brooklyn Bridge
  3. Chelsea Market
  4. The Vessel - Really cool, giant, sculpture you can go up in
  5. The High-line—a nature walking trail over all the city streets like a continuous bridge
  6. Times-Square
  7. The MoMa

Shops:

  1. Hudson Yards
  2. Stadium Goods
  3. Kith
  4. Uniqlo
  5. Billionaire Boys' Club

Restaurants

  1. Friedmans - Great brunch spot, got Gluten-free chicken and waffles
  2. Los Tacos No. 1 - Pollo asado and carne asado tacos
  3. 3 Bros Pizza
  4. Beauty and Essex - This place is breathtaking... Great hamburgers too
  5. Casa Mezcal - Chill bar with dancing
  6. Erin's Bakery - All Gluten-free bakery. AMAZING, so good that I bought a cookbook the owner wrote.
  7. Insomnia Cookies
  8. Sinigual - Blue corn and jack cheese enchiladas, one carne taco and one pollo. My friends got the Carne asada and everything was good. There is this one drink there that you are only allowed to order one time. I forgot what it's called but I highly recommend it.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

If it isn't already obvious, you will be walking all day. For places that are too far to walk, the cabs turned out to be cheaper than some of our Uber rides. I recommend you compare the Lyft price and Uber price for the same location before booking.

We stayed in The Westin Hotel in Times Square and it is a perfect walking distance to almost everything. The hotel lobby is gorgeous. Very spacious with high ceilings, art, and luxurious furniture. The hotel rooms were also nice but nothing crazy unless you ordered a suite or something fancy.

When you are walking around the city or inside a museum, watch the people around you. Are they wearing their backpacks across their chests? If so, you do it too. Everyone knows about pick-pocketing but I didn't know the extent of it until I was there. I had my wallet stolen from under my arm, literally. And fights break out spontaneously without any warnings so pay attention and just keep doing your thing.

If you hate being touched or bumped into EVERY THREE SECONDS, do not go to New York. I personally couldn't handle it and always got pissed three to four times a day because of this. Even yelled at someone, I was so sick of it. And for those of y'all that live in Texas like me, New Yorkers are not friendly like us so don't take anything personal.

Other than that, everything was pretty easy to find and we were not really ever uncertain of how to do anything or where anything is so if you are going alone, you will be just fine. Just watch your back and stay aware of your surroundings and be sure you can tell if you're being taken advantage of because people will try to swindle you. Only ask people that are in a family groups to take your photos. People will literally run off with your phone or camera and no one will try to stop them and the police will tell you there is nothing they can do.

When my wallet was stolen, the police officer at the hotel told me I don't really have to do a police report. Holy HECK, was he wrong. That police report became so important, I hated myself for not doing it and called the station to report this incompetent cop. I needed the police report for a new license and needed it for the airport as well—but I didn't and went through hell.

Feel free to ask anyone any questions you might have but if the answer doesn't sound right, research or ask someone else. It's every man for themself in New York. So fast paced too. There were some moments I was like, "how do people live here, I couldn't do it. I feel like a mouse in a maze" because you don't get to see the sun with all the buildings. But there were some spots that make you love New York all over again... If you want to have that feeling, go to the places that I went to and you'll have a great trip.

america
Like

About the Creator

Layla Elkassih

Fashion | Health | Food | Gluten-free | Make-up & skin-care | Writing

I hope you like it!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.