Wander logo

Never Left

By:Briauna Williams

By Briauna williamsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

One Saturday morning I woke up exhausted. Tired of the routine that life had spun. I was sick of not enjoying my life. So I packed, not aware of the journey ahead just following the compass of my heart. I returned to this beautiful quaint area I loved in Florida. When I was young I would imagine being swallowed up with the mermaids and being free amongst the stars and the dolphins. This place was perfect. I miss that optimism and sparkle my life once had. I just want a night of laying down and looking up. Looking up to the colors of the nights sky and its glory.

Yes Im all set and even managed to dig up a friend last minute. Shadow she was someone who was always down for a random adventure. In high school we had outlandish plans and dreams. Its been a while but Im glad she’s joining me. Ok we finally arrived as its now approaching midnight. “Lets find a diner and stay up late!” begged Shadow.

CJ’s eatery was near by. We shared a huge Chocolate milkshake with whipped cream and caramel drizzle bubbling over the edge.

Yum! Oh and we had veggie burgers and the most crisp and zestful fries. I always liked the way the word “zest” feels on my tongue.

After a late munch fest we grabbed our blankets and stubble upon a beautiful hillside feeling as if we reached the top of Giza.

We settled there while sky gazing and catching up.

I exhaled with my eyes closed with each release I emptied chambers of my heart and decluttered my mind. When I opened my eyes there at my feet sat gently the coolest, strangest most majestic creature.

. “Omg its an Owl!l yelled Shadow

(The owl quickly disappeared)

Still in awe I get up to go see where It went. Soon we were on an adventure of what felt like the chasing of wind. Then as we came to a stillness. The owls’ eerie yet beautiful scream became louder and louder. The owl appeared just over our heads. It lasted but a second then going straight up and out of the small forrest that we were in.

“What a night.” “What ya say we get some sleep?” shadow insisted.

“Sure”, I agreed uncertainly.

At this moment all the myths and omens start to flood my thoughts as we walk back to our cabin area. Well to our surprise that mystery would soon be apparent.

As we entered the yard we could notice that things were certainly different. All the lights were now off and I noticed some of my belongings scattered in the front yard. Fear, fright and everything NOT right smacked me right in the head. I quickly called 911. It didn’t take long before they soon arrived. The officer walked us inside after investigating that someone was indeed inside. We quickly grabbed what was left of our belongings and made a dash to the closest hotel. Before the officer left he reminded us just how lucky we were and shared with us what he found inside. It was a note written with what looked like my matte red lipstick. It read, “I Never Left.”

Shadow and I just starred into one another’s eyes. Im sure we were thinking the same thing. “wha?.”

“ Who, what, when, where and why us!”

I began to reflect on the owls appearance. Did it save us? Was it delivering us a message of danger?

To this day I truly believe it was a spirit and spirits are all arounds us begging for us to look and listen. I now keep an owl above my bed, to be the watchman of the night and defender of my dreams. Letting go of the daily things that don’t matter and getting into nature is now my daily goal. The mystical spark I’ve craved since a child NEVER LEFT.

literature
1

About the Creator

Briauna williams

I love to laugh, Paint and cook.

On amission to get back to my writing.

#ArtIsLife #BriiNoir

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.