Wander logo

My Town

The beauty of living in a small town

By Sheri LeePublished 4 years ago 10 min read
Like

You would think that the small town where I live is probably no different from other small towns. It has its Town Hall, Library, main street that has small businesses that cater to the local economy. Many local restaurants and coffee shops where you’ll find the young and old hanging out. The difference between my town and anyone else’s is that I live here. The uniqueness about my town is profound; from its beautiful waterways and the buildings and structures that have been built from the Limestone to the surrounding forest, hills and valleys, rivers and streams that pass through the heart of my town. The beauty is astounding no matter which way you turn. There was once an Opera house and in the early years my town was a hub for the Grand Trunk Railway which built the massive bridges that are now repurposed as trails that allow you to overlook the Thames river, Trout Creek and as far as the old water tower. You can still catch a train at the local train station which is in the same location that it had been originally built. The railway tracks are now gone and replaced with foot paths, trails and bike paths for everyone to enjoy. My town is surrounded by many species of wildlife from Grey Herons, Osprey, Ducks, Canadian Geese, Bobcats, deer, and small creatures like skunks, rabbits, and racoons. The variety of plant and wildlife in such a small area is amazing to behold.

I have lived here for the past three years and it took a pandemic for me to take the time to explore my town. Walking from my house I make my way down the hill across the street which brings me to the bridge. The limestone Victoria bridge that I cross takes me into the heart of downtown. The Riverview walkway follows along the Thames and as I make my way along the path, I come across several Grey Herons fishing for their meal or standing on one leg barely visible against the murky water below. Families of ducks swimming among the rapids huddling together, diving for food. In the skies Osprey fly high above me, gliding and soaring with each gust of air under their wings. On the trail, rabbits are out eating the dewy grass and freshly grown weeds that seem to pop up overnight. Their perky ears moving and listening for any predator that might be close by. As soon as they see me, they run for cover in the tall grass. The peaceful sounds of birds chirping, water rushing, the wind blowing through the tall trees that bend their branches over the path almost as though you were walking through a long archway of green leaves.

Early in the morning along the way I will come across men fishing knee deep in the water casting their bait, hoping for a catch of the day. Some sit in their lawn chairs along the riverbank, fishing and contemplating life as the morning sun rises and the heat of the day makes them pack up and try again another day. Further down the trail is where I’ll find the remains of stone pillars that once stood tall and strong holding up the rails that carried limestone from down in the quarry to be moved to the factory where they make cement. The quarry is now just another fishing spot used by locals to come and sit on its banks fishing or just a peaceful spot to enjoy some quiet time.

Many locals enjoy the walk each morning either walking their dogs or walking alone as I do. I have crossed paths with the same people day after day and as I walk by them, they greet me with a friendly hello or just a smile. Even though I may not know them by name, I can tell the ones who have been living here for many years as they greet each other by name and stop to talk briefly with one another. Each town has the people who you come to know as quirky and colourful, my town is no exception. Its one of the things I have come to love about living in a small town; you really get to know the people and all the flavours they come in. There is the young man with the new puppy who is training him as they walk along the path making sure he doesn’t run towards other dogs or people as they walk by me. There is the lady with two Shih Tzus who she pushes in a stroller; only allowing one of the dogs to get out periodically to walk and then she would put him back into the stroller; often she would talk to herself or to her dogs as I pass her by. There are people with larger dogs like collies and huskies that would move along quickly passing by leaving a large gap between us; saying a quick good morning and move on their way. On one of the many benches that lined the path, an older man sits with his head bent in prayer. Other days he reads from his bible and then looks up and out towards the scenic view before him with a smile on his face. Some mornings there is a small woman who seemed as though life had beaten her down. She always has on long pants and a jacket, even on the hottest of days. With her is an older dog that huddles close to her and looks just as beaten down as herself. I have purposely said hello to her, and she would answer back with a quick smile or hello. Most days she is waiting in the parking lot by the Opera House looking as though she is waiting for someone. Other days you can find her on the concrete walkway overlooking the river, watching as the water rushes by below. The trail along the river ends at the tennis courts although you could continue across Water street and up towards the ball diamonds. I always turn back the way I came and head towards the other side of the main street. Taking the few stairs that bring you down along the river I walk by the limestone canal which runs south along Trout Creek and meets up with the Thames River. There once was an old mill here, now you can only see remnants of the mill and its mechanisms. Along the path the waterway becomes the Little Falls where I have seen children play on the limestone flats along the riverbed, splashing and playing in the water on the hottest of summer days. This is where the two rivers meet, Trout creek joins with the Thames River. As I cross an old steel bridge, looking down I see lily pads ready to bloom at any moment. I check each day as there are hundreds of them, but I have not seen one in bloom yet. Along the rivers edge is reeds and tall grasses where the geese nest. I am always intrigued by a family of Canadian geese that have adopted a white goose. They swim together, eat together and are never far apart. The white goose seems to have become one of their own. One by one they swim in a line up to the riverbank and out of the water over to the field where they flock together each morning. I continue to walk along the road until I reach the entrance of Milt Dunnell Park or known locally as “The Flats”. The circular drive of the park encompasses a ball field and grassy area. It was built on some old farmers field and during the spring thaw is overrun by flooding waters. It’s a pretty spot that is used by many to drive their cars around as the roadway loops around the edge of the park allowing ones to park beside the water and capture a great view of the old Sarnia bridge in the distance. In the other direction you can view the Victoria bridge. As I make my way along the circular road I pass by a pavilion and a small park with equipment for younger children. These days the pavilion and the park have been boarded off with “do not enter” yellow caution tape to keep people from using them. At the end of the road is a parking lot and as I walk along, my shoes crunching on the loose gravel, it leads to a wooded area and a dirt trail. I always like to take my time here it’s quiet and peaceful listening to the gurgle of the small brook, the variety of birds singing their song, while the wind blows through the nestled trees and grasses. The wild purple, white and yellow flowers bloom along the bank of the rocky stream. Its water flowing towards the Thames. Crossing the small wooden bridge that encompasses the stream, the base of the Sarnia bridge is just ahead. The thick limestone pillars and dark metal grey rusted with time looms tall and foreboding. The expanse of it crosses over the Thames River, the old railway bridge used to be part of the Grand Trunk Railway, carrying cargo by rail to Sarnia. Now it’s part of the Grand Trunk Trail. This bridge was constructed in 1858 and was described at the time as being “the greatest ornament in engineering to any town in Canada West.” It has become a landmark to my town. At the base of the hill that takes you up to the bridge there are stairs made from old railway ties, gravel and dirt cut into the side of the steep embankment. The stairs are deep and more than a step-in depth to walk up them. I prefer to climb the gravel and dirt path that bikes have grooved and shaped along the stairway. With the climb in front of me and each step I take bringing me closer to the top, I can look down and see over the treetops and make out “the flats” in the distance. Once at the top of the hill, with my breath coming out in steady puffs and my heart beating a steady beat, I take a moment to look around. Every time I come here it is never the same. The changing weather brings about cloudy or clear skies, heavy winds or a steady breeze. Today its calm, with only a warm breeze, just enough to keep it pleasant feeling in the hot sun rising over the trees. At the top of the hill I always look for the painted rocks along the path that ones have been leaving to bring encouragement for people to remain strong and to be kind to one another. One rock I find amusing is one that has a painted picture of a train and the quote “I think I can, I think I can” as you make your way up the hill. Other quotes that hang from the trees that say, “Be kind to yourself.” I find this one to the most inspirational to me as it has been said to me by someone else quite regularly as of late and is a simple reminder to me when I see it. The bridge has been laid with wood planks and black steel railings. Along the edge of each plank is a remembrance plaque for loved ones who have passed away. I stop and read these and think about all the people who have lived to reach old age or some who have died young. Each side of the railing holds memories for loved ones who are left behind to mourn their loss with only their name and date as a reminder. Looking out over the Thames I can see the downtown where cars are driving and people busily getting on with their day. The sun is just now touching the top of the tress casting shadows and rays of light across the water. Below the sound of geese cry out; echoing across the water sounding as though someone is blowing on a party favour. Gulls are flying in the sky, while families of duck’s swim along the waters edge. Its one of my favourite spots to be in my town. The wind whips along, causing a cool breeze that brings relief to the heat of the morning. People are walking past me saying their hellos. Some stopping to take in the view of the water below and the fields in the distance on the other side of the railing. As I make my way along the wooden path, ahead of me the trees curl in overhead forming a cocoon. You feel as though your traveling into a cavern formed from the overhanging branches. My walk along the trail is nearly coming to an end. I started this journey in the early days of spring when it was still cold and windy; the feel of winter was still in the air. It is now nearing the end of July and I was able to see the changes in the seasons progress each day. The start of spring with its new foliage on the trees, spring flowers coming to life after being in a deep sleep over the cold months. Birds returning home after flying a great distance. The change in the lighting and the position of the sun as the seasons advanced. People who were once bundled up in hats, heavy coats and scarves, gave way to lighter clothing has it grew warmer. The nicer weather also drew out more people on the trail as the days grew longer and the light of day became more prominent each morning earlier and earlier. As my walk ends; I am always grateful for my time each day I’m able to appreciate spending time walking my town. If it hadn’t been for the pandemic and being laid off from work for the past few months, I would not have had the opportunity to spend the time amongst the people and getting to know my community. This moment in time has given me the freedom to pursue my love of photography and writing. I will always be grateful for this time because it is truly a once in a lifetime experience.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Sheri Lee

I am an avid photographer and writer who enjoys spending time taking photos and writing about my surroundings.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.