Wander logo

My Top 3 Favorite RV Parks in Northern Florida

...and the Top 3 that I want to camp at next!

By Crystal A. WolfePublished 2 years ago 6 min read
3
Photo by Ali Kazal on Unsplash

If you've been following me, we sold our 43' Toy Hauler, which is affectionately named Big Perm. We've loved Perm, but we decided that we want to live even more minimally. As a result, we headed to Port St. Lucie, Florida, where we purchased our next RV, Large Marge.

As part of OPERATION: SHITTER's FULL: PART DEUX, we decided to get to know Marge better by taking our time driving home. So, we made a few overnight stops for a quasi-vacation.

Doing this RV lifestyle for more than a year, I've been able to stop at various parks in the northern part of Florida. Some have been 'meh,' while others I'd 100% return to again! Here are the ones that made my Top 3 Northern Florida RV Sites to Visit:

Twin Lakes RV Resort - Defuniak Springs, FL

Image captured by the author

I ended up finding this RV resort by accident. In 2020, we battled against a record hurricane season. Our world was rocked by Hurricane Sally and some other storms before and after. Toward the end of the season, we were facing Hurricane Zeta. Feeling like we were in the fourth round of a boxing match, we tucked our tails and left. Fortunately, we had just bought Big Perm, and it would be good practice to get to know her with this evacuation.

Firing up the laptop, I called RV park after RV park to squeeze into any available spot to escape the foul weather inbound. They were all booked, except for one: Twin Lakes RV Resort.

The reviews are amazing! However, I could not help but wonder:

How is this available?

The pictures make it look like a tranquil paradise. Are these photo-shopped?

What's the catch?

Considering the circumstances, I decided to book and then ask questions later.

Escaping at the last minute, we arrived at Twin Lakes RV Resort. Unfortunately, we arrived after sunset, so I didn't get a chance to see it until the following day. However, after the storm passed, I walked outside with my cup of coffee, and my jaw dropped.

It. Was. GORGEOUS.

Looking around, no matter what RV site I was at, I had an enormous view of one of the lakes (hence the name).

Not only did I have a waterfront view, but I was by the fishing pier with an automatic fish feeder and got to see the fish frenzy each morning when it was time for breakfast.

Walking around the RV park, I looked at all of the sites. To my surprise, no matter what place you park, you're guaranteed to have a view of at least one lake, if not both! My zen was fully activated, and I was utterly at peace. I recall the only time my anxiety went up a bit was when I got too close to the bank and saw the sign warning about the gators.

Image captured by the author

Thanks to Twin Lakes RV Park, this is the place where I'm happy to evacuate from a hurricane at any time.

Emerald Coast RV Resort - Panama City, FL

Photo by cottonbro: https://www.pexels.com/photo/people-standing-on-beach-during-sunset-4430322/

When I think of Panama City, Florida, a few things come to mind:

  • Partying
  • Tourists
  • Traffic

After living there for almost two years, I'd like to think I'm not that far off that assumption, especially during Summer and Spring Break.

Feeling like we needed to get away for a long weekend, we found ourselves in Florida's big bend. Needing a pit stop, we decided to stop in a familiar area for us. To our surprise, Emerald Coast RV Resort was within biking distance from where we used to live!

Initially, I was not happy about our choice of RV park. It was in the heart of everything, Big Perm isn't a tiny RV to maneuver, and I had a feeling that we would be kept up at night by drunken tourists. However, I'm humble enough to admit I was 100% wrong.

Were we in the heart of Panama City Beach, Florida? Yes, but that's the beauty of it. I couldn't tell!

As for Big Perm's big booty, we had zero problems backing her into our RV site.

Lastly, I didn't see nor hear a single drunk tourist for the four days we set up camp. Instead, I woke up to the sound of monkeys and jungle music (literally) on the other side of the fence from our RV because it butted against the ZooWorld Zoological Park. If I were to stand on a step-stool, I would be able to see the bird cage on the other side filled with parrots, macaws, and parakeets.

In a way, it felt like my own backyard safari.

Traveler's Campground - Alachua, FL

Image captured by the author at Traveler's Campground, Alachua, FL

Similar to the Emerald Coast RV Resort, this also felt like my own safari, and it was in many ways!

This park is off the beaten path (while still being accessible to I-75), and it's also an animal sanctuary. In fact, part of my RV site rent goes directly to the care and feeding of the animals that need to be rescued or rehomed.

Trying to stay inside my #1 RV Travel Rule: Arrive before sunset, the hubs and I were able to set up our RV camp in plenty of time. To my surprise, I had plenty of daylight left to see some of the animals.

At Traveler's Campground, I saw burros, emus, silkies, horses, goats, pigs, and bulls.

Although it felt more like a farm than a safari, it makes my heart swell knowing that I'm contributing to the well-being of animals who need a home. As a result, you can count on my return here again if I am ever passing through.

There are still so many sites that I still want to stop at, and I hope I can soon. To help narrow my RV Bucket List down, here are the "Top 3 RV Campsites I Want to Visit Next in Northern Florida."

Sunny Sands RV Resort - Pierson, FL

Photo by Adam Kontor from Pexels: https://www.pexels.com/photo/woman-wearing-teal-bikini-standing-near-shore-946033/

A nudist RV camp?! First of all, I didn't know that such a thing existed. However, after doing some Google searching, there are a lot of "clothing optional" RV parks in Florida. However, this one appears to be the most appealing and has some great reviews. Being close to Orlando and Ocala National Forest is also a plus in my book!

As a girl who hates wearing pants and learned how to rip her diaper off, skipped the crawling phase and went straight to streaking in the front yard before age 2, I'd say this is right up my alley.

Florida Caverns State Park - Marianna, FL

Photo by Jed Owen on Unsplash

To get away from the hustle and bustle of life, I think these underground caverns will be precisely what I'm looking for, especially if I need another evacuation site in the middle of summer. Instead of booking an expensive flight north, I think the next best option is to do a trek in these chilly 38 million-year-old underground caverns is what I'll need.

Ginnie Springs - High Springs, FL

Not only is Ginnie Springs one of the most beautiful freshwater springs in Florida, but you are less than one hour away from Manatee Springs that you are insanely accessible to different types of adventures.

To do these springs justice, I need to point you to this YouTube post that captures the beauty of both springs!

Do you have any recommendations on where to stay in Northern Florida or around the Panhandle? If so, let me know in the comments!

~ Like what you read? Sending me a tip below helps contribute to my next adventure! ~

america
3

About the Creator

Crystal A. Wolfe

Blogger | Creative Writer | Traveler | Full-Time RVer

You can find all of my articles on my blog as well on Medium where I'm most active in Humor, Lifestyle, and Travel. I've self-published one fantasy fiction with the sequel in the works.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Excellent RV traveling story. Lived in Panama City Flordia for three years. After reading, the RV life style sounds appealing.😊💖💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.