Wander logo

My Review of Meow Wolf: Santa Fe

The trippiest place to visit before you die

By Jennifer ChildersPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Throughout my life I always had this weird recurring dream where I was in an unfamiliar house and I had to climb and crawl through tight secret passages. Each passage led to another dimension. After visiting Meow Wolf in Santa Fe, New Mexico, I wondered if this was a common dream others have, much like those dreams where you're naked in public. Because this house was a physical embodiment of those dreams I have from time to time.

My knowledge of Meow Wolf started simply while researching places to visit in Santa Fe, when I traveled out there from Indianapolis to visit my boyfriend. On Google Trips, I saw it listed as a (I'm paraphrasing, as Google has since changed their sentence long synopsis of the place) "an interactive, surreal haunted house experience." I fancy myself a good scare, so I thought "Hm, interesting, I will add that to my list."

As I narrowed down my list of places to go, through more research, I realized Meow Wolf was not a haunted house--but more of an installation art exhibit. Well, that was fine too, I like art. From the Google reviews, it sounded like Meow Wolf was a great experience, so I decided to save that for the last full day of the trip. I thought it would be a good send off. Well, it was. When I stepped into Meow Wolf, I immediately knew I was in for a unique experience just from the vibe.

My expectations of the place were completely 100% subverted when I walked into the exhibit floor. This was no ordinary installation art exhibit: We were stepping into a dream.

First off, Meow Wolf is not "just" an art exhibit: It's a story. You are invited to walk through a two story house built inside the Meow Wolf building, and follow the cryptic narrative told through a series of letters, newspapers, notes, computer files, etc., detailing the sudden disappearance of a family. Snooping through strangers' cupboards and drawers is typically frowned upon behavior. However, at Meow Wolf, it is encouraged.

The attention to detail put in to making this story is astounding. The artists created full fake newspapers with clues to the family's whereabouts. They create personalities for each of the fictional family members, which are crafted realistically from props in each family members' room. There are passages in creative places such as the fireplace, the fridge, the washer, and even a crack in the wall which can be easily missed if you don't go out of your way looking for an entrance.

It's great for amateur sleuthing. It's been going on a month since I visited, and I am still thinking about the family. I want to go back so I can gather more clues and theories. What I could gather is that the father was a scientist who--from an experiment gone wrong--ripped a hole in the fabric of the universe, which caused all the multiverses to merge into their house. This would explain Meow Wolf's subtitle: House of Eternal Return.

Even if you're not interested in following the story, Meow Wolf is still an experience that simply cannot be missed. For the art lovers, simply the ambiance and the overall decoration is enough to satisfy you. For the playful people: There's a functioning arcade, a musical laser harp (yes, you read that correctly), a rib cage xylophone (again, you read that correctly), and so many weird, wacky things that you just have to see and try. It can probably be best described as a playground for all ages.

Meow Wolf has apparently developed such a cult following, that new locations are opening up in Las Vegas (later this year!) and Denver (in 2021); both with new stories that are sure to be just as immersive and unique as the original in Santa Fe.

I do not know when I will go back to Santa Fe, but when I do, I know I will be visiting Meow Wolf again. And I encourage anyone who finds themselves in or near Santa Fe to check it out as well! It is a truly unforgettable experience, and quite honestly, I can't remember the last time I had that much fun as an adult.

If you are interested in finding out more about Meow Wolf, follow the story on their website! https://meowwolf.com/

activities
Like

About the Creator

Jennifer Childers

I just write thoughts on anime, games, music, movies, or other things that are on my mind. Occasionally a poem or short story might come up.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Jennifer Childers is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.