Wander logo

My Last Time at Lakeforest Mall

I spent the final moments at Lakeforest Mall before it shut down.

By Gladys W. MuturiPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like
Lakeforest Mall, Gaithersburg, Maryland

Lake Forest Mall has been around for 45 years in the Gaithersburg area. Growing up, the mall has been the spot where me and my family would go buy lunch and dinner at the food court mostly at Texas Barb-q, or Nori Japan, and buy Xavier chicken nuggets at Mcdonalds in the food court. Sometimes the mall would is the go-to place to shop around and buy something at Hot Topic, JCPenney, or don’t buy anything because we don’t have any money. Plus the mall was the best place where I would meet my friends at even see them working at the stores.

Construction of Lakeforest Mall

A drone view of Macy's with some limited parking spots

That was until some stores have gone bankrupt causing them to shut down leaving the mall store empty especially major store chains such as Lord & Taylor, JCPenney, and Sears. Leaving Macy’s, the only major franchise store at the Lakeforest, and other leftover stores still open and some closed and vacant at the mall. Until January 2022, Lakeforest Mall has decided to shut its doors to demolish the mall to redevelop the place.

Screenshot from Patch.com

June 15, 2022 (1st time being out since the pandemic)

First time I visited the mall since the pandemic, I haven't been out of the house until 2022 everything was reopened but everyone had to wear masks stopped by Spencer's Gift (my fav other than Hot Topic which is sadly no longer there) looking around until September Spencer's Gift shut down.

Photos from the Tiktok Video

Screenshot of Tiktok

Spencer Gifts (then)

January 17, 2023

After they announced the mall was about shut down and months after my last visit, I went through Macy's and everything seems like they are preparing to pack everything, the employees were trying to sell some stuff as they could and they haven't put the signs up yet. I went inside to the bathroom next to Macy’s, went inside to use the bathroom, inside the bathroom was somewhat clean when I was washing my hands after using the commode I touched the soap dispenser no soap came out so I just wash with water but anyways I wasn't worried my friends barely comes to Lakeforest. I tried to take some shots and video shots from my vlog until my phone died I didn’t bring my charger so I had to leave to get my phone charged.

The bathroom next to Macy's

February 22, 2023

First, I went to the library next door to where I live to print out some scripts then I decide to go to the mall this time I came when it opened at 11. In January, I came early at 10 am because usually, the mall used to opens at 10 or 10:30 as it used to be. While I was outside, I noticed two FedEx trucks outside of the food court I didn't know why they were outside. So I went inside to find out why.

Two FedEx trucks were outside of Lakeforest

When I got inside, Charley's was gone leaving Cajun Grill and Nori Japan at the food court the only restaurants left open. I saw Champs everything was all packed up and empty which explains why all the FedEx trucks were there.

Kind of blurry Champs

At the Time Zone Arcade, they’re were a few arcade games they’re not really that many.

Where Finish Line used to be
The Ceiling of the mall

The play area (my son used to play there when he was 1)

Lakeforest Mall Play area during the 2000s ( me and my siblings used to play over there when we were kids)

March 7, 2023 (my final time at the mall)

The mall was quiet that day, Nori Japan was open but they put up a sign that they are relocating next door to H Mart and another store Photo Fever studio relocating to Francis Scott Key Mall located in Frederick, Maryland. I went into the elevator one last time for a final elevator ride at the mall went to the hallway where Chick fil a used to be until it was shut down and then transition to a House of Kabob restaurant then it closed down since nobody goes over there. I saw there was all say and this other place for like cars in this mini store that I’ve never seen before so I didn’t care to go in there.

Inside the Time Zone arcade

House of Kabob replaced by Chick-fil-a closed

My last stop was at Best Medicine Rx theatre company which showed the poster for their final show at the theatre then Macy's showed everything was clear and most of the merch are moved aside even in the upper-level same thing. After that, I never got

The other stores I never checked out at

Best Medicine Rx Theatre

The final showing of In the Gutter at the Mall

Macy's closing

Inside the Macy's store
Me in a mask next to the empty Gussini store and Clarie's

Exit through the closed Ruby Tuesday to take my final glance at the LakeForest Mall.

The Future of Lakeforest?

Since Lakeforest is shutting down at the end of March, what is the next step? According to the WTOP News, a proposal for the mall includes 1.2 million square feet of employment, commercial, affordable housing, recreation center, and retail space, 1,600 dwelling units, green space, a new transit center, and an outdoor entertainment district. However, it is currently not certain whether the mall would be demolished; should redevelopment plans be rejected, there is a small possibility that the mall building itself could be repurposed so I have read. So who knows I was hoping maybe they will rebuild just like the Wheaton mall or possibly the outlet mall. Or better yet it'll be just like the White Flint Mall after it was demolished in 20 leaving it as an abandoned grassland area.

White Flint Mall (then)

White Flint Mall (now)

My vlog at the Lakeforest Mall (YouTube: gladys_muturi) BTW this is my first vlog.

So long Lake Forest Mall! Thanks for the memories!!!

Peace out ✌️ Lakeforest Mall

americasolo travelpop culturefemale travel
Like

About the Creator

Gladys W. Muturi

Hello, My name is Gladys W. Muturi. I am an Actress, Writer, Filmmaker, Producer, and Mother of 1.

Instagram: @gladys_muturi95

Twitter: @gladys_muturi

Facebook: facebook.com/gladystheactress

YouTube: @gladys_muturi

patreon.com/gwmuturi

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.