Wander logo

My last "normal" picture

the last before lockdown

By Lena BaileyPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2

A few days ago I got an email from vocal about one of their weekly challenges they're doing during covid 19. The challenge was to write about the last photo we took before the lock down. My last picture was from my trip to chateau Elan which you can see above.

I'm from Georgia and as you may or may not know Georgia was one of the last states to shutdown and one of the first to allow certain businesses to reopen. Before this I was planning a trip to Chateau Elan which is a resort in Georgia a hour outside of Atlanta. It has a winery, spa and a few other things on the property. This planning started last year before covid 19 was even a thought here in America. So I booked everything in January or February. The trip was to be in March, close to the end of the month. Little did I know what was about to happen. I don't think any of us knew what was about to happen.

So around the time I was supposed to leave for my trip we had around 200 or 300 cases of the virus in Georgia. People really weren't worried about me going except my grandma. She was worried that I wouldn't be able to go. I decided to go and enjoy myself. I did go by myself because it was a trip to relax.

While I was there I ate, drank wine, walked around, swam and enjoyed the spa. I love their property and wine. It's one of the most calming places in the world. One of my favorite places on the property is among the vines especially when the leaves and grapes are on the vines. They have a few sections on the property that has rows of vines. I think most of the vines are muscadine. My favorite wines they do are the ones with flavors and the muscadine wines.

On the day I had to check out I was packing up and then going around the property taking pictures. I took most of the pictures near the vines. When I was walking back to the inn I took the last normal picture I took before the total shutdown. I saw this beautiful tree (I think it was a cherry tree) so I stopped right where I was and snapped a photo. I didn't want to get any closer because I was afraid any picture I took closer wouldn't capture the full size and beauty of the tree. There was also flowers around the front of the inn and the tree. The area so bright and full of color (and sunlight).

When I look at it now it makes me want to go back to Chateau Elan which I think I will do eventually. I just have to save up and plan for it. Chateau Elan is now open with some restrictions. The picture also makes me feel calm and at peace. I think Chateau Elan will be my go to place. I am actually also planning on taking my ghost hunting gear to see if it's haunted. If one day I live closer in I may not stay at the inn but I may eat at the bars/ restaurants, go to the winery and the spa. They have awesome restaurants.

Next time I go I want to drink more wine, eat different things and get different spa treatments. I also want to go when the grapes are in bloom. I may also want to be more social so I want to go when it's busier. I love talking to people and being social.

america
2

About the Creator

Lena Bailey

Georgia born writer. Specializing in dating and true crime

If you have any questions or comments please email [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.