Wander logo

My heart resides in Whistler, BC

13,000 kilometres away

By Erin ThomsonPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
5

If you've ever been or listened in awe to someone recounting their vacation there, it won't be too difficult to imagine why Whistler became my hometown in my mind and the deep recesses of my heart. This, despite it geographically sitting at least 13,000 kilometres from where I actually grew up.

At 29, I knew I had to live overseas at least once and the age restriction on every working holiday visa application was creeping up on me. So, I packed my bags and said a teary goodbye to my friends and family in Melbourne, Australia. I wasn't so specific as to choose Whistler as my destination right there and then; heck I had never even stepped foot in a pair of skis or a snowboard before. Yeah, I was as fresh as they come.

I arrived in rainy Vancouver in February 2012, and was really starting to question whether apart from the accent I had flown a long way to be somewhere very similar to Melbourne. That was until a few days later when I arrived in the heavily snowed-on town of Whistler and I felt like I'd stepped right into a snowglobe. I remember looking all around me at the snowcapped roofs and feeling a tenderness mixed with excitement in my heart, knowing I was where I was meant to be.

Buildings and trees capped with snow are a vibe.
You can stand within your very own snowglobe.

As I walked through this winter wonderland, the village I saw before me was so quaint and it seemed every building, even their bus shelters, were rustic and wooden underneath all that snow. The details that spoke to me were a recognition of how different this place I found myself in was from where I'd come from. You better believe I was there to stay! If I had to work at an ice cream shop getting paid $10 per hour, I was staying (I was a proud 'ice cream technician' for at least 2 days).

I had found my winter wonderland alright.

What I soon found out was that Whistler's charm is as much about its people as it is about its beautiful mountains and ski village chic. From sitting alone in a bar minding your own business and getting greeted by a big group of loud skiers once strangers who soon become your friends, to listening to stories of Whistler from years gone by told by quirky taxi drivers; this is the essence of Whistler.

It became pretty clear to me that if the 'Sorry!' trope hadn't already sent this message to the whole world, Canadians were without a doubt the nicest people on this planet. It's one of the big reasons why as of January 2020 I am proud AF to tell anyone who'll listen how I am officially Canadian; other than the fact they, er scratch that, we, have the most dope landscape and playground in the world.

I've never been to another ski village, so I can't really compare. However, from people I have spoken to they say what sets Whistler above the rest (apart from having the most skiable terrain in North America) is the breadth of activities to choose from and the sense of community; and those are things I can vouch for.

An activity for almost any mood and certainly any season

If skiing, snowboarding, mountain biking or hiking are not for you; there is yoga, several gyms, a climbing wall, skate park, lakes to swim in or skate on, escape rooms, golf courses, axe throwing, breweries, horse riding, an incredible spa facility, art classes, ziplining - and the list really does continue. Community-organised events such as yoga and ride the mountain days (a chance to meet new people to ski or snowboard with), clothes swaps, and trail running groups that cost nothing to join are the cherry on top for me.

My all-time favourite thing about my sweet hometown? Snowboarding into my work which happened to be located halfway up the mountain. I mean, in what world?! Now, obviously, this won't be the experience for everyone, however still highly probable when you visit or live in Whistler. Second to that, is the vibrance of the village stroll (the main path for general meandering which connects you with restaurants, hotels, retail shops and those mountains). At all times throughout the year, the stroll is home to street performers, symphony orchestras, live concerts, buskers, and festivals large and small.

Annual Canada Day Parade

The age-old question is 'so, do you prefer summer or winter' in Whistler. When I first arrived, I fell so madly in love with the snowglobe life that winter was hands-down my favourite. However, as time went on and I got to know my hometown more and more, summer soon became just as popular with me as the winter. The summer hikes are jawdropping, the days are so long that you can fit that much more activity in (hello multi-sport days) and overnight adventures are that much easier.

Setting up camp by alpenglow is pretty neat.
Before the snow melts, you can hike Whistler Mountain to see the snow walls.

I'll tell you what's not unique about Whistler; Australians. I remember before I left Melbourne, my friends were saying 'oh, you'll get a job so easily... they are going to LOVE your cute accent'. Oh sweet, darling friends. In a place often nicknamed as 'Whistralia', my nationality was actually more common than Canadian-born residents and my fellow countrymen had worked up quite the reputation for the rest of us (much appreciated). Thankfully, Canadians are willing to give anyone a go and I stayed well past the 2 years I had originally planned as a result.

Do you know what? After 6 years living in this challenging yet rewarding corner of the globe I never once got used to the stunning mountain views as I waited for a bus, or drove along the Sea to Sky Highway to Squamish or Vancouver (an attraction in its own right). Riding my bike along pathways and looking out into my backyard that I shared with local black bears didn't become normal either, but it sure made things interesting.

It's now been 1,225 days since I moved away from my hometown and you can bet I'm counting down the days till I return to live there once more.

canada
5

About the Creator

Erin Thomson

word lover, thought thinker, storyteller, wanderer, seeker of stars and sunsets and all the layers ~ hopelessly full of wonder

for more musings courtesy of me, come hang with me at instagram or my soon to be more active blog

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.