Wander logo

My Golden Buzzer

A literary first; blending the spoken and written word

By Wolf SpiritPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
2
Wolf Spirit with Maggie & Jenny

All the words are jumbled in my mind ready to be made into some kind of sense. Funny, now that I think of it last night everything seemed so clear and each word flowed, as if by magic from my mind through my fingertips, effortlessly, as if I were looking through someone elses' eyes. That best version of myself, the storyteller and the author combined.

While being in the roll of the storyteller there is no worry of grammatical errors and punctuation, as I am relating my personal experiences in my French Canadien accent, and describing each detail with facial expressions, and movements of my hands. Painting a magical picture for my audience.

These same adventures and wildlife encounters fill countless pages and files on my personal computer and rarely come to light unless I share them through a self-published book with photographs, sketches, and even a few excerpts from my personal journal.

Then suddenly a thought strikes me like a blow from left field, what if I could combine the two and give the reader a whole new perspective of both the visual and written word. Some unique version of combining the visual senses with the imagination. A blending of both worlds. But how would this be possible, I thought.

We already know that a reader uses his/her imagination to form a picture in their minds from the descriptive words the author writes. I normally think outside the box. Okay, I said. So, how could it happen, as one is spoken and the other written. I needed someway to make the storytelling magic of the visual, transform into the written word.

We all know that each person has an imagination and some people use it more than others, but how many people are able to visualize me standing there or sitting on a chair by the campfire relating my latest adventure and seeing my visual expressions. Good question.

That is when I thought of the picture posted at the beginning of the story and how I looked, and dressed, and my mannerisms. I was already known as a character one that if you ever got the chance you should meet.

I am rather a tall fellow standing at six foot one, fit, and healthy with hazel eyes and usually sporting a brushcut and handlebar moustache. Dressed in blue denim jeans and a purple or green Levi button down shirt. My trademark is the Australian, outback, flat brimmed hat and depending on the time of year usually wearing that same brown, courdroy, fleeced jacket.

Evenings I would saunter on down to where guests stayed in the rustic cabins. Pull up a chair and plunk my derriere down. Then sweep my eyes over the group of fishermen, and as plain as day just begin with the day I quite literally bumped into the three grizzly bears. At the mention of grizzlies all eyes generally focused on me and my next words. I would let those words sink in for a minute or two while I listened to the campfire crackle. I rubbed my calloused hands together then spread them wide again feeling the heat from the flames.

The mood was set.

That particular morning I had a hellva time to pull on my boots. Damn, I thought then saying to myself getting older Nick not twenty-four anymore. I stood up and stomped my feet to make sure the fit was snug. I took a few steps then felt a foreign object prick me. Off came my right boot and sock as I began to search for the culprit. Ah, there a piece of a pine needle had become lodged. One, two, three alrighty now that feels more comfortable as I reached for my favorite fleece pullover.

Maggie my English black lab with her velvetty coat and Jenny a husky mix were a little too excited as they brushed up against my legs and nearly caused a fall. 'Okay already' I said a tad perturbed. I swung my camera case over my left shoulder and was about to step out the door when I heard Jenny's woo woo . Ah, girl here we go.

Sitting at the campfire I called Maggie to my side and patted her head while I said, Hey guys, I think that day was the first week of June 2014. I can remember the lake ice had just thawed the week before. Then raised my can of 7-up and took a sip lubricating my parched throat before continuing on.

The moment the door opened Jenny squeezed out and raced across the yard while Maggie crippled with arthritis walked slowly behind me. I was about a dozen paces from my cabin when I dropped a hand to my right hip and felt my sheathed knife. Ah, I fealt reasured as I headed down the hill and across the old wooden bridge.

I inhaled deeply feeling the cool mountain air fill my lungs and exhaled slowly. Then listened as a red poll sang in the bushes to my left welcoming the coming day. The only other sound was from my boots as they crunched along the gravel section just before the wood-fired sauna.

The trail I had chosen that day was between rustic cabins three and four. From there I crossed an open space and headed uphill. Once at the top I stood there for a few minutes looking out over the lake as I waited for Maggie to catch up. Bless her heart she needed to stop evey now and again to sniff some interesting scent along the trail. Ah, there you are I suddenly exclaimed, as she ambled along in her stiff-legged gait. Jenny was who knows where doing what she loved most tracking a rabbit or a moose.

Both Maggie and I began to follow the trail that led up through the woods. The first thing I noticed was that the last bits of snow had finally melted away and that the earthy scents were beginning to filter through my senses. I heard something in the distance and cocked my head sideways trying to listen intently to the sound. It was like a whisper in the treetops then I felt the cool breeze touch my cheek. Wow, I thought. That invisible breath made my entire being feel alive, as every sense intensified.

There just up ahead of us and slightly to the left was a spruce tree, but not your average tree at all. For some reason this tree had grown sideways at about a foot off the ground. I was happy to see the spruce had faired well after the long snowy winter. The tree was lush and green with new growth and it reminded me that beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

Further along the trail I needed to step over a series of fallen trees then turn around and break off branches so that Maggie could squeeze underneath. It seemed like quite a chore at the time, but it was all part of our adventure that day. About twenty feet further along, the trail dipped where a seep of water from the melting snows remained just enough to offer Maggie a much needed drink. From there the trail was but a short distance uphill to the forestry road.

I looked left and just caught a glimpse, as Jenny bounded across the road and disappeared on the other side. Both Maggie and myself turned right and began to follow the forestry road. Nothing seemed out of the ordinary until we rounded a bend in the road and the sunrise blinded me. I stood stock still and cocked my head sideways. Then raised my right hand to my forehead to block the sun and peered ahead. There was something in the road ahead, but for the life of me I could not figure it out. Then off to the left I heard Jenny barking furiously. Oh damn, I thought she had encountered either a moose or a bear for that was the only time she would bark.

Just then Maggie cowered between my legs and began to bark, as well. I remember saying, What is it girl? Then began to shuffle my feet and move the two of us under the shade of the pine trees so I could see what, if anything was in the middle of the road. Omg, my mouth dropped open as I stared at three grizzly bears. Two things registered on my mind. One was that I was way to close and what would I do if I were charged.

Maggie trembled between my legs and continued to bark. Hush girl, I said. All her barking was aggravating the sow grizzly which now stood on her hind paws and huffed. A clear indication that I was too close. I began to slowly back away never taking my eyes from the three grizzilies. My guess is I must have backed up about ten feet when the sow dropped to all fours.

Patting Maggie's head I then said we surely had an adventure that day did we not Maggie girl. Then one of the fishermen said, Come-on Nick what happened next. I look at my audience all on the edge of their seats and hesitantly begin.

A unique opportunity presented itself. What do you mean Oppportunity? Did you not just want to get the hell-out-of there pronto? Not really, I said I slowly took my Nikon camera from its case and snapped a shot then decided I should howl for Jenny to return. Omg, that was the trigger all three grizziles went into a three-point stance of defence expecting a wolf attack.

I snapped that photo just as the sow raced into the brush to my left. Now, that I think about it there was more than likely a third yearling somewhere in the brush that Jenny bless her adventuresome heart had cornered and Mom was coming to the rescue.

The two remaining yearlings continued to stare towards me then one raised up on its hind legs and huffed. I got a second and third shot with my camera before Mom reappeared and that is when I began talking with her. Calm as can be I told her, 'Can you please take your cubs and go up on the mountain so I can finish my hike'. And not a moment later she did exactly what I asked as I stood there with my mouth open and watched all three bears disappear. Not completely nuts I stayed there until I saw the bushes move further up the slope just in case either the sow or her yearlings had decided to make a meal of me.

Then the moment is gone in my mind as I continue on with my hike. Maggie shuffles and pants behind me then we see Jenny appear with a grin that could only say, wow that was fun!

I just look at the four fishermen and laugh outloud then say that is just one of the many adventures that the girls and I have had.

nature
2

About the Creator

Wolf Spirit

Wilderness adventures and wildlife encounters have given rise to more than thirty-four real-life stories during 2014-15. Over the past ten years living in solitude I have been known to the locals, as 'a character' that you should meet.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.