Wander logo

My flying experiences

From nausea to paradise my passion for aircraft's is true love

By Seni HaksPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

I'm from Melbourne Australia. I’ve always had a passion for aircraft's and flight attendants spark my fascination. I’ve been flying since a baby up to my current adulthood. It all began back when I was a child my ears would get blocked with pain from airplane ear.

After childhood I began to get nausea and vomiting from motion sickness. It felt like torture to vomit every half an hour for twenty three hours aboard!

Fortunately, after my long term delay, as soon as I got prescribed Phenergan; my vomiting was ceased. My sedative medication was a life saver! However, I still felt sick because I avoid consuming any food in those twenty three hours for my fear of vomiting again. I honestly get exhausted but its way better than vomiting every half an hour!

Traveling was always horrible for me even with my pills because as soon as I entered the plane I felt sick. As a result, it’s a weak immune system; apparently the brain sends disturbing signals to the ears. This differs from person to person not all will experience airsickness.

Anyhow I was the unlucky! But once I arrived at my certain destinations; thank god all the sickness was relieved!

I mainly traveled internationally. My domestic traveling is fewer such as:

• Broome

• Perth

• Sydney

• Cyprus

• Istanbul

• Antalya

• Dubai

• Doha

• Singapore

• Abu Dhabi

• Kuala Lumpur

The roles of a flight attendant:

A flight attendant or cabin crew’s job is to ensure the safety, security and comfort of their passenger’s journey aboard. To become a successful flight attendant, it is required to be physically fit and healthy; passing a certain height and no tattoos; for the reason that if you’re an international flyer you will spend a great amount of hours on the plane.

You must greet passengers with a warm smile, assist them to their seats and serve them meals inflight. The galley is where the food is stored. Drinking plenty of water is crucial for hydration on long haul flights. Serving coffee and tea may take a couple of hours due to turbulence.

Cabin crews must attend to security checks and the purser who is the chief; requires keeping a record of any outstanding inflight activity.

Whilst all passengers are ready to be seated, facilities like magazines, safety cards and sick bags are located in the seatback pockets. A safety demonstration is viewable on the IFE TV screen. (In-flight entertainment) before takeoff. Flight attendants may attempt this as well.

During taxi takeoff and landing, overhead lockers needs to be clearly stowed, tray tables put away, window shutters open, life jackets/vest are located under the seats. Passengers need to be remained seated in an upright position with a fastened seat belt.

Smoking in the lavatory is strictly prohibited if attempted so, the smoke detector will immediately flash. All mobile phones must be switched off or on flight mode. Once the seat belt sign is turned on, all passengers must remain seated for security purposes.

Turbulence will occur frequently. It is the shaky movement of the plane. It isn't alarming in most circumstances. It moderately elevates when passing the ocean. It is a natural and normal part of flying.

If anything, it is compulsory for flight attendants to remain calm in any crises; they’re trained to do this at all times. Failing this precaution can result in more panic for the passengers.

Becoming a flight attendant is challenging it will certainly be difficult; I reassure you this; due to a great deal of hours spent on air, jet lag, insomnia and switching accommodations; however it will also be a rewarding career!

In addition, did you know that the first airplane inventors were:

• Wright Brothers

• Victor Tatin

• Alberto Santos Dumont

• E. Lilian Todd

Aviation jobs consist of:

  • Aircraft engineer

• The captain (pilot)

• Flight attendants (cabin crew)

• Purser (chief)

• Airport customer service

• Airport security officer

• Airline baggage handler

• Air traffic controller

The function parts of aircraft's:

• Fuselage

• Wings

• Empennage

• Power Plant

• Landing Gear

Types of aircraft's:

• Airliners

• Airbus

• Boeing

• Jets

• Light aircraft's

• Helicopters

The most popular airlines:

• Emirates

• Etihad

• Qatar

• Qantas

• American Airlines

• British Airways

• Air Canada

• China Airlines

The four accommodation classes:

• First class

• Business class

• Premium economy

• Economy class

From time to time, when I miss flying, I gaze at my Qantas model airplane and watch trip reports on YouTube but I am sure my traveling journey will not cease here; there will be multiple memories more to come!

Above and beyond all other consideration, I will never quit my flying experience; like I said, my passion for aviation is true love and will never fade away!

I hope you now have some background knowledge about the aviation industry; if you’re determined in joining an airline crew for a career; please do not defer; chase your dream!

Happy flying!

Seni Haks

travel advice
Like

About the Creator

Seni Haks

I'm Seni I'm a former copywriter and currently a published freelance journalist. My hobbies to the side is dancing and drawing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.