Wander logo

My Dream Vacation

Steeped in History

By Katie JohnsPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
(Skyline of Charleston's historic district; Image from Google)

My dream vacation is a combination of anywhere with a nice beach, and some culture to immerse myself in. My answer may seem simple, though the reasons to my answer are personally deep.

My father was in the Navy early in my lifetime, so I spent at least five years of my life living on the east coast, and playing on the beach. Over twenty years later, my family still chooses coastal getaways for vacation destinations. Even if I had to choose myself, I'd still choose a summer beach because I can't imagine many other places to spend a vacation.

As to the cultural aspects, Charleston, South Carolina is my family's favorite destination. It is a significant place to both U.S. History as well as my own. My parents and I even lived there when the Navy base was still active, and we still visit any chance we can take. You can find us visiting the many local shops along King Street and Market Street, perusing the City Market and Farmer's Market when its in season, and then eating at any of our favorite places, including and not limited to Hyman's Seafood Co., and Wild Wing Cafe. All the while, we step among antiquity on cobblestone walks of a city established as one of the thirteen colonies, past centuries old churches and buildings, and through what was once an old beef market.

As a creature of habit, my ideal vacation could be Charleston, South Carolina, but I think I could go anywhere if my simple criteria is met and if the means were had. Wanderlust is good for both the soul, and the blogger/journalist. Exploration and discovery sent our ancestors all over the globe, and they would've communicated what they learned to survive and thrive within new territory. Today's travel blogs and publications aren't too far removed from that, when you think about it. Writers in that niche have likewise learned some ins-and-outs of territories we haven't yet charted ourselves. If you haven't been to Charleston, South Carolina, then you now know from a former resident and long-time visitor a few places to shop and eat by the time you've read this, and this was more of a narrative than exposition. But in short, travel can connect us to our heritage in one way or another.

So, where else would I go?

Savannah, Georgia- Home to one of the largest historical landmark districts in the country, and immersive trolley tours with Old Savannah Tours leading the way to many of them! Tybee Island includes South Beach as well as museums focusing on local history and a marine science center.

Yorktown, Virginia- Yorktown is home to Virginia Beach and Revolutionary war history, featuring reenactments of the Continental Army camps and the British surrender to George Washington in 1781.

Pensacola, Florida- One of the first European settlements in the “New World”, and governed by five different municipalities throughout its five hundred, culture and heritage is much preserved through forts, museums, and even archaeology. Nearby beaches are on the Gulf of Mexico.

London, England- From Shakespeare to the castles and palaces to a settlement of the Roman Empire, there is no place richer for exploring culture and history, and yes, beaches are close too!

Coney Island, New York- Coney Island was one of the earliest amusement parks in the United States. This Brooklyn-based destination has endured and adapted for over two centuries with idylic summertime icons like the beach, the boardwalk, and even baseball. Coney Island can even be visited year-around.

Sources:

Cheapism.com

secretldn.com

Coneyislandfunguide.com

Oldsavannahtours.com

Visitpensacola.com

family travel

About the Creator

Katie Johns

Random blogger and published short story writer-

https://kjohns323.wixsite.com/kjswritersblock/portfolio

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Katie JohnsWritten by Katie Johns

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.