Wander logo

My Dream City, My Lahore

A city of dream and love

By senya abdulrehmanPublished about a year ago 3 min read
7
Lahore

Today I am going to pen my thoughts on something that is very close to my heart, actually, it is a part of my heart, the city I was born and brought up in "Lahore". It is quite difficult to describe the beauty and wholesomeness of this city as words can't do justice to describe the typical vibe of Lahore. It is natural to feel connected to a city you are born in, but I think Lahore is a lot more than just that for me.

Before telling the lovable places in walled Lahore let me briefly describe the history of Lahore. It is a city with rich history that spans back over a thousand years. it is not wrong to say that Lahore has been inhabited since ever, the evidence show the human activity in Lahore since Paleolithic era.

In the very start it was ruled by various Hindu rajas. In 11th century it came under Ghaznavid control followed by Ghouri dynasty in 12th century. Lahore achieved its zenith during Mughal Empire which ruled for centuries in India. Lahore was made the capital of Punjab and was known as "Pearl of Punjab". The Mughals adorned the city with iconic landmarks like Badshahi Mosque, Shalimar Garden and Lahore Fort.

Sikhs ruled Lahore after the Mughals and took various steps towards the developmental projects in Lahore including the construction of Gurdwara Dera Sahib and Sikh Fort. In the mid '80s Lahore came under British Empire which turned the development of Lahore towards urban development and modernization. After partition in 1947, Lahore became the heart of Pakistan and since then it has grown as an economic and vibrant cultural hub.

I suggest you all to visit Lahore once in your life to feel truly what is am describing or more precisely what I am trying to describe..lols. Lahore is famous worldwide due to its rich heritage and culture. it is one of the oldest cities of the world showcasing its history. Let me suggest you a few must-visit places in Lahore. Badshahi Mosque was built by Aurangzeb (the Mughal Emporer) in 1673 and is one of the largest mosques in the world. it reflects the beauty of Mughal architecture which has been preserved as a culture by the Mughal over the years.

Another must-visit place in Lahore is Lahore Fort which is also a UNESCO World Heritage site with domes and minarets with stunning buildings and gardens it captivates visitors with its timeless beauty. another example of Mughal architecture and creativity in Lahore is Shalimar Garden which was built in 17th century by Shah Jahan. The garden is one of the trending spots of relaxation in Lahore.

In the Walled Lahore city, another mesmerizing place is the Lahore Museum which summarizes the culture and history of Lahore in itself. It has various galleries to spellbound the tourists. One of the most crowded places in Lahore is Anarkali Bazar that provides you with the experience of local culture. It is a paradise for shopaholics where they can find traditional handicrafts, jewelry, and clothes.

I want to add another place that is my personal favorite my Alma Mater Government College University, Lahore. The place where i have spent the golden era of my life. 6 years are a lot to spend at single place but this gothic lady made them feel like a blink. I still yearn the years I spent my 6 years in. This place gave me the best people of my life, my friends i would love to mention Mahnoor and Saba both are very close to me. So i don't want to be more emotional hence i need to wrap these thoughts up... See you all in the next story. Till then eat and sleep tight.

asia
7

About the Creator

senya abdulrehman

"Creating magic with words, one page at a time"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.