Wander logo

My American dream in real life

How one trip to the big apple led to a dream to live in the US and the harsh reality checks that come with it.

By Rebecca Published 4 years ago 6 min read
2
Sunrise skyline - home - Bushwick, Brooklyn

8 years ago, at 26, I had not even thought about living anywhere else other than London and now I'm sat writing this on a beautiful sunny day, on my balcony in Bushwick looking at the Manhattan skyline.

Some days I still can't believe that this is the view from my apartment. Coming over the Williamsburg bridge into Manhattan on the subway, seeing the city get closer. Facebook memories of trips to New York for summer festivals and wishing that I didn't have to go home and now this is home.

I first visited New York, on a family holiday, back in March 2012. Despite having studied fashion and working in the industry, I hadn't visited the US. Walking around, ticking off tourist attractions, everything was bigger and better (and not just the food portions), I just kept thinking to myself "I want to live here, I work to work here, I have to do it somehow". A second visit later that year with friends gave me a different outlook on the city and fuelled the need to be in New York even more. Throw in trips to Governors Ball music festival and pretending to live in Williamsburg for a few days added more fuel to the fire.

I've now been in the US for almost 6 years, which is crazy, I didn't think I was going to make it past 6 months when I first moved here. The first opportunity to come to the US took me to Philadelphia for 3 years, close enough to New York I thought, all went will till I was unexpectedly laid off. I didn't want to leave, I worked too hard to get where I was and was not ready to come back to London. After a lot of no's, a new opportunity worked out that took me to the city I had really wanted to be in, New York. Almost 3 years of living in Brooklyn, working in Soho and another curve ball being thrown, once again I've been challenged with what to do/ where to go next

So here is a few things that, if you're thinking/wanting/going to move, that I didn't have a heads up on.

Bushwick, Brooklyn, May 2020

Biggest hurdle in moving to America - the Visa.

Trying to find a company in the US, from my personal experience, that will sponsor a work visa is tough! Filling in job applications, the same, similar worded, questions appear "would you be legally eligible to begin employment immediately" "Do you need, or will you need in the future, any immigration-related support or sponsorship".

Some applications are instantly rejected based on not having a visa and majority will come back with the "thanks but no thanks" standard email. No company makes it clear if they are willing to sponsor visas so its pot luck unless you've a insider able to give you insight.

I've been really fortunate, in that after many applications, I found companies that were willing to sponsor the visa and I'm some what a little more clued up on who do and don't sponsor.

Preparation is key when/ if you find someone who is willing to sponsor. Having your portfolio together, references on hand and a lot of patience is what I've found. It's not a quick process, for the two visa's I've had it's taken 4-5 months from application, interviews, approvals and getting passport stamped.

Advice: Patience, patience, patience.

Setting up a new life

Sure, sounds easy right? So many things that when I moved I had no idea I'd have to do, set up, start again and with little to no help or even understanding.

Healthcare in the US, I can't even start or even still fully understand! Try to get someone within HR (if they have someone who can help) to explain what is it, what's covered and what you have to pay for out of your own pocket. Social security - kind of like the UK's National Insurance number (don't quote me on that) - pretty easy to set up out of everything I had to do.

New phone contract, finding some where to live, bill set ups - all requiring credit checks - hard when you've not lived in a country and to them you basically don't exist so now you've deposits left, right and center to take care of. Luckily moving to New York I had very little to do when it came to this having done all this in Philly.

Advice: Make sure you've money aside that you're OK to not see for least a year or so!

Winter in Philly, 2016

New life, new job, new city - no family or friends

This is something I really hadn't prepared myself for and still get in my feelings about, having had to do it twice over in 6 years.

When I moved to Philly, I was lucky enough to be put up in a hotel for the first 3 months till I found somewhere to live (and have my belongings shipped over). It wasn't till the day after I landed that I realised I was alone, like alone alone! I was in a new city, new country with no-one, no friends and no family. I felt like Dora the Explorer, taking myself out, walking the city (Philly is pretty walk-able and I had been told public transport wasn't the greatest), find spots to eat solo where I didn't feel silly for being on my own but the evenings were lonely, being in a hotel /studio with a microwave / stove top.

Thanks to Craiglist, it's not for creepy people I swear, I found a room in a shared house with 3 other people. The house has become somewhat of a sorority - whoever has lived in the house has become part of the family. My closest best friends all lived in the house and we've a bond that can't be broken no matter if we live in Philly or not.

Moving to New York, once again I had to start over. Two blocks from where I lived there was a crossfit gym that I'd walk past everyday. I'd heard about crossfit and how it was very cult like (it's not) but I wanted a new challenge so signed up and well I was hooked. It took some time to get to know people (and through them their room-mates) but again I've got a small group who are amazing and are my closest best friends (a reason I don't want to leave NY).

Dating - could be a article of its own. However, as normal as it is now, I met my boyfriend on the internet (thanks Hinge). We are the yin/yang of each other and whilst quarantine has been tough, it has bought us closer and he's supported me through this challenging time.

Advice: Work is a great place to make friends but don't be afraid to put yourself out there (cliché yes). Try that yoga studio you walk past, cooking classes or even paint n sip nights. And whilst sharing a apartment or house with people may not be your ideal way of living, it's helped me meet amazing friends.

My advice to anyone wanting to move to the US, do it!

Yes I miss home, my family and friends but this is home now and whilst Drake said no new friends, the one's I've made here, my boyfriend, I can't imagine not having them in my life and am so happy that I pursued my dream to live in the US.

Governors ball 2014

travel advice
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.