Wander logo

Moving to Việt Nam during a pandemic: Chapter 2, 3 December 2021

Published weekly

By Christopher HowePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
My balcony overlooking the central bank in Ho Chi Minh City

I moved to Ho Chi Minh City - formerly known as Sai Gon, a name still widely used in the city itself - on Monday.

A week locked in a hotel room should have been long enough to sort out all the admin requirements. I acquired a SIM card, downloaded apps, and completed online declarations. I saved QR codes and plane tickets to my phone. And I made sure I was in reception half an hour before my taxi was due, at 11am, just in case there was a problem paying for my daily 'coffee latte, hot', which turned out to cost £4 each, or my nightly 'Bia Sai Gon' which cost a much more reasonable £1 each.

So, with all the declarations done and apps downloaded, arriving at the airport 90 minutes before a domestic flight should have been plenty of time. First, I queued to get into the check in line. No, I was told, my online domestic move declaration wasn't sufficient. Go to that table over there, and do it on the PC-Covid app. So I did - the content was exactly the same. Queued again. Got to the check in desk to be told my bags were overweight, and I had to go back to the service counter, pay, and then queue again. It was now 45 minutes before take off, with long security queues waiting. I'd arranged for an extra bag to be paid for in advance. No, it didn't show. Are you sure? Yes. Could you check again? Oh yes, here it is. So sorry. And then a further debate about the bag tag. Top traveller tip: If you have a bag with two handles never, ever, let them put the bag tag around both handles. Baggage handlers will typically grab one handle, resulting in the baggage tag ripping. Result - no label, lost bag. Reluctantly the check-in staff removed the label and re-attached it, this time around one handle only.

In the end I arrived at the gate with minutes to spare for the 2 hour flight south.

In Sai Gon I'd pre-ordered a transfer using Movio, which went extremely smoothly. And the supposed 30-45 minute transfer to the centre of the city - district 1 - took just 15 minutes, with the traffic exceptionally light because of the pandemic. First impressions? Lots of greenery, parks, and tree-lined wide open roads.

And then, finally, I arrived at my home for the next two months. Billed on AirBnB as 'the oldest colonial building in Sai Gon' I'm on the 4th floor - the top floor - in a remarkable 'industrial loft.' You'd think the building was derelict based on the entrance way and the stairs, but tucked away on each floor are speakeasies, vintage clothing stores, cocktail bars, cafes and even a lingerie shop. My balcony overlooks the central bank, with temperatures in winter cool enough to sit outside in the morning and evenings.

Apart from spending eleven hours in hospital on my second day with suspected appendicitis, all is well. At least I now know where the hospital is, and I've committed my health insurance number to memory.

Online shopping is the norm here, with many different providers. I'm required to quarantine 'at home' for a further week, so deliveries of baguettes and croissants, milk and coffee, and lots of fresh fruit and veg is essential. The service I've used most is called Chopp. They have 'shoppers' who buy your order in the supermarket, market, brewery, or bakery and 'choppers' who dash across town on scooters to deliver. Delivery is VND30,000 per shop per order - that's about $1.30. And they take bag their used tote bags for a credit of VND3000 per bag.

Having glimpsed Sai Gon from taxis, on the way from the airport, and to hospital in the early hours of Wednesday morning and back in the late afternoon, I'm keen to finally escape quarantine and start exploring next week.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Christopher Howe

Traveller, conservationist, and writer. I carry a coffee grinder and a Bialetti 2-cup Moka wherever I go.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.