Wander logo

Me Time Hiatus!

I needed some alone time with myself!

By Marcia O'FlynnPublished 4 years ago 4 min read

Me time Hiatus!!!!

All I want to do is get away and find myself again. I have been on a spiritual journey for quite some time and I have been trying to figure out how I was going to get some real me time! My dream is to go on a 3-6-month hiatus; no phones or social media just me, the beach, the sunset. But that is not realistic right now, so I settled for a weekend in Phoenix, AZ. My birthday weekend in April of 2020 was when I planned to take my trip. I worked hard for a year and the closer It got the more excited I got. Everything was planned, finalized, and paid for at least 2 months ahead. I told myself I would not let anything get in the way and I would not cancel on myself, I was important enough.

My first time flying, and the first solo trip was full of things to do and places to explore, but it was mainly about me spending time with myself. My flight departed from Indiana at 10 am on April 16th, with a short layover in Chicago and It would have gotten me to Phoenix, Arizona around 3 pm. I planned to have a personal driver the whole weekend, I did not want to do anything but enjoy the view. When I was due to arrive at the hotel I explore inside and out until check-in. The first night was about relaxation, so my plans; go to the store get my favorite bottle of wine and a wine glass, a portable speaker, and snacks. Plus, all the essentials I did not fly with. When I returned to the room, I put my favorite music on and start my bubble bath, and popped open the wine. After the one-hour soak and relaxation, It was time to eat. The hotel had a restaurant like setting and I ordered room service; steak well done with shrimp and garlic mashed potatoes and broccoli with a side of mixed fruit and chocolate cake for dessert. I was in heaven! For the rest of the night, I read a book, wrote in my journal, and watched movies until I fell asleep.

When I woke up the next morning, I brushed my teeth and headed to the dining area for a breakfast which seemed like it was made just for me with all my favorites. This day was about shopping and sightseeing. I planned a few tours. First was a two-hour Scottsdale Segway tour after breakfast: We stopped at the Scottsdale Stadium, Main Street Arts District, Scottsdale Civic Center, Farmers Market, and many other places. The second tour was, “A taste of old town Scottsdale food tour for lunch, where we visited 5 of their best restaurants for samples of food and drinks. After the tours, I visited Arizona Center for some shopping and more sightseeing. I had such a great time seeing the beauty of Arizona I didn’t want it to end so for dinner I headed back to Arizona Center to a restaurant called 1130 The Restaurant, and it was not a disappointment. I had the Spinach and Artichoke Dip as a starter and the Salmon and Steak Skewers as my entrée. I headed back to the room for a shower and rest and declared day 1 a success.

Day two was my birthday and I had something special planned for myself. Like normal, I had breakfast and got myself ready for my four-hour Spiritual Vortex Tours of Sedona. I was picked up and dropped off at my hotel. It was beautiful and just what I needed. I returned about five that afternoon I ordered lunch and relaxed by the pool until it was time for the extra fun birthday celebrations at the Hunk O Mania Male Strip club where I got the ultimate birthday treatment. It was a great end to my birthday.

The next day was about rejuvenation I went to the Alvadora Spa and got the Mind & Body Renewal Massages with a simple mani-pedi and a custom facial. When I finished, I visited the Phoenix Art Museum, I went to see the Grand Canyon at the IMAX theater, it was like I was there. Ended my day activities with a trip to the Scottsdale Fashion Center. I was having a lot of fun and kind of didn’t want things in the end so later that night I went to Mill Avenue for some nightlife experiences and Bar hopping, I only made it to one “The Handel Bar”. I had a great time and went back to the hotel feeling good and refreshed.

Even though I went by myself this was the best Solo trip experience ever. I chose Arizona because in 2016 I visited Tucson and fell in love with the mountains and the atmosphere. The people were so nice and welcoming I just had to go back and see what the city of Phoenix, Az was like. And I can say I was not disappointed at all.

I cannot wait to go back for a family trip and maybe one day move to Arizona. And I was relaxed and in a different space mentally and physically.

solo travel

About the Creator

Marcia O'Flynn

I decided to focus on being better and made it a priority to work on my mental health. When things got bad i told myself that; "Giving Up Is Not An Option" daily!God showed me grace and mercy through those bad times. Welcome to my Journey!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Marcia O'FlynnWritten by Marcia O'Flynn

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.