Wander logo

Martha’s Vineyard A Small And Gorgeous City In Massachusetts

Trip To Massachusetts

By David ClarxPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

My parents are the biggest motivation in my life. My entire family is the product of Harvard University. They have been telling me to join Harvard since my childhood. Both my brother and sister are pass outs of Harvard. Though I mainly was interested in music and never had plans to go to Harvard. I love playing the drums. I am also in my school band. They have supported me but always said that it was just a passion and not a career. I love my family, but I also love to play. I was the only talented kid in the family with music; my grandparents always said that I was a musical gem of the family. Most of the motivation was from them for my music.

Just before my finals, my dad planned a trip for us. He said that it was a men's trip with him, my grandfather, and my brother. He planned the entire trip and booked tickets to Martha's Vineyard in Massachusetts, about 95 miles from Harvard. I being the dumb kid, got tricked and was very excited. I got highly enthusiastic and packed my bags and all set for the vacation trip one week before. We were supposed to fly from New York to Martha's Vineyard directly.

After an eager wait, the day was here. We set out on a morning flight from John F. Kennedy Airport to directly land at Martha's Vineyard Airport. The journey was short; it took about 1 hour 10 minutes. And to be honest, the trip was so fast that we reached our destination in just a blink of an eye. The journey was very smooth and comfortable. I felt like my vacation had already started. As soon as we arrived at the airport, we directly headed to our resort. It was pretty, and our room was directly facing the mighty blue ocean. I shared the room with my grandfather. After some refreshments, my brother and I went out to the beach to have some fun while grandfather wanted some sleep and dad went out to book a car and for some work.

The beach was so pretty and quiet. I could hear the waves gushing and hitting the rocks, the birds chirping. It was the first time I was on a beach. I have never been outside of NYC, as my dad always wanted me to study and no vacations until I complete college. This was an overwhelming experience; before this day, the most exciting experience I had was with my best friend; we went skinny dipping during winters. I have always been in the city's center, no open-air or beaches or a pretty view. I just wanted to lay down on the sand and inhale the air. We enjoyed ourselves a lot on the beach till late afternoon, then we went back to our rooms. We got fresh and went out for dinner. It was a tiring day, so we came back early and dozed off.

The next day was going to be fun, we were going out sightseeing in the city. We visited most of the locations, and I was really amazed and took a lot of pictures. Some of the places that we visited were-

• Martha's Vineyard Museum.

• Mytoi Japanese garden.

• Aquinnah Cliffs.

• Edgartown Harbor Light.

It was an enjoyable day overall. My dad told me that he had a surprise for me the following day. It made me really nervous, anxious, and excited at the same time. We woke up early in the morning, got in the car, and set out on a drive. I tried to ask him, my grandfather, and my brother multiple times, no one was ready to give up. Finally, it slipped out of my grandfather that we were going to Harvard. I got really tensed and had a very heated argument. I really wanted to just take a bus or cab and just go back home. My brother talked me out and supported my saying that we were just visiting and it was ok if I say no after our visit.

After an intense talk, we all got back in the car and headed to Harvard University. I actually liked the place after my visit. I got a chance to interact with few students, and they told me that they had a really great band and play on every occasion. And to get in the band was really easy; they conduct auditions every now and then. I took my chance and walked around the corridors; my grandfather and brother told me some of their stories during their times. Then we headed back to our resort and took the next morning flight back home, which he had booked from JetBlue Airlines Reservations. My father didn't expect this from me after the colossal fight earlier, so I walked to him after a week with my application to Harvard University. It was a win-win situation for all. I was getting to play my music, and he had his heritage.

america
Like

About the Creator

David Clarx

Hi, I’m David Clarx. I love to go out of town with some new friends because I love making new connection that’s why I decide to join this site.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.