Wander logo

Los Angeles, California #1

Travel Experiences #1: Santa Monica Pier and Hollywood!

By C.J.BPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like
LAX sign

In 2018 I had my first big trip from Australia to America with my sister! And I must say, it was expensive but worth every dollar! An experience that I will never forget and will always look back on and cherish. And because I am such a movie buff, of course, I did not miss to take a photo of the giant LAX sign outside the airport while sitting in the back of my Uber ride! If you want to take the same photo, I truly hope that the photo I took provides enough details, because I was so excited about the trip that I actually had to put in the effort in focusing and waiting for the sign just so I could take the picture!

First tip: We flew from Australia to the US with American Airlines. It was a pretty good experience, they had really good staff members, I didn't mind the food and it was quite comfortable.

Second: If you really want to enjoy the trip, make sure you save more money than you think you will need. I think two weeks in America had cost us over $4,000 excluding the hotels that we booked before getting there. This budget includes, food, transport, and being able to do some tours and activities on your own (with and without tour groups)

For our first stop we went to: Santa Monica Pier

If you're after a family-friendly place to visit, this is definitely the way to go! Here's a little preview of what we did!

Just a little tip: If you're going to LA in summer, ALWAYS have water, it gets really hot! I think it was even hotter for us because we left Sydney in the middle of winter. Also apart from that 'LA heat,' that 'LA traffic' is also real! While in LA we pretty much had to Uber everywhere, and from what we were told and experienced, places that are supposed to be a 10-15 minute drive can turn into over a 30 minute drive! So, if there are places that you would like to visit, make sure that you allocate a time for travel.

The next day, we went to: Hollywood walk of fame! (Video in the third slide)

Another thing: what my sister and I experienced was that when we were in Hollywood, there were people walking around wearing costumes which looked really fun, and they do approach you in a very friendly manner. You can take a photo with them too, but if you do make sure that you have money to give them a tip! Being from Australia where people didn't really ask for tips, we were surprised by this. And now that I've mentioned money, try tp figure out how much you would spend in a day or more if you can because US money has a higher currency than most. For example, when I was there taking money out from the ATM, my $700 AUD is only $500 USD! I honestly felt like my $200s were just uselessly floating around the air!

If you also are looking forward to seeing the walk of fame, it's literally just a walk path. It's nice to be able to say you've seen it, but it's just a walk path, kind of dirty actually. But who cares! You're walking on the Hollywood walk of fame!

I hope some of the tips I gave helps you if you're traveling to LA. I have a few more coming up about the Hollywood sign hike and other things that I've done in my few days in LA!

And of course don't forget to take a photo of the LA palm trees! Oh, and if you like the quality of the photos, I had a Samsung S8 at the time!

america
Like

About the Creator

C.J.B

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.