Wander logo

London Unveiled: Unforgettable Adventure in the Heart of the UK

Amazing visit with friend living in London

By Pearl MPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
Like
London Unveiled: Unforgettable Adventure in the Heart of the UK
Photo by Jack Finnigan on Unsplash

I was visiting a friend who was working and studying in the UK. My trip to London was a total of fourteen days. I was so excited to be visiting my friend and seeing London. I could not wait!

In true OCD fashion, I googled all the sights I could find. I had a list of over 40 items. It was going to be a great trip.

I booked my trip to London using a travel agent. My agent advised me that I had to apply for my own visa. She gave me all the required information for the process. My agent was fabulous! She gave me a checklist of all the required documents and the costs involved.

I applied online and got a date. The date for my interview was two weeks after booking. Two days after my interview, I got my passport couriered back to me - I elected this option instead of picking it up. The VISA process for the trip was quick and easy.

Getting around London was easy as my friend knew the area and she had promised to show me around. She could not be with me all the time, but she gave me a lot of guidance on how to get around on my own.

I had a crash course in using the tube and maps. My friend spent a day with me to show me how to use both to get around. I was ready to go!

My friend was staying just outside of central London. It took two trains to get to central London.

The journey to Central London was not long - I had to get familiar with it. It was no easy feat- I got lost a few times, and my step count was off the charts. The Google Maps apps came in really handy.

I made a schedule of how I wanted to arrange my sight visits. I also searched for tickets I should book online. I did not want to stand in a queue unless I had to. I had a lot of walking and standing to do, so anything to minimise that I did.

My trip was during the summer months, as I am not a fan of the cold. I had a ridiculous amount of ice cream and water: due to the heat, but I saw everything on my list.

In my search, I found GetYourGuide and the London Pass apps. I bought the London Pass online and booked most tours on the downloaded app.

As most people speak English getting around the city was easy. I was mostly in tourist areas. Getting lost was not an issue as I could find someone to help me with directions.

The sights and attractions were everything I imagined and more. The main thing for me was to walk into all the places I had only seen on TV or read about in books. It was a surreal experience, very memorable as well.

What I enjoyed the most about being solo was that I could set the pace for my exploits. I could choose the places I wanted to see and exclude those I chose. I could see as many or as few items as I wanted. I did not have to defer to anyone who could have a different view from mine.

I did everything on my list and much more.

I enjoyed my time touring London as well as the beautiful sights. I loved walking around the various gardens and streets. London is a stunning city with a lot to offer. I cannot wait to go back in the future.

Return trip loading very soon.

travel advicesolo travelfemale travelbudget travel
Like

About the Creator

Pearl M

I love to write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.