Wander logo

Kia ora! Here are 5 gifts you can buy in New Zealand

(the North island edition)

By Hajeong SongPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
1
Kia ora! Here are 5 gifts you can buy in New Zealand
Photo by Neal E. Johnson on Unsplash

HO HO HO! The holiday is right around the corner. Is there any better way to express your love and gratitude for someone than a thoughtful gift? I highly doubt it! When you try to choose a gift for someone, we're often surprised how well or little we know about the loved ones. So let's be honest here; Gift shopping can be a pain in the ass, but here's the ultimate gift guide to save your ass - 5 gifts you can buy in New Zealand (the north island edition)

In many countries, this year, we can't taste a full holiday spirit - To shop in stores to stores with hands full of bags of gifts, but hey, this shall pass, and we'll get it back. Where I am is beautiful New Zealand. I can't go back home and have Christmas and New Year's Eve, but I can send my loved ones these gifts, hand-picked by me, driving 800kms in 7 days. I am grateful to be able to share my journey with you. Let's rock.

1. Iko Iko (118 Cuba Street, Te Aro, Wellington 6011)

"A fun gift shop that has something for everyone."

If you're on gift hunting in Wellington, you cannot miss 'Iko Iko'. You can easily find this store on Cuba Street for its colorful appearance.

The store is relatively small, but it's full of surprises and people with excitement.

There is a small free-wrapping station right next to the door, and across from the counter, you'll see the shelf full of brilliant New Zealand souvenirs such as mugs, magnets, or bottle openers. You know what I mean. Also, if you're looking for a gift for kids or an adult who likes to have fun as much as the little ones do, you found the right place. Watch out not to lose track of time in here!

However, what makes this store unique to me was how supportive they are for local artists worldwide.

A hand-made basket from Myanmar

A linen notebook from Melbourne

A beautiful bag made by a woman artisan from Bangladesh

A hand-woven basket from Uganda

As you can see above, these items have come so far to end up here. If I can make my loved one and local business and artisans all over the world happy right here where I am now, why the wait? Here's my pick.

Writer's Pick

A hand-felted in Nepal from New Zealand wool cushion in powder pink (her favorite color!) for my mom. She spends most of her working hours sitting down, so I wanted to buy her the nicest/meaningful cushion that I could find, and here it is.

2. Tongariro National Park Visitor Centre (Whakapapa Village State Highway 48, 3951)

"Love will travel as far as you let it."

Leaving my favorite city in this country behind, I arrived in National park village. And I found this small gift corner at Tongariro National park visitor centre. You don't have as many choices for gift-shopping here, but you don't need them. I have a brilliant idea.

Okay, I admit that postcards are a bit too safe or even dull option, but let me finish.

I wonder how many of you have sent the actual postcard to someone's mailbox instead of an easy text or a phone call because I've never bought a postcard for someone so far. However, if I get to do so, that would mean I think of someone when I see the beauty because postcards always hold the best view in the frame. And now I finally got the chance. Since it was my second time in this village, I had no doubt I could get amazing pictures wherever I go, and I want to share this with my loved ones. Here's what I did.

Writer's pick

Loving words on the postcards to my dad with the recreated pictures by myself attached. My dad has been working hard for many years to give my family everything he could provide and having little time for himself. Whenever I see the beauty of nature, I think of him and wish he was here with me.

Chateau Tongariro

Taranaki Falls
Mount Ruapehu

Mount Ngauruhoe

P.S. Kiwis are waiting for you

3. spacecraft (47 Heuheu Street, Taupo 3330)

"We make you and the planet happy."

-curators of cool stuff-

I'm proud to introduce this store to you because when they say 'we make you and the planet happy', they mean it. Not only the best crew of staffs with cool t-shirts,

You gotta take a picture of me! she said

but also tons of ec0-friendly items that also can be used daily did Spacecraft make so remarkable.

Reusable handmade food wrap

Reusable straw with cleaner brush

2021 diary made from recycled coffee cups

Your purchase will also help lots of local business in New Zealand for they have a great collection of NZ grown/produced items.

100% NZ grown health oils

Beetroot&orange chutney made in Hawke's Bay

Auckland-based graphic designer Glenn Jones

So many choices from vegan baby stuff to hand-crafted jewelry; I wish I could buy this place and be a legendary Santa, but I had to choose one and move on. (Drum roll)

Writer's pick

NZ made skincare set for my aunt. She has been a farmer for life. She must have worked hard during the summer under the strong sun, and her skin surely deserves some treat.

4. Exotic Imports (1148 Hinemoa Street, Rotorua 3010)

"We feel it's important to keep these artisan trades alive and, in turn, creating more sustainable jobs. We believe this is one of the downfalls of everything being mass-produced in factories."

As you can see in this video, this store is EXOTIC. I couldn't get enough of this place full of colors and tastes. Most of the items are from Mexico, Morroco, and India, as you walk in, you'd feel like you are there.

From furniture to accessories, tell them what you're looking for, and you'll get it! Also, their (Kiwi and South African combination owners, awesome people!) passion for unique hand-crafted furniture equals their awareness for a sustainable future. So, the majority of the items in the store are made from recycled products. Some of the items that they have seen recycled are old fishing boats, broken down cars and motorbikes, tin cans, reclaimed pine, and old used glass jars and bottles.

Writer's pick

Fiesta confetti water jug and half-smooth confetti wine glasses set from Mexico for my brother. My one and only older brother just got a new house back home. Unfortunately, I didn't get the chance to see his new nest. However, I have no doubt this colorful jug and glasses set will fit in his new kitchen (or any kitchen) perfectly.

5. Weta workshop unleashed (Convention Centre Level 5/88 Federal Street, Auckland CBD, Auckland 1010)

"Gift paradise for movie buffs!"

Thank you for keeping me company on this journey starting from Wellington, now here we are, in Auckland. Our last destination is a paradise for movie buffs. 'Weta workshop unleashed' is a fantastical film effects facility inspired by Wellington’s Academy Award-winning Weta Workshop. As you know, New Zealand is the location that 'The Lord of the rings' is filmed, but behind the scenes, there was Weta Workshop.

After you enjoy the tour inside the facility, get ready for another surprise. The gift shop in Weta workshop unleashed is full of gift ideas for your loved ones, especially they have an extraordinary passion for movies and art.

As you can see, from the necklace of Lara Croft, 'The One Ring' to a T-shirt by Weta Workshop, this gift shop is full of surprises and as enjoyable as the facility tour. Even if you miss this time to visit here, I highly recommend keeping an eye on Weta workshop team's work. They are one of a kind.

Writer's pick

Christmas edition Hobbit hole for my (Hobbit maniac) cousin. Out of so many fantastic figures and miniatures, this one caught my eyes and I know I chose the right one! I can't wait to see my little cousin's face when he got it in his hand.

I hope this guide gives you better gift ideas wherever you are, but don't forget your heart always counts. Stay safe, and Meri Kirihimete me te Tau Hou!

originial map image: www.peaceful-design.com

new zealand
1

About the Creator

Hajeong Song

Anything spread-worthy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.