Wander logo

July 20, 2017

“You must go on adventures to find out where you truly belong.” -Sue Fitzmaurice

By Rose RocketPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1

The following is an excerpt from my journal while taking a solo overseas trip (I hope the photos help! It was really cool for me getting to add photos to this story. I actually wrote it while I was there, inside, eating my food and drinking my tea):

Travel is all about exploring and making adventures, and creating memories. But it is also, a time to relax and a time to enjoy. Right now I am sitting inside The Elephant House in Edinburg, Scotland—where J.K. Rowling wrote the Harry Potter books. I am ecstatic! I have a view out the tall glass windows that line the back of the café, and I can see the mighty castle on the hill in the distance which was the inspiration for Hogwarts. It truly is an incredible sight to behold—especially if you are as die-hard of a fan as I am. What a treat!

Took this from the window inside the café after waiting for people to clear.

The view becomes even more spectacular, as I continue to look out. There are birds flying around the steep cliffs and awesome towers that support and shape the magnificent Edinburgh Castle. From here the birds really do look like gorgeous owls soaring high into the heavens to their heart’s content, back and forth, around the edges of the cliffs and between the stone towers shooting into the sky. Now only if it were winter and there was a light snow falling, the picture would be even more complete!

They gave me the entire area surrounding the fireplace to enjoy by myself! (I think they could sense my giddiness and they were more than happy to oblige)

I am sitting on this super comfy couch just absorbing the atmosphere and surrounding murals. Among the many posters and pictures of elephants lining the walls, a cute fireplace with a warmly lit, fake fire burning dimly against the charcoal black screen sits charmingly sits against the wall. The moving, dancing flames create a beautiful picture that, to me, makes it seem as if Sirius Black himself will manifest before my eyes and start speaking to me. So cool. What’s more, is that sitting atop the adorned mantle lies a small piece of what looks like petrified wood. It is in almost the same shape as the sorting hat seen in the HP films. My geekiness I’m sure is now beaming. I keep looking at that piece of wood. I wonder if anyone would notice me if I placed it on my head and began whispering “not Slytherin, not Slytherin…”

For the life of me I cannot stop looking out the window either to take in the sheer beauty of that incredible architecture outside. And now I’m thinking, surrounded by all these elephants, why more of these stunning creatures didn’t make it to the magic table as well? Though, I’m pretty sure I remember Luna Lovegood with some tiny, flying pink elephant surrounding her, or maybe it was something from Zonko’s? Either way, a giant, fire-breathing, elephant-dragon might have been an epic addition!

As a side note, I have noticed something strange...I assume that pretty much everyone in here is here for the same reason I am, Harry freaking Potter! (And there are a lot of people in here). Every table is full, and immediately when someone leaves, their table is quickly seated with new muggles once more. What the strange thing is though, is I’ve noticed that I am the only one who has taken longer than 30 seconds to look out the window and really appreciate the magical feeling of it all. Or so it seems. People are eating and drinking, and having a good time, but that’s it. When they enter, they notice and take a picture of the J.K. Rowling feature on the wall, and then peak out the window to see the view, once. Why aren’t more people excited?! Oh well, no matter. My excitement is enough to fill in all the gaps in the room. Now I just need J.K. to walk in here and sit down next to me while we talk the hours away and reminisce of the old magical days, and the new ones to unfold!

I just took a moment to walk up to one of the windows for a picture, and for a better view. It is incredible out there! There’s this large stadium to the right of the castle that I wouldn’t have seen had I not walked up to these windows. It looks exactly like the Quidditch stadium seen in the fourth movie for the World Quidditch Tournament. Now I know for sure I MUST walk up there to see this all up close with my own muggle eyes!

Thank you to The Elephant House for your welcoming, it was truly a pleasure!

The view looking down on the city from Edinburg (Hogwarts) Castle.

solo travel
1

About the Creator

Rose Rocket

Hi! I am a young 30's lady who is happily and joyfully making her way through this incredible world. I call myself a gypsybond. I've lived on both sides of the country and gratuated w/ a degree in Theatre and English in NYC. Let's get heard

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.