Wander logo

Jetlag and taking inventory of what I need to change in my travel lifestyle to bring me joy

Today is my fourth day in Israel.

By sara burdickPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
1
Tel Aviv

As I get ready to take the train, I realize how absolutely drained I am. The first day I felt great and surprised that I had no jetlag.

It took a couple of days for my body to realize what was happening. My computer time has yet to switch to my new time, which now reads 3:24 am. Yet it is 11:24 am where I am.

My body’s internal clock is still set to 3:24 am, and I want to return to bed. Yet I have checked out of my accommodation and am dragging my feet to walk to the bus station to catch the train to Jerusalem.

I walked downstairs to get a coffee and realized I was unsure I wanted one. So here I am sitting, writing. My eyeballs are a bit blurry.

I am ready to leave the city. Yesterday I wrote about being in the city, some may think it was a bit harsh, and if I were here longer, maybe I would change my mind. The reality for me is I’m not too fond of most cities.

It has nothing to do with the city. I have been to so many in my life, and I like one, Buenos Aires. I’m not too fond of cities in Colombia, either. I can stay a couple of days, and then I am ready to leave.

It is my personal preference. I have booked a volunteer gig starting end of this month on a farm in the north of Israel. Today as I was thinking about my life, I realized the best times I have had are when I am productive.

When I am knee-deep in the dirt, surrounded by people of similar mindsets, and somewhere that is not on the traditional backpacker/tourist route.

During the two months I spent in northern Patagonia; I worked my butt off; best experience ever. The month I spent working on an elephant sanctuary. I spent the month working at a summer ski resort, helping prepare for winter. All of these places were out of the way, and I worked, and I felt useful and surrounded by others who felt the same.

Being in a hostel full of people looking to see the next sight has never been my travel style. It is like putting a square peg in a star-shaped hole; it never fits. That has been part of my frustrations of being here, walking around looking at things, not understanding why or how.

Then I heard a guy talking on the phone to his family, and he was discussing his time in Israel. He is a volunteer and told his family how fascinating the history and culture are; instantly, I knew I was just on the wrong side.

Plus, I traveled and saw sights in Colombia before I left, so I have been a tourist for too long. Of course, I will always be a tourist, but I need to return to how I want to travel, not finding the next hot coffee shop or beach to see.

However, I am very excited to be a tourist in Jerusalem for a couple of weeks. I will do some walking tours and food tours and talk to some locals about the city’s history.

There is a reason I stay in countries for a long time, the immediate shock is usually what am I doing here, and then I typically find my way. It takes time, I can only adapt slowly, and it takes me looking inward and figuring out what needs aligning.

This is why I like writing; it brings it all to the surface faster. Yet it is all about looking and reflecting, and we are only here to live and have an experience, yet sometimes I forget.

XOXO

S

middle east
1

About the Creator

sara burdick

I quit the rat race after working as a nurse for 16 years. I now write online and live abroad, currently Nomading, as I search for my forever home. Personal Stories, Travel and History

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.