Wander logo

Introducing...

A little background on me

By Wil Van WinklePublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

I've traveled. A LOT.

I was born in Tampa, Florida, lived in Texas, Iowa, New York, California, and most recently Tennessee in the USA. I've also live in Uzbekistan and Germany. In some places multiple cities, in some just one, but it's safe to say I've been around.

As a musician I've toured & played many different places and have lived full time in the back of a van while on tour. Now that my kids are grown, I plan on getting back out on the road more often. I've joined this community to share some of my finding, photos, and videos I plan on making along the way.

Recently I purchased a second hand Runaway Coolcamp, pictured above. I bought it on eBay from a guy in Pennsylvania and used it on the way back. I stayed at a state park in Maryland just outside of DC and Cherokee National Forest in the Smoky Mountains of Tennessee.

Cherokee National Forest

Bald River Falls Cherokee National Forest (c) 2019 Wil Van Winkle

While I can't say much for the Maryland campground, most of the park was closed, Cherokee National was AMAZING. But word or warning, do NOT trust GPS! Cherokee is large & it will bring you to the edge of the forest, not the campgrounds. Mine was particularly mean. In pouring rain I was taken 2 hours out of the way, up a steep inclining gravel road twisting around a mountain with a 4x8 camper in tow. Had it not been for 4 wheel drive I probably would have slid down the slope, but I survived, the camper survived, the truck survived, my 2 year old chiweenie freaked out but also survived. With no cell service and a failing GPS signal that couldn't be trusted, I found a sign pointing to a city that I recognized & headed that way. After getting back into cell service areas, I mapped the ranger station nearest the campground and made my way, finally arriving at the campground about 20 minutes before they locked the gate for the night.

After sanding black paint, mold, etc

When I got home, I planned on waiting a little while to pay back some of what I spent on the camper, but of course wandered in to a bargain store and found a lot of what I needed to remodel the tiny space right away. I spent 2 weeks working on it & it came out great.

The finished product July 2019

I installed a 12 volt lighting system, new mattress, sanded the mold off the walls, and installed a light grey upholstery on the walls for added insulation. Took the first trip in it a few weeks later to Edgar Evins State Park in Smithville, TN. Nothing fell off. I can't wait to take it on the road again. Stay tuned for more.

budget travel
Like

About the Creator

Wil Van Winkle

Licensed massage therapist, musician, single parent. I've lived in 3 countries located on 3 continents and 6 US states. www.vanwinkle.band for links to music.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.