Wander logo

Intrigue

I've always been drawn to things that are unique!

By J.W. BairdPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I feel each of us has our very own uniqueness. It is what has been hidden deep down inside that only sometimes comes alive.

To be aware of what makes you... you! It is the most special thing. To have a talent, or hobby that drives some sort of passion. To know one's purpose in this world. To be honest and spread warmth rather than being bitter and cold hearted.

Despite all the things life may throw at us. We don't let it define us and continue to push through. I long for the deep in-depth intellectual conversations. A thing that I fear may be a part of the past, and not seen with today's generations.

To lay outside at night under the stars. To share our inner most secrets. To discuss what life may have in store for us. To listen to the lyrics and not just play the music. To dance in the rain in the middle of the day. "What makes me...me!" you say.

I find myself often intrigued. It is the mystery of the unknown that sparks my curiosity. I hate mundane, and mediocre. I need variety. It is that longing for adventure found inside of me. I have this yearning to learn.

As I sit there on any given day my mind races as it is filled with random questions. Like why are most ants black, but then some are red? Why does RoyGBiv always refer to rainbows? Why doesn't it one day flow through the skies as BigYorV?

Does pineapple really go on pizzas or only pepperoni? Life to me is just one big mystery! What part of our brain determines our projections of the clouds? Why can you fight for your country at 18, but are not allowed to drink or gamble in sin city?

I think my quest for knowledge is why I crave adventure. To travel, see the world, and experience other cultures. I have always been amazed at others being able to speak their native language. Although mine was mostly handed down orally they began to capture it on paper.

I like to try new things as I continue to venture. Zipline through canopies or check out different cities. To go on hikes through the woods, or tryout as an extra for an upcoming movie. Could my fearless nature be one of the things that make me unique?

I know when we are little we are told not to talk to strangers. But as I have grown up, I find out this is how I make most friends. Sometimes friends are made because you have things in common. For me it is not quite the same and that could be the problem.

Often times you need to hang out with others who like the things you do. Otherwise, you have to be brave as you explore solo in this world of wonders. To see mountains and pyramids, walk through jungles and streams.

This whole wide world is filled with unique scenes. Waterfalls and oceans, volcanoes, and the open seas. That is just what you see when you open up your eyes, but what else remains below the waters. Sea creatures, and plant life you would never believe existed. A mystic land to investigate one that has been undetected.

There is so much uniqueness, it is all over the place, it surrounds us. From the people you meet to the escapades we seek. Above ground, below ground, and everywhere in between. From the stars across the galaxy to the iron crystals in the earth’s core.

You see it in the rock formations that can sometimes be found on the lakeshore. The amazing phenomenon of the bioluminescence that can be found within anything from the tiniest of microorganisms to even fireflies. The beautiful colors of the aurora borealis as it fills the night skies.

I don’t know about you, but I have always been drawn to things that are unique!

humanity
Like

About the Creator

J.W. Baird

Who Am I?

I keep asking myself. I spent half of my life as a single mother. Pushing myself to be the strong independent individual that I have always been. My kids have grown and my life seems turned upside down.

I now search to find myself!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

J.W. Baird is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.