Wander logo

I'm Preparing for My Next Adventure & I'm Going Solo

I'm off to Ireland this time, and the itinerary is a dream come true!

By Crystal A. WolfePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
1
Photo by Sean Kuriyan on Unsplash

That's right! I'm preparing for my next adventure, and this time, I am taking off to Ireland!

Summer is just starting, and I'm already sick of the Florida heat. Walking outside, it feels like I just faceplanted into Mother Nature's armpit, and it's not even July yet. As fair-skinned ginger on the Gulf Coast, I need a break.

After a sweaty morning, I decided to peel my damp, humidity-caked shirt off and plop myself in front of the fan. Suddenly, I found myself surfing for places to go to escape the heat.

✅ Iceland: Been there, loved it, but want to see more of the world.

✅ Italy: I want to go back, but not quite cool enough for me for the timeframe I am free to go.

⚠️ Alaska: I'm seeking a future opportunity to move to the west coast. (I'm also hoping to get a job there one day.)

⚠️ Canada: I've seen a little bit of the east side and want to see more. However, in the places I want to go, I'll need to learn a little French, and I don't have it in me after teaching myself Italian last year. (At least, not yet.) There's Canada's western side, but I'm waiting to move to the west coast - or Alaska - one day.

With some brainstorming, I significantly reduced my list, coming up with: Switzerland, Norway, Sweden, England, Scotland, and Ireland.

It was tough to choose, but I quickly decided...*drumroll*

🍺 🍀 🇮🇪 Ireland! 🇮🇪 🍀🍺

Why?

Well, this isn't the first, second, or third time I've tried to go. The first time, I was in high school, and I desperately saved as much as possible to go with my classmates but couldn't afford it. The second time, we ended up moving, and the third, the timing didn't work out with my best friend. So, I'm going on my own, baby!

That's right. I'm flying solo this trip. 🤙

Well, kind of.

As the cautious woman I am, I'm going with a small travel group booked through GoCollette. I've used them before, was extraordinarily happy with the service, and overall always felt safe. In fact, I was introduced to them by my mother, who has gone on three trips with them so far! Last year, mom and I went to Italy as a part of a mother-daughter-getaway, and it was worth every Euro.

I couldn't help but look around our small tour group during our Italian adventure. I saw a variety of folks: Some were single, some weren't. Getting to know my travel companions, there was another mother-daughter pair, some as a small church group, and a few married couples. However, the widows and widowers caught my attention. During this 10-day getaway, I got to know them, and each one of them had the same thing in common: They went because Italy was on their bucket list to see with their significant other, but they were bound and determined to go on the adventure despite solo.

Those women and men were inspiring to me; If they could do this (mostly) solo, so could I!

I'm counting the days until I set foot on the Emerald Isle. There, I'll feel connected to a part of my grandmother's heritage, be around other gingers, get a break from the heat, and see if I can get blessed with some good luck.

Check out this dream itinerary if you're curious about where I'm going! If you've been to any of these places, please let me know how it was! Food and types of meals, please mention too! (I'm a self-declared foodie.)

Screenshot provided by GoCollete Shades of Ireland Tour

Day 1 - Flying over the Pond

Day 2 - Dublin: A culinary and cultural experience awaits!

Day 3 - Dublin: Explore the charms of a walking tour of the city's historic center, exploring St. Stephen's Green, Grafton Street, and the River Liffey.

Day 4 - Kilkenny: I'll be visiting a Medieval Museum for a guided tour before tossing back a glass of wine in the 15th-century Mayor's Wine Vault.

Day 5 - Killarney: After getting some luck from the Blarney Stone, I'll be boarding a boat (weather pending) before sailing through the breathtaking lakes in the company of an expert boatman. Later, I'll partake in some mead tasting at a medieval banquet. Perhaps, I'll find a knight in shining armor? 👸 💕🤴

Day 6 - Killarney: The day is mine. Today, I take in the rugged coastline of the Ring of Kerry. With a stop at the Gap of Dunloe, I can shop for local items. Otherwise, the night is mine!

Day 7 - Limerick: The mighty 700-foot-Cliffs of Moher await me. 700-foot-high Cliffs of Moher await me. Later, I pass through the city that spotlights King John's Castle and the Treaty Stone.

Day 8 - Limerick: It'll be my last night in Limerick, but before I go, I'll be able to take in the Burren's limestone landscape and tombs dating back to the Neolithic. I'll also see a demonstration of one of my favorite dog breeds: Border collies! Here, I'll see a traditional sheepdog demonstration before making my way to Galway to tour "The City of Tribes."

Day 9 - Kingscourt: My journey ends on a high note here! That's okay, though, because I'll be treated like royalty as I'll be overnighting it inside a castle! Not just any castle, but Cabra Castle, which has been rated as one of the best hotel castles in Ireland.

Day 10 - Fly home. 😭

So you don't miss a thing, be sure to follow me on my social media as I go through this August adventure!

If you like this story, consider giving these articles a read! 👇

~ Like what you read? Sending me a tip below helps contribute to my next adventure! ~

europe
1

About the Creator

Crystal A. Wolfe

Blogger | Creative Writer | Traveler | Full-Time RVer

You can find all of my articles on my blog as well on Medium where I'm most active in Humor, Lifestyle, and Travel. I've self-published one fantasy fiction with the sequel in the works.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.