Wander logo

I heard her Mountain sing

Georgia O'Keeffe's Sanctuary

By Lorre BlackPublished 4 years ago 10 min read
2
I heard her Mountain sing
Photo by Jordan Whitt on Unsplash

Travel Journal Friday, May 1, 2020.

GREETINGS FROM NEW MEXICO! She's beautiful! I said goodbye to my car, Kiwi Sun, at the John Glen International Airport in Columbus, Ohio. The night was chilly. I wore a sweater. I knew I would need my soft beige hoodie for the cool desert evenings.

Goodbye for now, Kiwi Sun

I arrived at the Santa Fe Regional Airport at 6:30 p.m. I jumped into my rental car (she is cute, but she's no Kiwi Sun). I made it to Susie's adobe-style home just in time for dinner. The Sun was low in the sky shining on her 15 acres of dusty, yet fertile ground. Susie and her "little piece of enchantment" welcomed me with a warm smile. Our Skype calls helped us to get to know each other pretty well. We are both authors, and lovers of art and nature. These are the main reasons she trusted me to house sit and pet sit.

By Matthew T Rader on Unsplash

A rental car is a must when staying in Los Cerrillos, New Mexico. A rental car is a must when staying anywhere in New Mexico. Not only will I need her to get me to Ghost Ranch in Abiquiu, but I will need her to travel 10 miles to the nearest grocery store.

Dinner included one of my favorites: authentic Southwestern tacos served with calabacitas! I'd never tasted calabacitas before. It is a traditional Southwestern dish of sauteed summer squash, zucchini, onions and pablano peppers. We shared corn tortillas lightly charred on an open flame filled with grilled free-range chicken, pico de gallo, fresh cilantro and chunky guacamole! Delish! Calabacitas is a new favorite.

By Jason Leung on Unsplash

During dinner we went over my responsibilities: feed and water her horse, Desert Rose (Rose for short), twice a day; feed and water her chickens twice a day; feed her dog, Bandit, twice a day always making sure he has plenty of water; walks and playtime around the property often with Bandit as he has much energy and loves the outdoors; water her indoor and outdoor plants twice; ENJOY HER HOME!

We retired early around 10:00 p.m. She has an early flight to Boston. (I came West. She is going East.) I am rather tired after my long day of travel. My bedroom is gorgeous!

By SHOP SLO® on Unsplash

I have my own bathroom with an open shower. The nightstand will house my stone-hued travel journal and mechanical pencils of every color. The sheets are soft against my skin and smell of lavender. My travel journal is filled with gratitude tonight. The list is long. I am finally going to see Ghost Ranch and the mountain Georgia O'Keeffe referred to as hers. I am going to see her sanctuary!

Travel Journal Saturday, May 2, 2020

I slept in until 7:00 a.m. I'm still on Ohio time which is 9:00 a.m. I did my sacred ritual of going into each room of the house saying, "Thank you for your hospitality." I also took Bandit aside on the lanai while I drank my coffee. I looked him in the eyes whispering softy: "Thank you for trusting me. Thank you for your love and acceptance. I honor you, too. We're going to have a GRAND time!" Bandit was trying to figure me out before I explained what I was all about. Now we are all good! I asked him to show me the ropes during my six-night stay. He is excited to lead me in taking care of Desert Rose and the clucking chickens.

By Patrick Hendry on Unsplash

Travel Journal Sunday, May 3, 2020

Desert Rose and I became fast friends. It seems she knows I'm here to watch over her and vice versa.

By Lisa Lyne Blevins on Unsplash

Rose is majestic. She gently takes her morning apple from my open palm. She winks, and nods in appreciation. Bandit likes to shimmy under the fence to play with her. They are sweet friends.

I am reminded of a valuable lesson I learned from a horse named Jake when I was in Colorado. One of my counselors in Equine Therapy shared a personal story with me. She was feeling unworthy at one point in her life. She knew Jake (I got to meet Jake!), her favorite horse, would make her feel better. She whispered to him her dilemma. A message came to her from Jake inaudibly. "What IS worthiness?" I was touched when I heard her story. I got the message, too. Worthiness is a human construct -- a construct we made up -- a judgment. It isn't real. Desert Rose's kind eyes speak the same message. I feel it when I brush her mane. Thank you for the reminder, Rose.

Travel Journal Sunday, May 3, 2020

A certain chicken is sending me a message,too. I call him Poodle Roo 2!

By Jordan White on Unsplash

Oh, how I adore Poodle Roo 2! He is fluffy making his strut humorous. He is not blind or deaf like the original Poodle Roo. The original white fluffy rooster was bullied by the other roosters in his coop. One morning, he was found bloody from pecks and pokes all over his body. That is when his owners discovered he was actually blind and deaf. It explained why he would venture off to be by himself every night. During his healing, he proved to be tenacious. He also discovered his path in life -- to be the one and only "Welcoming Rooster of Apricot Lane Farm." He welcomes not only new chickens, but all new creatures. He "takes them under his wing." Kindly he gives them the tour. He does not want the newbies to feel bullied or left out in any way.

Poodle Roo with a new kitty cat (scribol.com and Pinterest)

Travel Journal Monday, May 4, 2020

Bandit treats all the animals on his farm equally kind. Coyotes or other varmints -- not so much. He is a fierce protector. Susie told me not to be alarmed if Bandit started barking at night. He senses when predators may be lurking around the property. I found out last night. He began barking around 1:00 in the morning. He was trying to tell me something. I looked through the sliding glass doors facing the barn. I could see glowing eyes in the far-off distance. I heard a faint howling. I thanked Bandit for letting me know there was potential danger. The chickens were secure inside the hen house. Rose was in her stall. Bandit and I sat safely in the living room. He smiled. I was reminded of Edie Brickell's line in her song, "What I Am." "Religion's a smile on a dog." Dogs are all the religion I need. Well, nature and art, too.

Bandit smiles a lot which makes me smile a lot. He smiles when we play and run on the dry, yet fertile 15 acres that smiled at me when I arrived.

By Patrick Hendry on Unsplash

Bandit decided to sleep with me tonight. I am so happy. I told him my big day is tomorrow. Tomorrow one of my dreams is coming true. I am going to Ghost Ranch to experience "an exploration of the land, discussion of O'Keeffe's life and examination of her writing and paintings." (Straight from the brochure.) I am going to see the Cerro Pedernal Mountain -- the one she said belonged to her. I hope I can sleep.

Travel Journal Tuesday, May 5, 2020

Today is THE day! Bandit knows he will be without me for most of the day. He's okay with that. Poodle Roo 2 and the other strutting chickens have plenty of food and water. Rose has plenty of hay. My car is packed. Google maps is hooked up to my bluetooth. Beautiful scenery is awaiting me on US - 84 W.

I always feel so incredibly independent and personally powerful when I travel alone. I prepared by standing to the East in mountain pose facing the rising sun. I grounded myself to Mother Earth. I felt her energy come up through my feet into my heart chakra. I asked for protection from my Guides. Wearing my modmala necklace, special journal in hand, I grabbed an extra bottle of water for my trip. This is the feeling I could bask in for the rest of my life.

US - 84 W did not disappoint! I understand why New Mexico is called the "Land of Enchantment!" I want to get down on my knees and pray or beat the drum of the sovereign Pueblo. I want to chant from my gut.

By Andreas Selter on Unsplash
By Jimmy Conover on Unsplash
George Pagan III Unsplash

"The Earth laughs in flowers." -- Ralph Waldo Emerson. She laughs in the desert, too! On the mesa, Mother Earth comes to feast and be merry! Here I come Pedernal Mountain on Ghost Ranch!

I arrived right around 8:30 a.m. Welcome to Ghost Ranch!

Entrance to Enlightenment and Enchantment (Photo from Tripadvisor on Pinterest)

My "retreat took place at Casa del Sol, away from the main ranch which provides a quite and safe space that engages spirit and focus dedicated to deep spiritual and artistic contemplation." (Straight from the brochure.) Before the contemplation began, I got to meet the other attendees. We are from the same tribe. I could feel their excitement and respect. Of course, we were all shy at first. Then the instructor began to lead us through the process.

Casa del Sol (House of the Sun) (Contemplative Artist on Pinterest)

First step in the process: walk the land Georgia O'Keeffe loved -- see the locations of O'Keeffe's paintings. We explored by hiking around the ranch. Looming in all her glory was Pedernal Mountain. Every angle was different, yet the same. The trails were dusty. The temperature was a pleasant 80 degrees. I was sweating in a good way. My clothes were loose. I could feel how the breeze cooled and refreshed as it kissed my wet skin. I was already in spiritual and artistic contemplation. "I'm walking on the same ground as Georgia O'Keeffee! I'm walking on the landscape of New Mexico -- a land I've never seen before." I was in magical disbelief the entire day.

Second step in the process: rest and reflect; take notes about your feelings while viewing Georgia's personal casa. Then to the museum to see her paintings.

Ghost Ranch (Ghost Ranch on Pinterest)

The museum gave me the same feeling of astonishment. I was in the presence of these priceless works of art. Art which gives us a window to the soul of a woman so real in her humanity -- so divine in her connection to Source. Her co-creations with the Universe are gifts to us. Through her strokes, she met a Force. Together they danced in the color of inspiration. They allow a glimpse into the unseen. I chose the following paintings as my muses. Through my own words, I co-create with the Universe to give thanks for my existence.

At The Rodeo New Mexico 1929 Georgia O'Keeffe (perfectpaintings on Pinterest)
From The Old Garden 1924 Georgia O'Keeffe (Wikiart.org and Pinterest)

My special journal overflows in gratitude. Again, my list is long similar to my first night at Susie's. My special journal is filled with an essence and vibration that will sing forever. At The Rodeo inspired me to write about the portal to my higher self. From The Old Garden inspired me to contemplate prophetic whispers we hear -- the concept of "knowing." Of course, my special journal holds secrets I will not share here. I will go to it for both quiet and blaring prophetic messages when I need them. It will remind me that I, too, am a woman so real in my humanity -- so divine in my own connection to Source.

Georgia O'Keeffe (The New Yorker and Pinterest)"

"I've been absolutely terrified every moment of my life -- and I've never let it keep me from doing a single thing I wanted to do." -- Georgia O'Keefe She was brave. "Ubi brave, too, Lorre."

Cottonwood and Pedernal 1948 Georgia O'Keeffe (gokmrc.wordpress.com and Pinterest)

It was on my break that I heard her mountain sing. At that point, it became my mountain, too. I understand from deep within why she called Pedernal hers. But, it is not only hers. The mountain calls -- to your gypsy soul going into the mystic. If you listen, you will hear the wind's flute shimmering on a ray of Sun. If you listen you will hear the mountain sing.

Travel Journal Wednesday, May 6, 2020

Susie got back from Boston around 6:30 p.m. just in time for dinner. We shared calabacitas. We laughed about Poodle Roo 2. Gypsy Rose graciously ate an apple from my palm. Bandit smiled and ran around his 15 acres that smiled at me as I left. Kiwi Sun is waiting for me in Ohio.

america
2

About the Creator

Lorre Black

Writer who recently discovered her well of creativity is infinite.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.